We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot not great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Seas Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Island Seas Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice spot not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We went to Island Seas Resort for one week. The room we were in could use a pick me up, especially the bathroom. The service staff were friendly but you had to ask to get extra toilet paper (which I found odd). There was a complimentary shuttle to the market which was really convenient. We made contact with a taxi driver, from the airport, who was very helpful an took us anywhere we wanted to go at a very reasonable price. The beach was lovely and the grounds were very well kept.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fitzfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    354
    260
    147
    181
See reviews for
332
335
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This property was a very nice surprise. We enjoyed a 2-bedroom apartment for 2 weeks. The two-bedroom units do not have an ocean front location, so keep that in mind when booking. They do however, have nice garden views with varying views (or peaks) at the ocean. We were in building G which was furthest from the ocean, but had a nice view straight down the pool to the ocean. Great balcony, although a little small was very enjoyable for our evening meals. Furniture is a little worn, but I hear they are working on that. Beds are okay - hope they upgrade with a better quality mattress. Shower pressure is not great. Units were clean and spacious. We would come back to this property again as the overall experience was very good.

The grounds are very well manicured, pools are well taken care of. They have great pavilion next to the pool with a bar, tables and chairs. Several grouped palm trees on the beach for shade from the hot tropical sun. The ocean was magnificent during our stay. Light green clear water. Shallow, low waves, a great place to float the day away.

They do offer several activities a day on the property. They provide a free shuttle to Port Lucaya. Although, I think a car is necessary to really enjoy the sites of the island without breaking the bank as tours can add up pretty quickly.

Room Tip: Rooms all have different advantages. Take a look at a map to see what your priorities are. For us, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We went to island seas resort in the beginning of September.2013. Had a very nice time... This trip was nice and relaxing, The grounds are very clean. The room was nice, some of the units need a refresh, but not dirty... we had 3 units, so we were able to see an updates version and the older version. Staff was very friendly... The time of year we went was off season which made it very nice.. Happy hour drinks from 4-6 pm. buy one get one at the coconuts bar. The bar closes around 10 pm, so after that, there was little action going on which made it nice for quality time with your spouse or loved ones.... If you go ask for a cab driver Named Henry.. great guy we used him all week for tours.. etc.. he's been there for 30 years. Thanks for a nice stay, and we will be back for some more Rest and relaxation...

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the courtyard.. they do have rooms across the street, I don't think I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcope83831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Marketing Employee at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Glad you had a relaxing week with us, and thrilled you’re coming back! We are in the process of renovating our units and we do appreciate your patience through this process. Our island visitors often arrive stressed and overworked, so we are so happy when we hear that our guests were able to relax, rewind, and will return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
340 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This resort is right on a beautiful beach in Freeport. It was a girl's trip so we were very happy not needing to rent a car and drive on the wrong side of the road (for us!). Taxi fare was $22 for two people, and $3 for each additional quest to and from the airport. We made friends on the plane ride over and got a group of 7 to go request a taxi for a grand total of $37 for all of us.

Once we arrived at the resort, there was no need for a car. There were free daily shuttles to Port Lucaya Marketplace every day from 9:30 AM till 6:30 PM. A free shuttle to the grocery store was on Monday. We went to Zorba's at the Marketplace for breakfast our first day. They serve breakfast until 1:00 PM. For $6.95 I had 3 huge, fluffy pancakes, 2 eggs, and 3 links of sausage. A can of Coke there was $1.00 and a 20 oz bottle was $1.25. FYI, free wi-fi at the Marketplace.

We found the Seagrape Restaurant at the resort to be so-so food with slow, poor service. We arrived 3 minutes late for breakfast on our first morning and they couldn't care less to accommodate us. We did have to eat dinner there on Sunday night since the last shuttle back from the Marketplace leaves there at 6:40 PM.

All excursions you book (snorkeling and dinner cruise for us) had pick up and drop off service as well.

Best meals we had were right on the beach. On the west side of the beach (go right when you hit the beach) we found this little blue trailer that served the best lobster! (see pic) A (2) lobster tail dinner with rice, beans and plantains only cost $15. If you just wanted the 2 tails, then it was only $10. I heard the grouper and jerk pork was great as well. I kept going back for the lobster! On the east side of the beach (go left when you hit the beach) you will find lots of picnic tables where "Chef Bernie" (with the help of his wife!) will cook you up another wonderful lobster dinner for $15 (see pic). He also does a bon-fire meal as well. He will come to the beach and introduce himself to you while enjoying the beach.

Solicitors were politely asked to leave by the security. We found it to be very safe and would walk the beach in the morning. The resort grounds are well maintained and very pretty. Security was always seen walking the property.

Happy Hour daily from 4-6 PM. Selected drinks were 2 for 1 and were only $6.

As for the resort, no it is not a gold or silver leaf resort. With this in mind, my expectations were not too high. The beds were hard, the pillows as well, and although the air conditioning kept us nice and cool, it's very loud at night and I would recommend some ear plugs. Bring an eye mask as well, as only one of our rooms had black-out curtains and it was very bright in the room. Few cosmetic items needed repair, but it was not enough for me to worry about. (Not a gold leaf resort, remember?)

Pool towels were few and far between even in the off season. I'd hate to see what it's like in peak season.

People at the front desk were always nice, although I did not get any warm fuzzies from the concierge. She was not very happy when she learned we pre-booked our excursions. Also, one day while waiting for our excursion van to pick us up, I noticed the American flag was hung upside down. My friend went in to inform the front desk who quickly took care of the problem. However, the ‘gentleman’ who came to fix it, grumbled as he walked in front of me saying, “I’ve been doing this for 40 years and the one day I get it wrong….” It was obvious he wanted me to hear him. A simple “I’m sorry for the oversight” would have been a nicer way to handle it. Who knows, maybe he’s been hanging it wrong for 40 years! Anyway, his comment was very unprofessional.

Room key safe was free for Interval Internation people.

It was extra to have wi-fi in your room, however, there was a business office that had free wi-fi for you to use.

No alarm clocks in the rooms and you'll need to bring your own paper towels (thanks to those of you who mentioned this on tripadvisor!!!)

There is also a small convenience store on the property to help you get by until the Monday grocery shuttle.

Even though this was not a silver or gold leaf resort, I would definitely return. Yes, the accommodations were not that of a Marriott or a Westin, but it is worth a visit for the convenience of the shuttles and the beautiful beach (and cheap lobster!). It was truly a relaxing vacation not having to rent a car. I would highly recommend this resort for older couples, women traveling alone, not to mention couples. The beach was calm for children although there were not many activities at the resort for them to do. The highlight on the trip home, was going through U.S. Customs in Freeport since you fly in on the smaller planes that cannot reach the upper deck in Miami (where the gates are that go through customs).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janie4359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Marketing Employee at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review your trip and our resort. Through comments like yours, we learn what is working well and fix what isn’t. We are glad you enjoyed the resort and used the shuttles to get about when you wanted an excursion. Safety is always a concern and we are glad that you and your friends felt secure at all times. As we renovate our rooms, we will keep your suggestions in mind. We have new furniture and appliances being installed daily. We love hearing that our guests were able to relax, and we especially like hearing that you are returning. Relax, revive, repeat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I've owned a timeshare at this location since 2001. I really enjoy returning to this location because it feels like coming home.

It sits right on the ocean and provides many water activities. The staff is friendly and personable. The units are well maintained and they provide owners a free 1 day grocery store transportation service.

While they provide on-site entertainment during the week, it's more a players choice to join in. It would be nice to have the staff more involved with encouraging participation.

It's a great location for families, friends and couples. Solos will enjoy the same experience as you can do as much or as little as you choose and still enjoy being in paradise.

Room Tip: Cars are not necessary as they organize daily shuttles to the tourist areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is my 17 years going to Island Seas Resort and i always enjoy the Friends and all so kind to help you to enjoy our stay at Island Seas The Food are so good and all of the services on the beach is so great. The rooms are always clean and smell great.
I higly recommed This place to any who like a peacefully

Room Tip: all of the rooms are good and safe
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Our week at the Island Sees Resort was ok. Enough towels. Very nice beach (in comparison to other beaches on the island). Very nice grounds, actually better than the units. We had a unit with a nice view but none of the appliances worked properly. The toaster only toasted one side of the bread; the dishwasher worked only once (after maintenance man came), then died again; the free wifi never worked; the paid wifi worked at prehistoric speed and with many lapses. The toilet needed several maintenance visits, the refrigerator made helicopter-like noises at a certain time at night. There were not enough dishes and pans. The staff was very friendly and helpful but there was only so much they could do. The meals at the restaurant very supersized and not very tasty. The smaller dishes at the bar were good. The tennis court was a disaster. The constant taxi fare of $22 (for 4) was getting costly and then the incessant requests for tips were annoying. The whole island needs a huge infusion of money to resurrect itself from decaying. The resort needs money to reinvent itself. It has huge potential but lacks a lot of TLC.
We had traded into this resort and were a little disappointed.

Room Tip: Best view is from higher floor. Stay in the main part of the resort, not across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christiane740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Marketing Employee at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your review as this allows us to reinforce our strong qualities and make improvements where necessary. We apologize for your experience with our appliances. We are in the process of a million dollar renovation at Island Seas. New appliances for the units have been ordered and many have already been installed. We also are replacing some of the furniture and we appreciate your patience as we go through the units with our remodeling. Our evening activities are drawing large crowds and you might enjoy watching a movie poolside or joining in with our karaoke fans. We will give our tennis courts more attention and make sure they get blown off on a daily basis. We look forward to showing off the improvements at Island Seas when you return. Thank you again for your input, and please come back to relax and rewind with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
2.5 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.0 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
1.8 mi away
Memories Grand Bahama Beach and Casino Resort
2.0 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Seas Resort

Property: Island Seas Resort
Address: 123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Seas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully furnished one and two bedroom condominium resort with full living/dining areas and private beach is set between the shopping and dining centers of Port Lucaya Marketplace, 2 miles away, and Freeport's International Bazaar, 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Island Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Seas Hotel Freeport
Island Seas Freeport
Island Seas Resort Freeport Bahamas
Island Seas Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing