We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS PLACE IS WONDERFUL!!”
Review of Island Seas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Seas Resort
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THIS PLACE IS WONDERFUL!!”
Reviewed January 11, 2010

My thoughts behind some of these reviews are you couldnt please some of these people no matter what you do! This is our 6 year staying at the Island Seas! You have to remember your in the Bahamas, things are much more slower. The rooms have ALWAYS been very nice, the staff (except front desk) is ALWAYS sweet and kind, my family has alot of staff their that they truly cannot wait to see each year. The beach is gorgeous and ALWAYS maintained and kept very very clean, towels are sometimes hard to get but you no what if people wouldnt steal these all the time it would be easier to get them, my kids LOVE playing the beach volleyball, and yes the ball was in great shape! If you want a vacation to relax and chill this is it, if your looking for alot of entertainment at night forget it......it is very quiet. So to go here and bash this place is totally uncalled for, because it is a nice place and we truly love our vacations here!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan N Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    378
    296
    170
    222
See reviews for
390
390
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ILLINOIS
2 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2010

The resort needs new management.They have the rudest people working in the Member Services.How can they stay in business?The beach is beautiful, but the resort is run down.I have so many complaints that I don't know where to start.I was going to join the timeshare exchange, but if this is an example of a 5 star resort what would I get in exchange.I hope that I.T.T. sends some there to investigate.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOVETRAVELING013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Florida
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Let's start with the dirty, filthy, nasty room. The room was number 3084. It was completely filthy (please see the pictures of the bird crap). This was booked through Travelocity. I have never had such bad service, especially from Mr. King in the restaurant (when it was open). You would have to wait for at least 30 minutes to be served, the food was terrible and cold. The room was just horrible. I had bird crap all over the place, a light falling out of the ceiling in the kitchen, no houskeeping for the week, and no towels. This was reported to the front desk, in writing, with no result. I don't care how cheep this hotel is, DO NOT SPEND THE MONEY.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john3334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Overall mixed. Our room happened to be ready when we got to the tiny check in closet an hour early.The 3 check in people were not the least bit friendly. Seemed almost hostile. Check in went smoothly, and we were assigned to Room 2063, which is in building B. It may be the best location there. 2nd floor looking out to the pool, and with an ocean view. Our maid, Tonya, kept the room spotless, and was very pleasant to talk to. We gave out 2 exceptional service pins to two of the waitstaff personnel, Castra and Vanesse.
Almost forgot. There was free Wifi in the pool area restaurant, Coconut's.
For breakfast most days, we stayed on the premises and ate at Seagrape. We several times shared a 3 egg, bacon, homefries, 3 pancakes, and toast. A side note. I like a cold beverage with meals, and had to bring my own as the dinner crew kept the soft drink case locked. Except for inclement weather, on premises lunch was the pool restaurant, Coconuts. We ventured no further than swiss burgers which were properly cooked medium rare and were very good. One night, due to our one stormy day, we went to the Seagrape for dinner, as did most of the people at the resort. With this captive audience the restaurant manager opted to have only an "all you can eat of Pizza and something else" which escaped my memory. Probably chicken. Most regular dinners, including pizza were far less. This wasn't right! Several hundred yards down the beach to the right was a bar and restaurant called Bikini Bottems. The best way I can describe the decor is "funky". We each ordered half a broasted chicken (what were we thinking!), which was very good.
Transportation - There was a free shuttle into Lucaya Marketplace and back that ran from 9-12 and 3 -6. If you went other than those hours a, readily available taxi was necessary, which was $12 for 2, and $3 for each additional person. We spent far less than renting a car. The prices are pretty well fixed. They all tell you of your discount, but the bottem line is identical. There are a couple of rouges that will fgo less, but very, very, hush, hush.At the Marketplace we witnessed two very rude acts by locals towards tourists. In one our shuttle driver was pulling in to drop us off and two tourists didn't move out of his way and he procedded to lean out the window and lambaste them for at least 30 seconds. The second on left me in amazement. A family entered into one of the shops to buy clothing as their luggage was at that point lost. The shop keeper greeted them with "Hello", and then proceeded to ask the parents if their two young girls spoke English. because she had been talking to them, not the parents. She then told the parents that their girls were rude. The parents were dumbstruck.
Dining at the Marketplace - On three occasions we had lobster wraps at Sabor's. Outstanding, and looking into the harbor while eating was a plus. They also make, and make very well, a tropical drink called a Yellowbird. I suggest no more than one at lunch. We dined three nights at an Italian Restaurant called Cappuchino's. the Shrimp Diavolo and the Shrimp Roco were excellent. Another dinner was at Luciano's, probably the priciest there. The ambience was lovely. We had an excellent chateaubriand.
Also nearby is the International Marketplace, which at this time ia less that 10% occupied. Eerie.
It semed to me overall that tourists were barely tolerated.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mickywine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarklake, MI
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2010

The floors were so dirty our feet were black after 2 minutes of walking on them. It took 45 minutes to get a drink at the bar. The food at the seagrape was over priced and tasted awful. We had cockroaches in our room. The people at the front desk acted put out by trying to help us. The beaches are nice but they don't have enough chairs for everyone on the beach. They have a shuffle board but not enough sticks to play, they have a ping pong table but not ping pong ball, they have a volley ball net, but only a flat torn up volley ball. The snorkeling was awesome. This man named Gregory took us out to a reef that was like swimming in an aquarium, however the Island Seas won't allow him to come up and ask if anyone would like to go snorkeling, so you have to find him yourself. So like I said, "don't go." If you are a traveler like I am you will notice this place isn't worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
718 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Have been goining to island seas for 9 years stay the entire month of jan.. staff is great the beach is even better.not a place to go if you wont a loud nite life ,this is a place to relax.if you wont noise go to paradice island.remember this ios not the usa and try to rember to go slow like the natives and enjoy your stay.great food on site at zonks .in town you can get a good cup of coffee with real 1/2&1/2 at Ialand Java.freeport the way life should be.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thedipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

If you are not a time share OWNER at THIS resort, be prepared to be placed across the street from the actual resort. Even though the staff will assure of your move to the ocean view rooms within days, it never happens. "Marina" view for us was a man made canal system with a boat or two they use for excursions. Not bad (you ARE in the Bahamas). The bad was the room itself. Not the picture portrayed on the website. Once we were checked into our room and unpacked, we went to walk around the resort, only to come back to our room and find another family inside who had also been given our room. Add to that the fact that the doors do not lock (wooden dowls do the job), water leaked out of the air conditioner onto the tile floor, no pictures on the walls, towel rack and TP holder were broken off, only 2 of 4 stove burners worked, waited 3 days for a coffee pot, major rust in the microwave, remote controls for the TV don't work, FILTHY floors (to the point of not wanting to walk on them barefoot), and last but not least, THE most uncomfortable mattress you will EVER sleep on. But, the beach is nice and we personally found the staff to be friendly, although slow in answering requests. The island was beautiful and we had some fun days. You must see Gold Rock Beach and the caves, the islands east end, Garden of the Groves and the Lucayan marketplace.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimeTravelertimes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
2.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.0 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
244 reviews
2.8 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
3,009 reviews
5.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
2.1 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 14 in Freeport
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Seas Resort

Property: Island Seas Resort
Address: 123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Seas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully furnished one and two bedroom condominium resort with full living/dining areas and private beach is set between the shopping and dining centers of Port Lucaya Marketplace, 2 miles away, and Freeport's International Bazaar, 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Island Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Seas Hotel Freeport
Island Seas Freeport
Island Seas Resort Freeport Bahamas
Island Seas Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing