We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Island Seas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Seas Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not as bad as reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We arrived on Mar 1st at Island Seas and were pleasantly surprised because of the reviews I had read. There were 3 of us and I traded out timeshare for a two bedroom. Yes, we were across the street. Its only a few steps away from the lobby and has a beautiful view of the canal. It was quiet and we found the rooms, kitchen and bathrooms clean and comfortable. My husband had an issue with the pillows but the rest of us were fine. The beach was clean and we always found 3 chairs. The only thing missing was someone taking bar orders while you were enjoying the beach. There was no swim up bar that I could tell although there seem to be a spot for it. No big deal! We enjoyed breakfast in the restaurant almost everyday but tried to go to out for dinner. The free shuttle was a BIG plus! Although it did have its last pickup in town at 6:40pm. We did not rent a car for the week but did rent a Jeep for a day and that was right on the property. Overall we were happy with our stay. No need to worry.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our resort. It is one way we can tell what we can do to make the vacations of our guests even better. We are proud of our resorts and are happy that we have the best of both worlds: a beautiful beach and pool area as well as a calm and relaxing canal view. Glad you always were able to get chairs, but we also recently received a new shipment and have plenty poolside now. Our swim up bar is on the back side of Coconuts restaurant … near the hot tub … come back soon and discover it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    367
    282
    160
    200
See reviews for
362
364
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

I'm just back from 12 days at this great resort. This is my third year staying there and I'm already planning next year's trip. The rooms are spacious and always clean. The beds are comfortable and there is a kitchenette in every room. The restaurant has a variety of choices to please every taste and the bar is well stocked. The staff in every area of the resort, from restaurant to bar, front desk to security are fantastic. They are all so pleasant and willing to assist you with anything you might need from answering a question to giving you directions to an out of the way beach or shop. There is a children's wading pool and a swimming pool as well. The beach is a soft, almost white, sand with shade available if you want it. There are many activities to keep you busy if you want or a nice lounge chair at the beach or the pool if that is what you prefer to do. The year included a trip to downtown Freeport, where I felt welcomed and safe, a trip to Gold Rock beach (where Pirates of the Carriabbean 2 & 3 was filmed) and a special dinner at Luciano's, an upscale restaurant in Port Lucaya. It was a great trip to a place I know I'll return too.

Room Tip: The staff will do their best to accomodate you as you request. There are only three floors but ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We love getting great reviews, but more so, we LOVE knowing that you enjoyed your vacation so much! We are working hard to ensure our guests all enjoy their free time as much as you did. Glad you ventured to Gold Rock Beach, as many tourists don’t know about that area. Next visit we challenge you to discover where in Freeport “Zeus and Roxanne” (1997) was filmed! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We arrived at this resort through a Timeshare Swap and had some trepidation based on the reviews. However, our room was great (once we INSISTED that we not be located on the Marina Side of the road) and it had a new floor, new appliances, and new furniture. The bathtub area in the bathroom had not been renovated and would barely rate an average. The outdoor bar and pool area were nice except for the acute shortage of chairs and beach/pool lounge chairs. The restaurant had been renovated but the food and service were average. The location was great because it had a nice beach, grocery shopping was close, and it was a short ride over to the Lucayan Village shopping and restaurant area (shuttle provided if you did not have a rent-a-car). The excursions and beach rentals were reasonable and friendly. We felt safe to drive around and explore the entire Island and did not have to stay on the resort. Overall it was a great value on a great beach....... with a few "nits". P.S. Bring your own Blender.

Room Tip: If you can stand the walk up to the third floor (no elevators).... the rooms on the beach side on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for exchanging into Island Seas. We are working hard to improve our resort and listen carefully to the reviews from our guests. More pool and beach chairs have been ordered and we do look forward to the shipment’s arrival. We have such a lovely beach and pool area and want everyone to enjoy it. The island excursions also give our guests some beautiful sights and memories. Hoping you’ll exchange again soon to come visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from the Island Seas and our experience was absolutely WONDERFUL! We had a driver pick us up at the airport and take us directly to the resort which is only about 15 minutes from the airport. Once there, Maxine checked us in and told us everything we needed to know. When we got to our room, we were delighted to see that our balcony faced the pool and we had a beautiful view of the beach! I've seen several reviews on here that are negative, but I can tell you that you just have to realize that many people aren't going to be happy wherever they go! Granted, the water pressure for the shower isn't the greatest, but good grief...you're in paradise! The room was very clean and the maid came in every day to take the trash and replace our towels. She cleaned very well and cleaned with bleach! We were taken to the grocery store via shuttle and brought back to the resort. Be sure to pack a good tote so you can put your groceries in it to carry back. I took two and they really came in handy! Take your own sunblock and aloe or any medications you might need as they're expensive there.Also, get some liquor at a store that's in the same shopping center where the grocery store is located. The staff at the resort are friendly and eager to make sure you have everything you need! Jennifer is phenomenal and Tawari is so caring and sincere in his concern for what you might need. We had a couples massage and I have to say that it was the BEST massage that I've ever had!!! There were some spring breakers there but they certainly weren't unruly at all. We sat on our balcony, had a cocktail and really got a hoot out of the "performers". They stop the karaoke at 10:00 p.m, so it's not any intrusion at all! The beach is pristine and powdery, white sand! The water is a beautiful blue and green that is gorgeous! We walked down the beach and went to what looks like a little shack with a screened in porch. They had fabulous fried conch and the local beer for $2.00 each. The folks there were friendly so we ended up going back a couple of times! Don't worry about safety at the resort! The security folks were always visible and were always walking around the property. The restaurant food is good. Their carrot cake is to die for, too! The only food I ordered that could have used improvement was a rib eye steak. I ordered it medium rare and it was medium to medium well. I'm a "half full" kind of person and the way I look at it is if that is the only problem I had for the entire week....I'm a happy camper! We highly recommend the Island Seas Resort! We already have reservations for next January!! Many thanks to everyone at the resort and hugs to Jennifer, Tawari and Maxine!! Brarry & Barbara

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank militaryredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for your insight and review of your vacation with us at Island Seas. You provided a lot of helpful information and travelers will benefit with your tips. We love hearing that our staff members met your needs and were caring and sincere as well. We love our jobs and enjoy helping our guests relax and have a good time while with us. Looking forward to your January visit!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Had a wonderful time on my stay in the Bahamas. Island Seas was a great place to stay. The beach was right outside the window for viewing. The staff was nice and friendly. The drivers were helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your recent visit with us, Beverly. We love hearing that our staff helped you and your needs were met. Our resort’s goal is to help you experience a memorable and relaxing vacation. Please come back to RELAX, REWIND, AND REPEAT!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

It was our first time staying on GBI. We visited there last year while on a cruise and liked it much more than Nassau. It's natural beauty and warm people are it's greatest asset! Island Seas Resort has the nicest and most helpful employees they went out of there way to please us. It was a little difficult to slow down to island time but the phrase of the day was "relax, man". We attended the sales pitch for a time share and everything we were promised was delivered. The resort is under renovations when we were there, and the improvements will be awesome. We met wonderful people also there on vacation. The resort has a shuttle that goes to Freeport and the grocery store, but we rented a car at the airport and had the freedom to explore the island. You can go to Solomons grocery store and stock your frig for the week if you're are on a budget. Very strange driving on the opposite side of the road. We went to the International Bazaar to check it out. It's sad, it is run down and very few stores left there after the hurricanes. We also went to Port Lucaya marketplace, it has a variety of stores, some junk stores and a few upscale stores.
We both had massages in the day spa, and I have to say, I've had a lot of messages at some topnotch hotels and this was probably one of the best. We also did the glass bottom boat, it was nice, but we both got seasick, but it was still a good experience. The oceanfront condo rooms are absolutely fabulous. The beach is so close, you can almost touch it. We didn't have enough time to do everything we wanted this visit, but we are planning to go back again this year. Island Seas is a quiet, relaxing place to unwind, unless you're there during spring break. There were maybe 30 or so breakers, and they do get rowdy, but they need to unwind too. About 500 yards down the beach is Bernies. He has a dinner/bonfire on Tuesday and Thursday nights. It's 20 dollars for chicken,ribs,corn on the cob,peas and rice,2 bahama mamas, shots of rum and the bonfire. Food was not very good, but the experience great. Take a beach towel with you and spread it out on the sand and enjoy the bonfire. There are 2 restaurants, you can eat outside at the Coconuts bar or inside at the restaurant. There was a singer/guitar player each night inside at the restaurant. The food was good, not excellent. The chef salad at the bar was large enough for two and was delicious. If you like conch salad, I think it was on Queens highway a little row of shacks, one is a little bar, one is a BBQ shack and the other is run by a bahamian named Alfred. He makes the fresh conch salad in front of you and it is the best we've ever had. We had a great time and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mj a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
What a wonderful trip! It sounds like your trip was packed with both adventure and relaxation! And yes, “relax man” is certainly a key phrase down here which does take just a bit for some to get used to. But life does slow down in the Bahamas, and we are so glad you plan on returning to slow down with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Visited Island Seas in Feb-Mar..Had a great time..Most comfortable beds..Beach was awesome..Experienced the 2 dollar Bar..Won 2 games of pool..:).Taxi drivers were awesome..Hi to Craig..Thanks for everything.. Security Guard had a little to much to say about some of the Island residents..But I form my own opinions..All in all was a great resort..Definitely would stay again!!

Room Tip: I likes the rooms facing the courtyard..Could also see beach!1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma19592013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for your review of Island Seas. We are glad you had a good time and are impressed with your pool winnings! Our employees love visiting with our guests and you must have been a charming conversationalist … so come back and visit with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
2.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.0 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.8 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,959 reviews
5.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
2.1 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Seas Resort

Property: Island Seas Resort
Address: 123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Seas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully furnished one and two bedroom condominium resort with full living/dining areas and private beach is set between the shopping and dining centers of Port Lucaya Marketplace, 2 miles away, and Freeport's International Bazaar, 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Seas Hotel Freeport
Island Seas Freeport
Island Seas Resort Freeport Bahamas
Island Seas Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing