We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Word - W-O-W!”
Review of Island Seas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Seas Resort
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
A TripAdvisor Member
“One Word - W-O-W!”
Reviewed July 6, 2004

WOW! The Island Seas Resort was wonderful! We spent 8 beautiful days there. I'm glad we listened to the good reviews and not the sour ones. By reading reviews and doing a little research, we weren't surprised by anything: $15/day per adult - paid in advance; expensive food - brought our own non-perishables and bought the rest at Winn Dixie the day we arrived; slow/poor service - we just kicked back and relaxed and didn't let it bother us; timeshare presentation - setup appointment and then cancelled the day before with no problems; taxi/bus - shared rental car with family traveling with us. Everyone was nice & friendly, staff & other guests, especially to our 3 children. I would recommend to everyone. Horseback riding was excellent from Pinetree Stables and the glassbottom boat tour was nice from the resort's Paradise Watersports. We're going again next year. This year we went with timeshare owners and we were given Gold Card status because we were their guests and our condo was right on the ocean. ENJOY!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    372
    290
    164
    205
See reviews for
369
381
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lancaster, wi
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2004

we purchased a timeshare 2 years ago. we just got back from the most relaxing and laid back place ever. the people at the resort are very nice and the other guests that go there are also very nice. we visited zonks conch stand numerous times went reef fishing went to pier one restraunt shopped and soaked up alot of sun. we are all excited to go back soon

Helpful?
1 Thank munson16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 22, 2004

I feel sorry for those who can't enjoy such a beautiful place... Our experience here was very good. We were the 1st people to stay in a brand new condo. The brand new Whirlpool Fridge didn't work. From Indiana I think? Look The Bahamas IS expensive, but if you rent a car and eat in your condo, it is no more than a Hawaiian Vacation. There are long uninhabitated forests. The beach at Lucayan Nat'l Park is magical. Count Basie Square at night is lively and quite entertaining. Try a Pina Colada in a real coconut at Rumrunner's. Very Tastey! We saw a 12 foot Spotted Leopard Ray in 4 feet of water at Paradise Cove snorkelling. Take lots of small bills and travelers checks with you. Things like chaise lounges and umbrella's cost a couple of dollars apiece to use. Tips are included so don't add on. There is a $15 a day room tax per person. But I don't think they charge for weekends, since we were charged 2 days less than we should of been. Say "No Thank You" to the timeshare presentation. We weren't bothered again. We loved it and would go back in a second....

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 2, 2004

My husband and I were staying at another resort and were approached to listen to a "short" presentation on a time share. In exchange we would recieve a bottle of rum and a t shirt. Unfortunately we bought into the time share spill. The resort is very beautiful, but we have never stayed at the resort. I have had the timeshare now for over five years and have not used it once. By the time you pay the yearly maintenance fees, you could easily have payed for half of a cruise or other very nice vacation. Visit the resort, but beware of the time share.

Stayed January 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Freeport hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 22, 2004

Island Seas Resort was the best hotel I have ever been in! They have a pool, hot tub, restaurant/bar (the nicest staff in the world), a beach within walking distance, watersports within walking distance, horseback riding on the beach, and a lot more. I would recommend Island Seas to everyone going to the Bahamas.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2004

I went to the Bahamas with some friends to do some diving in the Lucaya area. We stayed at Island Seas. The website from Hotels says that you can rent a rollaway bed for 15/per night. We also called and confirmend this. When we got there, they said that there where no rollaway beds. We arived on saturday and there was no one we could talk to until monday. When we fainally talked to someone on Monday, all they said we could do was rent another room for twice what we booked the original room for. I spend six nights on the floor on the couch cushions. Which we latter found out from the misistry of tourism was illeagl, they didn't care. when we recieved our checkout bill, there was an extra $15 per person / per night added on our bill as a Room Tax. Which increased our bill by some $300 dollars. The food in the restraunt was slightly better than Denny's. Don't expect any customer service anywhere in the Bahamas. You also need to take a Taxi everywhere from the Island Seas, that is an entirly different scam.

Helpful?
3 Thank KDenver448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2004

Just returned from Island Seas Resort last night, May 8, 2004, and cannot say enough good things about it. The staff was so friendly and helpful. the condos were wonderful: lots of room..I think everyone had an ocean view. No, our room was not ready when we arrived, but the only flight in arrived before noon and check-in time is 4 pm, so we weren't expecting it to be ready. The grounds and beach were immaculate and the area was very quiet (except for the air conditioners). It is easy to get around the island, just need to learn the 'ropes'. We liked it so much that we bought a time-share, going into it with absolutely no intention of doing so. Zonk the Conch Man on the beach has the absolute best conch and Bahama Mamas! The staff at the resort helped us with everything we needed. There was maid service every day, and the snorkeling even at the resort was awesome! Feel free to email me. It is a wonderful place!

Helpful?
2 Thank bahamamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
2.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.0 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
238 reviews
2.8 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
2,986 reviews
5.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
2.1 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Seas Resort

Property: Island Seas Resort
Address: 123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Seas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully furnished one and two bedroom condominium resort with full living/dining areas and private beach is set between the shopping and dining centers of Port Lucaya Marketplace, 2 miles away, and Freeport's International Bazaar, 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Seas Hotel Freeport
Island Seas Freeport
Island Seas Resort Freeport Bahamas
Island Seas Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing