We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE!! HEALTH HAZZARD!!! Horrible front desk staff.”
Review of Island Seas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Seas Resort
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“BEWARE!! HEALTH HAZZARD!!! Horrible front desk staff.”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Where do I begin? Upon arrival my first thought was that it should be illegal to advertise this dump as a resort! And that was before even going inside the room. The faucets in the bedrooms sprayed water in every direction other than in the sink. Room came with a plunger because that is the only way to flush the toilet. The freezer was full of rust and ice maker did not work. In a first floor "condo" the security doors were non locking despite multiple warnings posted at every turn about being sure to lock up everything and do not open the doors for anyone you do not recognize, at a so called resort.
DO NOT SHOP ON PREMISE!

To sum this dump up be sure to take the time to look at all of the photos posted on tripadvisor to see how disgusting of a place this is before booking. If you still decide to go here my last advice would be do not let the staff assign you a room on the marina side. Our first room was on the marina side and the accommodations were so bad there that my wife was ready to take the loss and just head Back to Miami!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankCastleSr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Guest Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
We are saddened to hear that you had a disappointing experience with us at Island Seas Resort as we have many owners and guests who have wonderful vacations and memorable experiences with us. We usually get wonderful reviews of our staff’s courteous and friendly nature. Unfortunately in today’s world, security must be a priority, and we do remind our guests that they should be extremely careful at all times. We have 24-hour security and we are a gated resort, but as a courtesy we remind our guests to be careful. All resorts and hotels should be taking this extra step. Hopefully if you were having trouble locking your resort door you notified our Maintenance Department for assistance. We appreciate your review, and hope that if perhaps your travels someday bring you back to our island, you will give us a second try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    374
    294
    165
    213
See reviews for
377
385
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our family of 5 spend a two week holiday over Christmas and New Years on Grand Bahamas and on Island Seas Resort in a 2-bedroom apartment (sleeps 6).
Expect: ok standard; clean and nice beach with some palm trees, beach chairs and water sport possibilities. The restaurant has ok food but only the outdoor ambience is nice. Bar closes already at 10pm. WIFI is available but terribly expensive (12 USD/day; 70USD/week). Clean apartment. Complementary transport to Lucaya (shopping and marina) but we found it helpful to have a car! (do not worry about left-side traffic; there is almost no traffic). Weather was nice most of the time (sunny or partly cloudy 25-32 degrees Celsius (77-89 Farenheit).

Room Tip: Resort has Ocean Front and on the other side of the road (towards a canal). Demand what you want up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M-Kalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Guest Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for coming to spend your vacation with us. We realize you have many vacationing options and we appreciate you choosing us to relax, rewind, and repeat. And we do hope you’ll come back! We love our repeat guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed one week at the resort and enjoyed being right on the beach. The grounds were clean and pretty. The staff was a delight and helpful. The units for the most part were clean but in need of an overhaul. The timeshare sales staff was low pressure which was welcome, and we did sign up for the free lunch the second day to listen to their presentation. We did receive all the promised perks and then some thanks to Trenetta who made sure our stay was pleasant. The taxi cab from the airport averaged $21 to the resort and $22 going back to the airport. The free shuttle to Port Lucaya was great. Also if you do choose Island Seas resort head down the beach and visit Chef Bernie for awesome BBQ food and barn fires. Overall, I would return to Islansd Seas Resort.

Room Tip: Request a room on the ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LMAM_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Guest Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your review of Island Seas Resort. We find our private beach to be both beautiful and relaxing. Did you get to play Bingo or some beach volleyball with our Activities Director? She really enjoys singing the karaoke tunes with our guests and joining in shuffleboard games, too. Thank you for participating in our presentation; the vacationing needs of our guests vary so our goal is to show what we have and let our guests evaluate if it fits their needs. We are glad you found the Bahamian food of good taste and quality, and we hope you come back soon to relax, rewind, and repeat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Well, we made it through one night at Island Seas Resort. We moved to Grand Lucayan Resort after that one night. It is a world apart from Island Seas.

The fourth staff warning on our first afternoon, from the night-shift beach security guard, that we should not accept any activity offers from locals that will be soliciting on the public beach the resort is located on, because they may not come back with the jet ski they'll ask to be paid for in advance, or they won't be licensed or have any insurance, did the place in for me....not a place I really want my daughter wandering around (I did appreciate the warnings though). The gym room, that had two inoperable tread mills along with free weights that looked like they were scavenged from a ship wreck, and a mirror wall that looked like it had a sugary drink splashed on it a few days ago, pretty much did it in for my daughter. She wasn't too pleased with her black bottom white socks from walking shoeless on the tile floor of our room, the floors were actually sticky. Waking up the first morning not being able to breath through her nose for the mold or mildew in the room, that smelled like it had been closed up for a couple years before we walked in, finished the place off for my wife. I wasn't too happy either with the bone fragments that were in my pulled pork sandwich I had for dinner the first night either, although the fries were really good. Our server was concerned enough to say she would inform the kitchen and apologized but offered no solution.

I have to say that the staff were very friendly and helpful, including being sure to provide the beach warnings. They came to the room without delay the first night to spray it to try to freshen it up but no help for my wife's sinuses. I feel bad complaining because they did give us quite a nice room floor plan and location with a view of the main courtyard with the ocean beyond.

The timeshare sales staff was low pressure (yes, Island Seas is a timeshare resort), which was welcome, and we did sign up for the free lunch the second day to listen to their presentation, but after our experience I truly wonder how they think they'll be able to sell ownership to the facility. When we arrived I noticed there wasn't a single smiling face amongst the crowd in the lobby trying to get to the front desk, don't know if they were checking in, out, or there to complain.

We've talked to a few locals we've met at places we've visited, like an outdoor restaurant we went to for dinner after changing hotels. An American women who lives here winters mentioned that Island Seas is known here to be a struggling facility that was grand a long time ago but has really struggled the last few years. A family friend of one of her friends stayed at Island Seas and she was asked to look after them. The friend attended the timeshare sales pitch meeting and complained to her that the staff would just not leave them alone after the meeting. I'm glad we didn't fall into that trap. Our Taxi driver from the airport acted actually surprised that that was where he was taking us, which was our first worry, and it just went downhill from there.

Staff mentioned to me that ownership recently changed and a lot of work was going on to improve things but there wasn't much visible evidence of that. It seemed about 30 years old and not looked after the past 20!

We've actually run into two families here at Grand Lucayan that we saw at Island Seas on our first night. They also moved, at considerable expense by the way.

The grounds are well kept, again kudos to the friendly helpful staff, but the public beach with public access right next door is not the secluded beach their web site promises. There is NO free internet, it costs $70 a week for one device. But if you attend the timeshare sales pitch, you can get free wifi for 2 devices if you don't take any of the free activities they offer. Do you get the catch??? It's just hearsay, by the way, but we were told the pressure from the sales people after the pitch was intense.

To be fair, I realize it's monumentally challenging and costly to keep ahead of the impact of constant salt air exposure, even Grand Lucayan visibly struggles with this issue. But it does go well beyond that at Island Seas.

If you're ok with fourth rate hotels and all the stuff we found unacceptable, maybe you'll be ok, especially if you have no allergies to mold, or mildew, or whatever it was in our room that clogged our sinuses. Good Luck...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank james g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Guest Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
We are so sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience at our resort. We totally agree that some updating is needed, and that is why we are refurnishing the resort rooms and repainting the exterior walls. Yes, you are right that the salt air from the ocean is hard on our resort. Our new gym equipment has been ordered and the relocation site (it will be next to our Starbucks coffee shop) is coming along nicely. We do pride ourselves on our friendly staff and work hard to maintain our rooms and resort grounds. We appreciate your review as your input helps us to continue to make improvements where necessary and reinforce what is working well. We hope that you’ll come back someday to see our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

After reading the reviews I was so worried about staying here. I have to say we had a wonderful time. The staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful. The restaurant was the most reasonable we had found on the Island. We did go out alot for other meals but we were pleased with the quality of our meals at the restaurant. Our 2 bedroom unit was very nice. This is not a 5 star resort so if thats what you are expecting you will be disappointed. This however was not our expectation. The beach is beautiful and no one is rushing to get chairs either at the beach or pool. It is a very relaxing atmosphere. Also after reading reviews towels were not an issue. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for visiting and taking your time to review our resort. We do care and your input helps us. One of our goals is to provide a comfortable resort where our guests can relax and enjoy spending valuable time with their loved ones. And it seems we succeeded in your case so we are pleased! We also love hearing that our staff was pleasant and helpful. We look forward to your return visit so that you can relax, rewind, and repeat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My husband and I were there with four children over Christmas. The staff was amazingly accommodating. We had booked 2 one-bedroom units and hoped to have them in close proximity. Since they were unable to put us on the beachfront side, they upgraded us to a one-bedroom and a two-bedroom on the marina side. Initially the rooms were a building apart but when we advised them that we would all just cram into the two-bedroom unit (as we have a diabetic child and can't be that far from her) they gave us the adjacent two bedroom unit at no cost. Both two bedrooms were newly renovated and well appointed with nice furnishings, comfortable bedding and a beautiful view out the ground level patio out the back. We weren't able to snorkel on account of the weather but that can hardly be chalked up to any sort of reflection on the resort, in fact we were compensated meal vouchers and T-shirts for the kids in light of same. We did bring our own beach towels but there were no issues getting towels from the beach side cabana when our kids forgot them back at the room (or when they were drying). My husband and I are well travelled (North/Central/South America, Caribbean, Europe, Africa, Australia, etc.); usually in 4-5* properties. I also travel extensively for work. We have virtually no complaints (FOR THE PRICE). My ONLY negative comment pertains to the wait time at the bar/restaurant (then again we were ordering food for six). That said, we're going back next month for a longer stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We anxiously await your return, and we promise the weather should be nice enough for you to snorkel this time! We love it when families share their Christmas holiday with us and we appreciate your patience as our staff found accommodations that would work with your family. With so many various travel needs,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Island Seas and we were extremely disappointed. We were placed in a room without a microwave, coffee pot, dead-beat tv remote control, hole filled shower curtain, missing light bulbs, old furniture, rusted dishwasher & freezer. Management admitted to us that the resort was over booked so they opened the rooms in front of the marina. Bad Idea! This has to be the worst accommodations I have experienced. The staff was very pleasant but we will not choose this resort again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 92RJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Obviously we do not want our guests to have a bad experience and we appreciate the patience we need during our refurbishing stage. While our renovations include putting new furniture, televisions, appliances, and more in each room, it does take time. Please try us again as we know you’ll be pleased!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
2.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.0 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
241 reviews
2.8 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
2,999 reviews
5.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
2.1 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 14 in Freeport
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Seas Resort

Property: Island Seas Resort
Address: 123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Seas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully furnished one and two bedroom condominium resort with full living/dining areas and private beach is set between the shopping and dining centers of Port Lucaya Marketplace, 2 miles away, and Freeport's International Bazaar, 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Island Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Seas Hotel Freeport
Island Seas Freeport
Island Seas Resort Freeport Bahamas
Island Seas Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing