We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island sea resort ,has dirty and smelly rooms”
Review of Island Seas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island Seas Resort
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
A TripAdvisor Member
texas
112
Reviewed March 29, 2005

Never again,we went back in Nov,did the timeshare crap.Time was not wasted,told the timeshare where to go,and we took to the beach instead of listening to the bull about money wasting scam.Who wants to throw money down the toilet on timeshares (come On) not worth it.Save your money.The Hotel we were sent too,Island sea resort,(is just a name)the rest is terrible.the room was smelly,bathroom was full of mold ,rust and dirt,bed covers stank to high heaven and the food ,if you want to eat crap go ahead and order crap.Bring your own snacks because the terrible stores sell a box or ceral for almost 15.00 dollars no kidden,taxi will cost you 20.00 dollars for five minute ride and night life ,what night life,the beach is Ok ,that is all that was nice the beach .But to get a chair ,towel bring money,say 20.00 dollars the locals like your money .I will never stay in that hotel again it was nasty and everyone there agreed with me.Timeshare needs to find better places for visitors.Say no more.It is also dangerous to go out at night.Because of drugs and poverty.Crime is high.We saw children using needles.There is no trees left the place was leveled by the hurricans and as for sight seeing ,what can you possible see,everything is ruined .

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,157 - 1,163 of 1,332 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta
119
Reviewed March 27, 2005

I have not yet gone, but must tell people to beware of what appears to be subtle misreprestation when booking. I was told I was getting an oceanfront unit with free shuttle service. Sure enough, when I got the confirmation, it says "Waterfront" and no word about free shuttle. When I wrote back and asked for the confirmation to state "oceanfront" they (after several requests), finally said it was NOT oceanfront. It was waterfront (whatever that means). Beware if you think you are getting oceanfront. No confirmation about free shuttle service. Guess you get the message.
I sure would like to save others the frustration and amount of time I have spent trying to get the reservation people to put in writing what they sold verbally. No luck for me, but hopefully you won't make the mistake.

19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2005

Just came back from Freeport stayed at Island Seas Resort on Rum Cay Rd. Rooms were excellent staff was amazing especially Larry the Bartender
day trips were wonderful must do the Fishfry great food. Phone service was out for 3 days but back on line after that. Will go back soon.

14  Thank 521paulinew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Columbus, Ohio
123
Reviewed March 19, 2005

I and two friends (college-aged) just got back from Florida/ Bahamas. We were in the Bahamas from March 13-17. We traveled on the Discovery Sun (very packed) and stayed at the Island Seas Resort. The resort was beautiful- large apartment with two balconies and a gorgeous beach. We were told that we would be next to the beach, but we were put across the street. My friends were disappointed, but I had researched the resort on this website and knew that we would probably be placed across the street. We had a great view of the marina, could still see the ocean from one balcony, and were right next to the hot tub.
There were some problems. Our apartment/condo was on the third floor and there were no elevators. We had to drag our luggage up the stairs, although we did call the front desk for help with our luggage when we left. There was some glass along the beach- mostly the length of beach down both ways from the resort, so watch your feet.
Taxis were expensive; there is no free shuttle unless you're a time share member. Ask the front desk or call the taxi company about taxi prices, then ask the taxi drivers if they are charging that price. Some of them charge very high prices; we paid $40 round trip for 3 to the WinnDixie before we realized that it should have been half that price.
The WinnDixie is expensive. I would recommend bringing as much food from Florida as possible and cooking in the condo- dishes are in the cabinets. Alcohol at the liquor stores is cheap, but drinks at some of the bars, including the resort's are a bit high.
Phone calls were expensive, but about halfway through our trip we discovered that you can dial the operator from the lobby phone (tan phone near the door to the pool area) and ask the operator to dial local numbers, with no charge.
We were not hasseled about buying a time share, though we were told to talk to the ladies at the desk across the lobby (but we didn't). The front desk didn't always answer our questions when we told them we weren't time share members. They didn't seem to know times or where the place to be was.
International Bazaar was open, though some shops were closed and it was a little quiet with some of the nearby hotels closed. Port Lucaya was hopping when we went on Mon and Wed evening- be careful of the voodoo drink; it packs a punch.
Overall, Island Seas Resort and the Bahamas was beautiful, but be prepared to spend more money on travel and food then planned.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Charleston, SC
118
Reviewed March 8, 2005

The Island Seas Resort is a beautiful, family friendly resort, however, when "ocean front" accomodations are requested (and paid for) it is Very disappointing to be put across the street from the beach with another building between you and the beach. Apparently the ocean front buildings are reserved for the timeshare owners, however many units were empty , also we were not informed of this ahead of time or we cwould have made arrangements at another resort. Next visit we will not use a time share property, we will stick with the hotels, where everyone gets what they have paid for.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ann Arbor, MI
112
Reviewed March 5, 2005

The good: nice furnishings (2 tv's, full kitchenware), private beach, friendly staff.

The bad: poor location, biting bedbugs, non-functional dishwasher, expensive prices.

I just read a recent review that stated that the staff offered free trips to the grocery store and free transportation to Port Lucaya. This is only for members! It's around $8 per couple to take the 1 mile taxi ride to get anywhere.

Also - you may be put across the street, even if your reservations say "beach front". This happened to some girls we saw while we were busy paying $5 for 15 minutes of Internet access.

Overall this place was OK but I would advise staying nearer Taino Beach if possible. There are more beaches, shopping and activities over there.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Charlotte, NC
116
Reviewed March 5, 2005

I agree with the person who said this should be a 3 star resort! We were told we would have an oceanview room but we were put across the street and it was NOT oceanview! It is also obnoxious that they are trying to sell a time share. The restaurant on site is bar food at best and too pricey for what you get! I would recommend staying at Our Lucaya where there are great restaurants at the market and the hotels are about the same price. Normally Westin and Sheraton offer a free night after booking four and sometimes you stay one night and the next is free, etc.

It was nice that Island Seas offered a shuttle to our Lucaya but if you stay for drinks in Our Lucaya you have to take a taxi back because the last shuttle from Island Seas is finished shuttling around 6ish.

Staff was friendly, it was our anniversary, and staff helped my husband set up a surprise boat cruise for me...they made food and fruit for us to take!

Wasn't a bad stay at all...just not a awesome resort...we are going back in May but wouldn't choose to stay at Island Seas when the Westin is not that much more expensive and within walking distance to everything!

  • Stayed: November 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
2.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
256 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#4 of 14 in Freeport
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
2 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
3,031 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Seas Resort

Address: 123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: $139 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Seas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully furnished one and two bedroom condominium resort with full living/dining areas and private beach is set between the shopping and dining centers of Port Lucaya Marketplace, 2 miles away, and Freeport's International Bazaar, 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Island Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Seas Hotel Freeport
Island Seas Freeport
Island Seas Resort Freeport Bahamas
Island Seas Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing