We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be back. Resort needs a major overhaul!”
Review of Island Seas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Seas Resort
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just came back from spending 7 days at Island Seas Resort. Our family of 5 stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment across the road facing the marina. This was a timeshare exchange through Interval. We had to be moved three times before finding a unit that was acceptable. The landscape area is beautiful, but once you get into the units that’s another story. We found broken air conditioners, old TVs, broken-dusty blinds, broken remote controls. Maintenance is poor. We had to call three times to get pillows, sheets for the sofa bed, new remote control and someone to fix the living room air conditioner. We found garbage around the pool area that should have been cleaned sooner. Housekeeping is awful. The floors are dirty and well as the toilets. They come daily to change the towels, and that’s it.

The resort has a TERRIBLE problem with the beach towels. There are no beach towels at 9 am, or 12 pm or 3 pm. They were all the time out of towels. Please invest in beach towels so people do not have to bring the unit towels to the pool/beach. I have never seen something like this in any other resort.
The activity lady is very mediocre. The resort has an activity schedule for kids, but the activity lady does not show up for the kids activities.

People are polite, but not friendly. The beach is very, very nice and clean. The grocery store is very expensive, it’s better to go to Solomon supermarket, about 5 minutes from the resort.

The resort needs a major overhaul. Staff needs to wake up, realize that they depend on tourists and drop the do not care attitude.

We liked the Bahamas, but we won’t be back to this resort. This is a 1-2 star resort!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank USMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

536 - 542 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

I'll start with an important caveat: we joined a group of friends at the Island Seas, one of whom was a timeshare owner. I'm not sure if that's why we weren't pressured to buy a timeshare in the way that other reviewers say they were, but we didn't attend any kind of meeting during our stay and we weren't asked once to invest.

The Island Seas is good for a relaxing beach vacation if you're equipped with your own fun. Since we traveled in a group, we had a great time. Singles would be bored to tears, and even couples might find the location too remote and the activities too sparse (there's a bar, a restaurant, a general store, and a pool).

Positives: The beach is well patrolled, well equipped, and well manicured. The employees are friendly. And the entertainment is boisterous: we had a blast at the Thursday karaoke night.

Not-so-positives: The rooms are OK, but nothing special. The beds felt old and knotty, the bathrooms are clean, but worn. And while there are shuttles to take you to nearby attractions like Port Lucaya, it's at least a 10-minute drive to get anywhere; I didn't find anything walkable.

A note about food: Bring your own snacks! Prices for goods like peanuts or breakfast cereals that are common in the U.S. are considerably higher in Freeport. (We paid $10 for a 12-ounce box of Rice Krispies.)

Also, the restaurant serves a good breakfast and dinner, but check the hours — it closes for a chunk of the day.

Room Tip: Buildings I, J, and K are across the street from the rest of the complex. A friend was assigned a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sweetbippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at the Island Seas mid May - GREAT weather! We prefer condo resorts, such as this property is - units are condominium apartments, rather than a normal hotel.

We stayed on the marina, just a cross the main driveway from the beach area. The beach is beautiful, and the tiki bar and pool are nice. The onsite restaurant is OK, and there are two beach kiosk restaurants near the property on the beach. Th staff is nice (but they move at Island time except for one lady nicknamed Speedy!); the staff set up island tours and a car rental for us.

The unit was not luxurious, but rather a nice, well equipped apartment. We cooked breakfast each day, did the fish fry one evening, cooked on the resort grills one night (the fish that we caught that day!), and had dinner at Port Lucaya twice.

We had a great time, and we would recommend Island Seas and Grand Bahama. But - A condo resort isn't for everyone - if you want room service, then you need to stay at a full service resort. If you like a great value, large, comfortable, family oriented accommodations, then a condo resort like Island Seas is for you.

If you travel with kids, take some dvds (players in units). There is satellite cable tv also. There is WIFI at the pool bar - a great place to have a beer and cactch up on email. We are readers - take a book or two, relax and read on your balcony.

Room Tip: Make sure that you go to the grocery store at Port Lucaya to stock up. Take some basics with you - c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Since I travel often, my expectations were above average for this trip. I was, unfortunately, somewhat disappointed with the accomodations. Food and drinks are okay. Loved the beach and the children enjoyed the pool daily. The room floor I requested weeks in advance and then reconfirmed again on the day prior to arrival were not honored which was the first major disappointment as I had planned this as a first intl. trip for my mother and wanted to impress her.
We made the best of it. Housekeeping was below average, by Day 3/4 there were ants in the suite. Water pressure was poor, no remotes for the TVs were onsite, there were never enough towels left when there was daily light housekeeping each day, and the Main Office was always out of stock on beach towels. I suppose you get what you pay for. The resort was interested in my purchasing a time share there, but I could have been much more impressed before I even considered this as an option.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tysgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were at ISR in late May, 2013 on an Interval exchange. The property itself was tired, but adequate. Looked as though maintenance had not been a high priority. Food on site was nothing special, happy hour each day was pleasant- staff was very friendly and helpful. On site grocery store was very expensive. Resort did not furnish coffee filters nor paper towels, so be prepared to either take your own or pay a lot for both. Small pool, but probably the best walking beach ever. Beach front staff very helpful. Easy beach to enjoy. Lots of Bahamian history in Freeport. Taxi drivers very helpful. It had been a number of years since we had been in Bahamas, and I had forgotten the graciousness of Bahamian people. Would probably go again with a good Interval exchange just for the relaxing time on the beach. Maid service not consistent, and floors were less than clean. Nice shuttle several times a day to Port Lucaya, and once a week, a shuttle is provided to a supermarket.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I just got back from a week at the resort. We stayed as a time-share - and were put across the road from the main resort, in one of the "newer" buildings. The unit we had - each room had minor, irritating issues which I would not have expected. Such as:

* Kitchen - not enough bowls, plates, etc to serve 6. Can opener didn't work. Freezer dripping/melting/refreezing so water dripped into the refrigerator and the ice froze into a solid block, not all the eyes on the stove worked so hard to cook.

* Bathroom - low water pressure felt like taking a shower being spit upon. I had to pick a stream and ignore all the others. The toilet didn't have a lid, so every time I pulled a towel off the bar, one of them usually fell straight into the toilet. No central air, so the bathroom gets really hot.

* Bedroom - very cheap, crappy, uncomfortable mattresses covered in plastic - so it sounded like sitting down on a stack of pamper diapers every time, which probably would have been more comfortable. Cheap, lumpy pillows. Broken air conditioner cover which fell off and wouldn't direct air where you wanted it (bed). A fan so out of balance it was impossible to run it on high. The sliding door to the balcony wouldn't close - I had to lift it up and move it a few inches and repeat - then had to forbid family to open. No remote for the tiny TV.

* Living room - ceiling fan wall switch didn't operate correctly - had to find the "sweet spot" of not quite on, not quite off, in order for fan to operate. Tiny TV (my computer screens at work are bigger). A dim light over the dining table - we swapped the bulb with the hallway light.

* General - grossly dirty floor - so I had to scrape the dirt from my feet to get in bed.

* "In Unit Wifi" - actually an antenna across the parking lot from the building, aimed at the building, so the signal only usable in half the unit. $80/week wifi access - ONE device. Poor technical support.

* Resort in general - landscape nice, staff average, amenities average, not interested in the "silly tourist activities" put on by the staff. The beach was nice, but not enough chairs. The pool/hot tube was average. Bar staff "island time" slow service.

I don't know how the price compares - as our friends got this as a time share. I wouldn't recommend spending any significant amount of money to stay here.

Room Tip: Mention you have knee trouble climbing stairs - so you're not stuck on a third floor unit with n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pseudocyber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at the Island Seas Resort in Grand Bahama Island in June 2013 and we were very pleased with how friendly and helpful the staff was. This one is a small resort with one restaurant and one bar/restaurant, one good sized pool and a small convenience store (expensive). It's a great place for families with small kids because the resort is contained and your kids are within site at all times. The two bedroom condo we stayed at was VERY spacious and comfortable with two nice balconies, and the staff was there every day to bring clean towels and clean the place. The condo was very run-down and in need of major updating. However, everything worked. If you are not looking for "fancy" then the place is fine. The big advantage to this resort is that it is RIGHT ON the most beautiful beach of the island; the beach is practically a private beach to this resort as there are no other resorts surrounding the hotel. There isn't much to do on the island all together other than diving/snorkeling and a few good restaurants in Luqaya (Zorbas has really good Greek food). If you are looking for a quiet get-away this is a good place, short trip from Florida.

Room Tip: If you only need one bedroom and a living room, then there are several rooms with AMAZING beach view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel2themax-CCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
1.7 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
247 reviews
2.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.8 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
3,020 reviews
5.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
2.1 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 14 in Freeport
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Seas Resort

Address: 123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: $140 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Seas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully furnished one and two bedroom condominium resort with full living/dining areas and private beach is set between the shopping and dining centers of Port Lucaya Marketplace, 2 miles away, and Freeport's International Bazaar, 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Island Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Seas Hotel Freeport
Island Seas Freeport
Island Seas Resort Freeport Bahamas
Island Seas Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing