We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's better in the Bahamas!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Seas Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island Seas Resort
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Freeport
Almeda, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's better in the Bahamas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Some friends invited us to go with them but we were a little nervous about some of the reviews. Having never traveled outside the US, we had heard stories from our friends about crime and so forth too.
The Bahamas and this resort we found to be really nice and a great choice. We loved the people there and had a relaxing, enjoyable time.
The rooms we thought were fine for a beach stay, we were on the Marina side. We planned a couple of activities a day like the Pier 1 restaurant, where they feed the big sharks right off the balcony. The Garden of the Groves was really nice and took a couple of trips to the Lacaya market area, the second time was because we missed breakfast at the resort. We walked down the beach one day and went to Bernie's bonfire for dinner. We only stayed 3 days.
We enjoyed the food and the beauty of it all but mainly I think the people of the Bahamas gave us a sense of Island Time that we brought back with us, yah man.

Room Tip: If you have a 2 bedroom and this is not your home base you have to stay on the "other side"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    341
    251
    143
    177
See reviews for
315
325
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Can someone please respond as to whether activities such as jet skiing, snorkeling, and horseback riding are available and easy to book at Island Seas Resort? The website says that they are, but many reviewers have written that there is not much to do at the resort. We're traveling with four boys, ages 10 to 16 and we want to make sure there is plenty to keep them occupied before we confirm our reservations. Thanks so much!
:-) Laura

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coal Valley, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were there 10/27 thru 11/3 2013 Absoultely beautifu weather. Mid 80. Old average area. but They did everything possible to present it. Was painted to maintain a clean look, The landscaping was very well maintained and very nice. Would have to been on Beach front, but we had a good view anyway. was on 3 rd floor and could look out over the pool and onto the beach. Room was an average room, the furnishings were very outdated and in dire need of replacement. The Bed was as hard as sleeping on the floor. Husband and I took turns sleeping half night on couch and the other half on bed. The couch was not that great either for sleeping, cushions wore down badly, but at least had some softness to them. The floor was all tile which is o.k. I have tile at home, but I can walk barefoot at home and my feet stayed white did not turn black, there was sand build up along the floor and wall and corners where they meet. A shop vac once in a while would work wonders. Bare essentials in kitchen, but good enough to make do. We loved the fact that when you would go to your room the stairs that led to your room led to yours and one other. There were no long halls with adjoining doors, hence there was no traffic running by the doors at all hours. However the stairs have not seen soap and water in ages. Were really bad, several places looked like left over areas where someone lost their dinner and it just dried there. Stove and refrigerator in very good condition, dishwahser not so, it was a cheap model very flimsy and LOUD. Had to get a replacement coffee pot right away, it was broke, and the second one which we had to call about two time was also broke. Finally the third one worked. I was very surprised they were changing towels often, other resorts will do once a week, they were willing to do everyday if you wanted. We did not towels that often, they took them one day and never came back with any until we had to call late at night when we wanted to shower. So we kept the same ones for the last 3 days. Get ready for price sticker shock. The resort takes you to the grocery store once a week on Monday, it you need something else you will need to find a way. TAXI, be careful there, it cost 25 dollars to take a taxi from airport. so if you go to store plan on adding 50 bucks to you shopping trip. they have convient store on property, convient if you need something convient they take your money. I realize they have to pay import fees but things are marked up so high its unreal. Grocery store prices are twice or three times as much in U.S. . If you drink coffee, tea need sugar or creamer, salt or pepper other spices, throw them in your suitcase when you pack. We always take small items like that, dont forget the coffee filters, Most resorts supply at least a couple to get you started, not here. they will sell you enough for the week at the convience store for an arm and leg. Resort is isolated somewhat but they do provide tansportation to St Lucaya several times a day which we were thankful for. Wifi is 70 bucks a week. Food average in Restaurant. The staff was very friendly and helpful more than willing to please and we felt they are so sincere about the way they greeted and cared for people. We found that with all the people we encountered, Our week there was an exchange, and they did have us attend a presentation on owning there, but we got half way through the presentation and did not do the tour or finish the presentation, was not somewhere we wanted to own.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grandma2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Marketing Employee at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
We are glad you came to resort and sincerely hope you’ll come back to see all our renovations! We are replacing the furniture and the appliances which now make your time indoors here as wonderful as the time you spend outdoors! Our Activity Director provides many fun and exciting opportunities, including our outdoor nighttime movie night! We are glad our staff was helpful and caring….we are all here to help your vacation be relaxing and memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I was there 10/26 thru 11/2 on a time share exchange. I would go back. We had a 2 BR unit reserved, but traded it for a 1 BR beachfront unit. Left the windows open all week--perfect weather in the mid 80s and sunny. The resort was very good overall. Units could use some cosmetic work. Wifi is $70/week, but didn't work in our unit so had to go elsewhere on the property to use it. Beach is beautiful, outside bar is good. Food is average in the restaurant--go elsewhere. Try Chef Bernie's cook shack down the beach--expensive but good. A car is a must since nothing is within a mile or more. Taxis will cost you a lot. Everything in the Bahamas is very expensive--beer is $45/case, groceries are 2 to 3 times the cost in the US.

Room Tip: Only 1 BR units are near the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark9104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

average hotel for the bahamas - beachfront access, pool, hot tub, games in bar.. coconuts bar is awesome - one bad point - metered drinks.. yeah it sucks, but it's kinda everywhere on the island (it was at rum runners too, read my review on that place too).. happy hour is 4-6 and drinks are 2 for 1, you can ask for it on the rocks if you don't want a pina colada style drink.. excellent beach, sand is so soft, and peaceful/relaxing.. spent a lot of time there.. these guys are nazi's about their towels..!! if you "rent" one from the hut near the beach and don't return it by 5pm, they charge you 10$.. on that note, you have to wear a wrist bracelet while staying here.. can't say i really understand this practice, but every hotel on the island does it.. i say it labels you, because every time resort peddler knows where you're staying and probably what day you got there just by the color of your wristband.. sucks..!! room service was average - asked for a coffeemaker, as one was not in the room, but never received it.. maid service was ok, got fresh towels everyday.. probably won't stay here again, though..

Room Tip: marina rooms are across the street, no big deal to walk across for beach access..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank licinius7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Marketing Employee at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
The management at Island Seas appreciates your time with this review because it lets us know what we need to do to improve and make your vacation the best it can be. We are glad you enjoyed the beach…. Our crystal blue water and warm, soft sand is very relaxing. We apologize about the coffee maker … our rooms should all have one in them. The wristbands help our staff, whether it be the security guards, activity directors, or sales personnel, to identify our customers and anticipate their needs. We do not want to bother individuals with repetitive questions and these bands save time and let our visitors relax while having their needs met. We hope you come back and let us help you relax, rewind, and repeat your vacation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Fantastic beach and location. The room needed updating and the day before we left a new dishwasher, stove and microwave were installed. I'd highly recommend a day trip with HIDA at hida@experiencegrandbahamaisland.com! We wish we had done this earlier in our week to get local info and the lay of the land so to speak. Bahamians are some of the most friendly people on earth. Hopefully the economy will improve for them to allow more updates at the resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Marketing Employee at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your visit! You’re right… Bahamians are very friendly and love tourists. Our beach is perfect for relaxing, walking, playing in the sand, or enjoying some of the adventurous water sports which are offered, too. And the sunsets are unforgettable! We also agree that updates to the rooms are necessary. We are currently underway (as the arrival of your appliances demonstrates) a major renovation and we look forward to your return so that you can enjoy our updated rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
197 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

travelled in October with my daughter and two small children,1year and 5years.had a great time had two rooms 1 bedroom units with kitchen and living area.it was across street from beach however when we opened the blinds there was a waterway that fed off the ocean,and a yacht sat outside our window.the grounds are really nice the beach is just beautiful white sands and warm blue water.the pool really nice really large has a bridge going over it and a waterfall that gives a great back massage.they had a swim up bar,but it wasn't in use when we were there.the staff at the front desk and as u enter the lobby were all so friendly and so nice.they have a laundrymat there which was great,a small convenience store which is privately owned a restaurant inside and out.and a bar.the food was good however service not so good at the restaurants.very slow and not that attentive even though they tack on a 15percent tip.there is on the beach a family that cooks fish and lobsters fresh and has picnic tables,we didn't go but did talk to other people who raved about it.the rooms were very clean and very large.i would definetly go back ..also they have a shuttle that goes every hour to the center of town and once a week they have a supermarket run.

Room Tip: if possible depending on what u prefer either ocean view or across the street were the ocean inlet w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 89kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
2.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.0 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 16 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 16 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 stars 2,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
2.0 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 16 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 stars 868 reviews
1.8 mi away
Memories Grand Bahama Beach and Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Seas Resort

Property: Island Seas Resort
Address: 123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Seas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully furnished one and two bedroom condominium resort with full living/dining areas and private beach is set between the shopping and dining centers of Port Lucaya Marketplace, 2 miles away, and Freeport's International Bazaar, 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Island Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Seas Hotel Freeport
Island Seas Freeport
Island Seas Resort Freeport Bahamas
Island Seas Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing