We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentines Day Dinner”
Review of Flying Fish

Flying Fish
Ranked #1 of 120 Restaurants in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: With unmatched service & attention to detail, Flying Fish offers a blend of traditional & modernist cuisine techniques not used anywhere else in the Bahamas. Focusing on local seafood & indigenous ingredients prepared with the utmost skill & creativity. Flying Fish boasts an in-house sommelier. Chef Tim Tibbitts is named in the Top 25 Chefs for 2014 in the Caribbean by Caribbean Journal. The restaurant has also been named one of the Top 5 in the Caribbean, is Fodor recommended for Grand Bahama Island and has been awarded 4 Diamond rating by AAA. Waterside dining at its finest.
Spring Grove
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Valentines Day Dinner”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We went for our Valentine’s Day dinner. They had a special menu for the evening; I believe it was 5 courses. The food was absolutely delicious and unrivaled by other restaurants. The atmosphere and view are very enjoyable. It is a little costly, but well worth the money. The staff was very gracious and professional. We will visit the Flying Fish again! Thank you TripAdvisor and others for the accurate reviews!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    76
    25
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had dinner here one night while in Freeport. It was overall a very pleasant experience.

-the staff are knowledgeable and polite
-ingredients used are obviously fresh and you can taste this!
-cool ambience, a little quieter than other dining options in the area
-extensive and affordable wine list, our bottle was amazing and cost less than an entree did!

This is a little pricier than other dining options in the area, but if you know that going in and want a treat, its a great choice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShShCdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Food was a little pricey, but all in all it was good. Staff was very accomodating as we were a pretty large group. Would eat there again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Remarkably good brunch”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We went for the Saturday brunch. The restaurant doesn't look great from the outside but the inside is nicely designed with comfortable chairs with a nice ambience and a fantastic waterside view. The service was excellent. The sophistication of the menu compares well with the better restaurants in London, but with a better view! I had the Balik cured salmon, crème frâiche, spinach, aerated brioche, 64 degree egg, béarnaise. Many of the dishes had the 64 degree egg which is definitely worth trying.

Helpful?
4 Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wi
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

WOW, time and money well spent.

We had been in the building years ago when it was the Ferry House and other than the view out the window everything has changed. Flying Fish exudes cool from the lighting to the flatware and the dishes and given all of that it is the food that is the star.

My wife and I did the Tasting Menu with the wine parings, Tim's take on food is exceptional while Rebecca's wine selections were spot on. I could not have even imagined "ketchup caviar" but it was amazing and the salmon 3 ways was the best single plate of food I have ever consumed.

We travel a fair amount and the entire experience was one of the top 3 dining experiences. The others, mountaintop restaurant in Alaska and sipping wine and a great piece of tiramisu in the shadows of St Peters in Rome. Both of those had better views but Flying Fish was by far the winner when it came to the quality and presentation of the food.

Thank you to the entire staff at Flying Fish from Tim & Rebecca to the servers and, bartender. Next time in Freeport we WILL be back. Rebecca, thanks for making sure there was no duck on the menu that evening and taking into consideration my wife's allergies regarding duck and goose fat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelJunkie146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Fish also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Flying Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing