We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful beach location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Seas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island Seas Resort
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Freeport
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful beach location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Fantastic beach and location. The room needed updating and the day before we left a new dishwasher, stove and microwave were installed. I'd highly recommend a day trip with HIDA at hida@experiencegrandbahamaisland.com! We wish we had done this earlier in our week to get local info and the lay of the land so to speak. Bahamians are some of the most friendly people on earth. Hopefully the economy will improve for them to allow more updates at the resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Marketing Employee at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your visit! You’re right… Bahamians are very friendly and love tourists. Our beach is perfect for relaxing, walking, playing in the sand, or enjoying some of the adventurous water sports which are offered, too. And the sunsets are unforgettable! We also agree that updates to the rooms are necessary. We are currently underway (as the arrival of your appliances demonstrates) a major renovation and we look forward to your return so that you can enjoy our updated rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    356
    262
    148
    187
See reviews for
339
339
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
225 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

travelled in October with my daughter and two small children,1year and 5years.had a great time had two rooms 1 bedroom units with kitchen and living area.it was across street from beach however when we opened the blinds there was a waterway that fed off the ocean,and a yacht sat outside our window.the grounds are really nice the beach is just beautiful white sands and warm blue water.the pool really nice really large has a bridge going over it and a waterfall that gives a great back massage.they had a swim up bar,but it wasn't in use when we were there.the staff at the front desk and as u enter the lobby were all so friendly and so nice.they have a laundrymat there which was great,a small convenience store which is privately owned a restaurant inside and out.and a bar.the food was good however service not so good at the restaurants.very slow and not that attentive even though they tack on a 15percent tip.there is on the beach a family that cooks fish and lobsters fresh and has picnic tables,we didn't go but did talk to other people who raved about it.the rooms were very clean and very large.i would definetly go back ..also they have a shuttle that goes every hour to the center of town and once a week they have a supermarket run.

Room Tip: if possible depending on what u prefer either ocean view or across the street were the ocean inlet w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 89kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We knew this was an older resort and we didn't pay Club Med prices so we were very happy that we got good value for our money. Our unit had granite counter tops and nice tile floors. The beach is awesome, crystal clear water. Pool is nice and clean. Comfortable bed. We found the service to be excellent. Our check-in person was Trenetta. I arrived in the midst of a severe allergic reaction to something and she called several times to check on me. Although this is not a hotel and you do not have daily maid service, our housekeepers, Debra and Tonya, came every day and changed our towels, took out our garbage, etc. Very nice women.

You are supplied with toilet paper, dishwashing liquid, dishwasher detergent, shampoo, soap , and body lotion. They give you a first night pack of coffee, tea, filters, etc. You need to bring or buy EVERYTHING else. You need to plan on eating out, paying for a taxi which is not cheap, about $40 round trip to the supermarket, or using their convenience store if you arrive before the free trip to the grocery store on Mondays. It is pretty well stocked but has no produce at all. Some of the prices are shocking....a bottle of garlic salt was over $7. We payed $8.50 for a 48 oz. can of orange juice, but for $3 you got a carton of eggs, which is not too bad. The supermarket, Soloman's is cheaper, but still more than home. There are 2 women that work in the convenience store, one is very nice. The tall one is not. Not even a hello or thank you. The only rude person we encountered.

We ate at Coconuts Bar. We had hamburgers and blackened chicken sandwiches with french fries. (Both $9.99) The food was good. Service was "island" time but friendly. If you like a drink, buy it at the airport. We had a drink at the bar and the folks that mention the "measuring device" were not kidding. The weakest drink we have ever had. The owners have shot themselves in the feet as the bar is mostly empty. The bartenders were very pleasant. There is nothing they can do, and tipping them won't help as it is not their choice. The cheapest drink on the menu, a screwdriver, was $5.50. It appears to me 1/2 oz of vodka in a small plastic cub of juice. MAYBE an ounce, but no more. The local beer is $5. You can walk to the right on the beach and get a good drink at Gina's. The local rum, Ricardo's is good. FYI, a litre at the airport was $8.70. The same at the liquor store by Soloman's was $14.50.

We were offered marijuana several times by a young man who hawks one of the food stands on the beach. As we are in our 60's, that seems kind of dumb. Just say no, no problem.

Our garbage disposal backed up and was promptly fixed.

If you plan to cook, check carefully when you arrive. I had no coffee maker but TWO MICROWAVES! I had nice quality cookware but no frying pan. They promptly supplied me.

I am a super early riser and I saw security walking around in the wee hours. I felt perfectly safe. Please note there are no elevators.

Internet is fine sometimes and very slow at others. I paid the $70 and found that early evening is the worst time.

All-in-all. We enjoyed this and would return.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room across the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debbie-in-Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

The beach and pool were fabulous. The restaurant food was horrible. All food is expensive. The room felt cheap. Ice maker did nit work. No coffee maker when we arruved. One ac was broken and a second sounded like a kid on drums. Peoplke were very nice

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We went to Island Seas Resort for one week. The room we were in could use a pick me up, especially the bathroom. The service staff were friendly but you had to ask to get extra toilet paper (which I found odd). There was a complimentary shuttle to the market which was really convenient. We made contact with a taxi driver, from the airport, who was very helpful an took us anywhere we wanted to go at a very reasonable price. The beach was lovely and the grounds were very well kept.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fitzfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This property was a very nice surprise. We enjoyed a 2-bedroom apartment for 2 weeks. The two-bedroom units do not have an ocean front location, so keep that in mind when booking. They do however, have nice garden views with varying views (or peaks) at the ocean. We were in building G which was furthest from the ocean, but had a nice view straight down the pool to the ocean. Great balcony, although a little small was very enjoyable for our evening meals. Furniture is a little worn, but I hear they are working on that. Beds are okay - hope they upgrade with a better quality mattress. Shower pressure is not great. Units were clean and spacious. We would come back to this property again as the overall experience was very good.

The grounds are very well manicured, pools are well taken care of. They have great pavilion next to the pool with a bar, tables and chairs. Several grouped palm trees on the beach for shade from the hot tropical sun. The ocean was magnificent during our stay. Light green clear water. Shallow, low waves, a great place to float the day away.

They do offer several activities a day on the property. They provide a free shuttle to Port Lucaya. Although, I think a car is necessary to really enjoy the sites of the island without breaking the bank as tours can add up pretty quickly.

Room Tip: Rooms all have different advantages. Take a look at a map to see what your priorities are. For us, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We went to island seas resort in the beginning of September.2013. Had a very nice time... This trip was nice and relaxing, The grounds are very clean. The room was nice, some of the units need a refresh, but not dirty... we had 3 units, so we were able to see an updates version and the older version. Staff was very friendly... The time of year we went was off season which made it very nice.. Happy hour drinks from 4-6 pm. buy one get one at the coconuts bar. The bar closes around 10 pm, so after that, there was little action going on which made it nice for quality time with your spouse or loved ones.... If you go ask for a cab driver Named Henry.. great guy we used him all week for tours.. etc.. he's been there for 30 years. Thanks for a nice stay, and we will be back for some more Rest and relaxation...

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the courtyard.. they do have rooms across the street, I don't think I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcope83831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Marketing Employee at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Glad you had a relaxing week with us, and thrilled you’re coming back! We are in the process of renovating our units and we do appreciate your patience through this process. Our island visitors often arrive stressed and overworked, so we are so happy when we hear that our guests were able to relax, rewind, and will return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
2.5 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.0 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 15 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 15 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
2.0 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 15 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Seas Resort

Property: Island Seas Resort
Address: 123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Seas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully furnished one and two bedroom condominium resort with full living/dining areas and private beach is set between the shopping and dining centers of Port Lucaya Marketplace, 2 miles away, and Freeport's International Bazaar, 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Island Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Seas Hotel Freeport
Island Seas Freeport
Island Seas Resort Freeport Bahamas
Island Seas Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing