We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at the Island Seas!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Seas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Island Seas Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Lancaster, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great time at the Island Seas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2004

We had a great time at the Island Seas! The staff was great--very caring and concerned. We had several calls to our room to make sure all was well. Hubert, the activities director, called us at home when we got back just to check on us! We had a problem with the phone in the kitchen area which was taken care of very promptly. The room was beautiful, as were the beach and resort grounds. We used the laundry facilty and felt quite safe in leaving our items in the dryer while we went to the beach. We took the free shuttle to Lucaya a couple of times. The resort also provides a free shuttle to the grocery store on Mondays. We attended the Junkanoo festival on Thursday night and took the bus back to Island Seas for only $2 each person. The taxis are very expensive ($25 to the airport) so we found the best way to get around was by renting a car. ($150 for three days--see Hubert at the resort). We went from one end of the island to another. Favorite activities: Snorkeling at Paradise Cove/Deadman's Reef (we took our own gear and only paid $3 each to snorkel); Lucaya National Park and Gold Rock Beach (there is a $3 entrance fee but the ranger was not there when we were so we did not have to pay); Banana Bay Bar and Restaurant (very quaint, reasonable--right on the beach, you can swim after you eat); Pier 1 was fun but expensive; Junkanoo festival; rent a jet ski. Try conch every way you can! We had a great time and look forward to staying at the Island Seas again.

Helpful?
5 Thank Arrow3025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    363
    275
    158
    196
See reviews for
352
359
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2004

I stayed at the Island Sea's Resort from 8/1/04 - 8/8/04 for my honeymoon. The experience with the resort was definately a C-. The linens are used up. The sheets on the bed were thin and so old they had balls on them. The towels are very old. The lounge chairs at the pool are very old. Do not expect the rooms to be cleaned daily. The housekeepers change the towels but that is about it. I called the front desk to get another set of sheets for the bed and they promised they would be right up. They never showed up. The food at Cocunuts is not great but very expensive. My breakfast was served 30 minutes before my husbands showed up at the table. The basic rule of "the customer is always right" is not considered at this resort. The customer is never right. The staff expect for the guests to hurry but when it comes to the service from the staff, they are definately living on island time. We spent a lot of money at the Island Seas resort and wish we would have paid a little more for the Weston or a place in Port Lacaya. If you sit through the time share presentation, the resort offers free shuttle to the International Bazzar and Port Lacaya. If you do not, you will be spending a lot of money on cab rides. $20 round trip to Port Lacaya.

The Grand Bahama Island #1 income generator is tourism. I think that the Island Seas Resort should remember this when they are being rude to the customers that are paying their salary. People come here expecting to be treated nicely because they are paying a lot of money to stay here. Do not expect this from this resort.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Hoffman Estates, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2004

Just returned from a relaxing week at the Island Seas. The beach is the best--clear, warm water. The beach chairs and beach towels were plentiful.

The resort was a bit worn for such a new property. We asked for and got a nonsmoking room, but the room smelled terribly of smoke when we walked in. We found 2 ashtrays on the counter in the kitchen. They sprayed the room with air freshener. We were not able to change rooms. The coffee table was missing the glass, the refrigerator was all rusted on the side, there were chips in the kitchen countertops, and the remote control for the bedroom TV did not work. The resort did not feel as clean as many other resorts we stayed at. We had a family of 5, and did adjust to the room. We did rent the room safe for $5/night.

We brought a suitcase full of food-cereal, snacks, etc. The Winn Dixie is expensive and has a limited selection. Good restaurants included Pisces and Pier I where you can feed the sharks. We also splurged one night and ate at China Beach at the Westin which was very good. Be sure to visit Zonk the Conch Man down the beach--may want to ask him to go easy on the spices.

Definitely rent a car. It is nice to have the freedom to not rely on taxis. We had no pressure to view the timeshire presentation. I don't know if I'd go back to the Bahamas, but we had a lot of fun and really enjoyed the beach. It was a positive experience for our family.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2004

We just returned from the Island Seas Resort on Aug. 6th. Overall, the resort was nice and it has an awesome beach. The rooms were nice, not great, but nice. Beg to get a room on the interior, you do not want to be across the street. The pool was nice but I felt the water was not as clean as I would have liked. The beach was great, clean and beautiful.

I was told there was good snorkeling right off the beach of the property, but there was not. We ended up doing the snorkeling trip at the Island Seas property, Paradise Tours, and that was really good. Deadman's Reef was also good for snorkeling, but don't be fooled by the pictures in the advertisement books regarding the facility. This place is just a shack where you can rent snorkel gear and get a hot dog, nothing special.

The pool bar at Island Seas was fair. The drinks were not as tasty as I have had at other hotels, but we did take advantage of the 2-for-1 happy hour, so $6 for two drinks was not bad. The food at Coconuts was fair.

Make sure you rent a car. Everytime we would drive away in our rental car I would feel sorry for all the people waiting for a taxi or bus service. You really need a car on this island. It will be cheaper in the end than bus and taxi fare. You can't get to anything from the Island Seas without transportation.

I was disappointed in the shopping. I found Port Lucaya shopping to be better than the International Bazaar, but neither were great.

For dinner, I would recommend Pisces at Port Lucaya and Pier One towards the West End.

We did bring lots of snack food with us and I was grateful we did that. The Winn Dixie (the only grocery store on the island) is nothing special, and the prices are high.

Overall we had a great vacation and we definitely relaxed and enjoyed ourselves, but we would probably not return to the Bahamas.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2004

We returned home on July 31st from a fabulous time in Freeport. This was our first trip to the island and we explored everything it had to offer.

The resort was nice and well maintained. We only had one opportunity to eat at Coconuts, and thought the food was okay. But to make this easy, I'll just list the "do's" and "don'ts" as I see them:

Do: Try the Conch - prepared by Zonk on the beach. Rent a car - you can explore whenever you want and you won't have to be tied to a bus schedule. Eat at Pier One Restaurant - they feed sharks there 3 times a day 7pm-8pm-9pm, and the food is good. Bargain with the vendors - oftentimes you can get them down by a third. Take insect repellant - the insects are relentless! Bring snacks, the food is very expensive at the Winn Dixie store. Attend the Junkaroo held on Thursday evenings during the summer months.

Don't: Arrive early - we got there at 11:00, and had to wait 5 hours before we could check-in AND we were placed across the street! Wait until the last minute to check out - we had to wait in line 45 minutes just to check-out.

Also, if you don't plan on carrying your valuables with you everywhere you go, plan on spending $5 per day to use the in-room safe OR just take a lock and secure your things in a suitcase.

And last but not least, have fun it's a beautiful island experience!

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MexicoMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2004

Just did an II swap for 2 consecutive weeks and had a wonderful time. The resort location is excellent and the beach is beautiful. Condos were roomy and well appointed -- 2 TVs -- nice decor -- all the neccessary amenities (except a blender!) A king-sized bed would have been nice...

Pool was pleasant and nice to look at but not maintained very well -- a midday skimming would have been a good idea and the tile work was shoddy at best -- pool rules were not enforced at all -- dive-bombing, kids in the hot tub (posted: no children) -- not a big deal to me except i found a lady wringing out her child's diaper in there...I felt the property overall lacked the attention to detail i would expect from a 4-star resort let alone a 5-star...

Front desk staff was very helpful (thank you Andrew, Rochelle, and Cynthia) and the time-share presentation was low key -- shuttle into town was regular and useful during the day -- daily maid service was excellent (thank you Angela) and inconspicuous -- bar service was poor at best (especially if you were trying to utilize the pool seating -- why have a pool bar if it is such an inconvenience to serve us there?) That being said pool chairs were plentiful, beach towels in abundance and beach chairs provided readily (and free) to resort guests. A very easy place to relax and soak up that Carribean sun!

Food! Coconuts (on site) was terrible -- expensive, slow and about Perkins quality. The local options on the beach were good an priced well (Zonk the Conch was king) My wife and I opted for finer dining most nights and taxied into Port Lucaya ($20 round trip for 2) every night. Pisces is a must as our top rated casual restaurant (about $20 a head) and Luciano's got our nod for high end dining ($45 a head and worth every penny) -- The Ferry House may have had a slight edge in presentation but at a whopping $90 a head it should have! Lucianos is a MUST! China Beach was good (for duck and sushi) and the FRI/SAT seafood buffet at Willie Broadleaf's was $43 a head but featured All-you-can-eat lobster tail, stone crab, shrimp, mussels, prime rib, all manner of skewered meats etc (kids half price). Il Dulce Vida was very good (NY stlye italian eatery) and Ruby Swiss was well worth the money. Uh sorry, I got a little carried away on the food section -- needless to say we were very pleasantly surprosed by the food qulaity and varity on the island. Be prepared to have a leisure dinner because in the land of guaranteed 15% tips your service sure suffers -- exception was Luciano's -- outstanding service there.

Anyway hope this helps!

Helpful?
10 Thank Mastermoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2004

Resort and beach nice but beds not comfy at all. We did exchange with RCI for a week, thought free shuttle was for us, but not so only for owners at that resort. FOOD was nasty at coconuts rest. outside resort area and port luc. dirty place but still a nice trip. next time I'd rather do it on a cruse ship. Make sure you pack a bag of food for the week you will wish you did if you don't.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
2.5 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.0 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
2.8 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,944 reviews
5.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
2.0 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Seas Resort

Property: Island Seas Resort
Address: 123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Seas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully furnished one and two bedroom condominium resort with full living/dining areas and private beach is set between the shopping and dining centers of Port Lucaya Marketplace, 2 miles away, and Freeport's International Bazaar, 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Island Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Seas Hotel Freeport
Island Seas Freeport
Island Seas Resort Freeport Bahamas
Island Seas Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing