We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Seas Resort - A quiet getaway”
Review of Island Seas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island Seas Resort
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at the Island Seas Resort in Grand Bahama Island in June 2013 and we were very pleased with how friendly and helpful the staff was. This one is a small resort with one restaurant and one bar/restaurant, one good sized pool and a small convenience store (expensive). It's a great place for families with small kids because the resort is contained and your kids are within site at all times. The two bedroom condo we stayed at was VERY spacious and comfortable with two nice balconies, and the staff was there every day to bring clean towels and clean the place. The condo was very run-down and in need of major updating. However, everything worked. If you are not looking for "fancy" then the place is fine. The big advantage to this resort is that it is RIGHT ON the most beautiful beach of the island; the beach is practically a private beach to this resort as there are no other resorts surrounding the hotel. There isn't much to do on the island all together other than diving/snorkeling and a few good restaurants in Luqaya (Zorbas has really good Greek food). If you are looking for a quiet get-away this is a good place, short trip from Florida.

Room Tip: If you only need one bedroom and a living room, then there are several rooms with AMAZING beach view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel2themax-CCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

548 - 554 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

My 3 grown daughters and myself spent 5 days at this resort...What a wonderful. relaxing, beautiful place this was..We enjoyed the staff ALOT!!!!!! We had a blast at karaoke..the beach was stunning and the snorkeling wonderful...We had a 3rd floor 2 bedroom suite over looking the courtyard...other than a little towel issue everything was perfect...!!! The only thing I was disappointed in was the excursions it seems ALOT of them don't run everyday of the week...just Tuesdays and Thursdays and we came on a Thursday and left on a Tuesday:(....They should really update their excursion schedules both on the internet and at the booth...we where sooo disappointed because we had planned on doing a few excursions.
We visited the marketplace 2 times...a lot of vendors with all the same things just a few dollars different in prices...There is a Harley Davidson store there and some nice jewelry stores..There is a wonderful little cart there that serves the best margaritas....We didn't go to the grocery store but the hotel store was quite adequate for what we needed...A 1/2 gallon of milk was 4.95, a loaf of bread was 4.00 just to give you a little idea of what things cost.
We went to Micheles on the beach and had conch salad and red snapper was good then we went to Bernies on the beach and had lobster...very good but be prepared they are just little shacks and lean- toos and all make shift tables and chairs...quite an experience....quite unique.
We will DEFINATELY return to this resort again....THANKS ISLAND SEAS RESORT!!!!

Room Tip: 3rd floor Grouper Building has an awesome view of the courtyard and ocean....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sportygirl_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just returned from a week at ISR, ended up going using our friends time share. We did do the 90 min. presentation (which is really over 3hrs), ended up buying a timeshare, very happy with our decision. Talked with many other happy "owners" there which was reassuring. When checking in you will be asked to do the presentation, your choice. At checkin we were put in the "kingfish" building which is across the street along with the "jewelfish" & "inia" buildings. These are the marina view rooms, was not really happy with being put there, feels very away from the action, having to walk so far to the beach & pool. Our room was clean, nothing extravagent, very plain but living room furniture needed replacing soon, worn down. With our timeshare purchase were were moved to ocean front in the "coral" building which was where we would have liked to have been anyhow. Just an FYI, the "coral & dolphin" buidlings are the only ocean front & all have only 1 bdrm. The room was comparable to the kingfish building only the furniture was somewhat newer, room was clean. Again a bit rough around the edges, definalty not a perfect posh room, had its dings/dents. Do not expect 5 star here, it is comfortable & functional. The resort is quite nice, it is coming back & and from what i understand & saw the resort is trying to work on upgrading. The staff are all very friendly, hard to walk anywere without someone saying hi to you. Heard of other issues some guests had but they were taken care of promptly, we did not have any issues with our room. I also used their spa for a massage, the ladies were quite professional & they have tried to make a pleasent space for the spa which is located in 2 rooms above the main building. We went to paradise cove for snokeling (which was amazing), but very busy with tourists, and found that Island Seas beach was superior to the beach at paradise cove. The beach at IS is the nicest beach i have been on. Soft white sand, clear blue water, & plenty of room for your beach chair. Towels available to guests till 5pm every day. I did not use the pool (more of beach bum) but looked nice, swim up bar, waterfall, pretty large in size. Just a walk to either side of the resort will get you some off resort dining. Bernies to the east & Micheles to the west, did not visit Micheles but heard good things, ate at Bernies several times & that is fun & unique. If you want fresh fish, go there. Resort has 2 resturants, seagrape (open for breakfast & dinner) & cocunuts (open for lunch & serve drinks all day) Food was just average & do expect prices to be almost double in the states, its that way even at the grocery, so be prepared. Dining service is a bit slow but it seems everyone wants to eat at the same time & they do their best but with only one resurant open at each dining time its hard to accomodate all the hungry guests. We often said to each other "we're on Bahama time". It just takes a bit longer but thats why we liked it; laid back relaxing time. The resort did offer some activites throughout the day which we did not participate. My only REAL compaint was the gym which consisted of 2 treadmills, an eliptical, stationary bike, & some freeweights. One treadmill was completely broken & the other would work for 3-4 minutes then cut out & wouldn't work, after 5 minutes i could get it to work by flipping the trip switch on the front & i could get another 3-4 minutes of run time. So I did my best & alternated between eliptical 5-10min/treadmill3-4min. Very frustrating! Freeweights were crumbling, never seen such old freeweights. Did have maintenace come in to investigate but there's nothing they can do for it. The whole gym is in need of a major overhaul which I let the front desk know my thoughts & the timeshare sales people. They did tell me the gym is on the list of repairs & is in line for updating (i hope sooner than later). Overall though i would totally recommend a stay at Island Seas if you want a relaxing, pleasant vacation.

Room Tip: If possible request the courtyard, ocean view, or ocean front rooms if possible, marina view rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizH95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a nice, quiet resort on a beautiful beach on Grand Bahamas Island. Our overall experience was very good. The beach, pool, room, and facility overall was very nice. We are not into the packed beach "tourist" experience so this was lovely. The wait staff and dining options were our only complaints really. I travel enough to understand "Island time", but the waitresses took it to the extreme. It was very frustrating to order and then sit for an hour waiting for something as simple as chicken nuggets and fries to come back out and the menu lacked healthy options.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My grown daughter, my husband, and I visited this resort the 1st week of June, 2013. We had a good time and enjoyed our stay. Because of some of the reviews I had read, I was a bit nervous about it. We did do the presentation although I didn't want to because of the reviews. However, our salesman (Oscar) couldn't have been nicer. We did not buy, but we made a friend and got a hug every time we saw him. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. We asked for an ocean view when we got there and saw that we didn't have one and they did accommodate us. The room was very spacious. We did have to make 3 maintenance calls but they were always taken care of promptly. I wouldn't consider it a 5 star hotel but then maybe that's what you get in the Bahamas. (After all, If I wanted all the amenities I could have stayed home.) The beach was beautiful and couldn't have been better. Our two favorite tours were the steak and lobster dinner cruise and the bonfire on the beach. The resort is somewhat of a quiet place.

Room Tip: I would not have been happy with a courtyard room so would suggest asking for ocean or pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donner10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I thought I had already written a review on this tine share, but it appears that it did not go in. I wanted to say a few very important things and touch on a few issues based on other comments made on trip advisor.
First of all, we have been going to island seas for four consecutive years .this year we will be staying for a month. We began by purchasing a 1BR on Court Yard view. We went to the 90 minute presentation, which it actually took over 3 hours and ended up involving the then Sales Manager, who now is the General Manager( very much deserved promotion). My husband and I don't look lightly at purchasing anything, much less a time share. It is a second home and the price is just about the price of a new car or a down payment on a house. We made sure that all our questions were answered and that we understood every statement on the contract, including small print or not. We also made sure that we took full advantage of our meeting with the Verification Manager who is also a pleasure to deal with as a professional and a representative of the resort . We know own 2 ocean front weeks. That should tell you how much we love our "second" home.
This is not a HOTEL! This is a time share and travelers need to carefully read about this and other time shares, you will find what to expect in terms of amenities, age group appropriate activities, weather conditions when you plan to travel, and what the resort offers in terms of room(s) amenities, ask about when /what maid service is going to be given, then you won't have any surprises and therefore no complaints. Island Seas Resort
Is the best time share we've been privileged to visit. We own other time shares and we always deposit those weeks to use them at Island Seas. My husband and I have discussed,many times, in visiting other resorts , but we coming back to Island Seas. Now it's really our "second"home. We know everyone, their families, their work schedules, how many jobs they have( usually at least two) to make ends meet, and we care about them deeply.
We know what to expect and when, we cook and clean our room, we make the bed daily, except for once a week when the maid service does it and cleans all the rooms.
Otherwise , they take out the trash daily, change towels if you have them on the floor. We usually don't change towels daily, we don't need to, and just like at home, we like to conserve energy by not using hot water,etc.
So, our opinion is that this resort does not deserve negative comments if you ask what to expect.
You don't have to cook there, you can go out to eat, or eat in the resort's restaurants, you can change your towels daily, have the trash taken out daily, but you will have to make your bed daily,etc, except the once a week I discussed earlier.
In any case, read up about this or any other resort you plan to visit and know what to expect. Call the resort and ask questions.!!!! The membership department is wonderful and works wonders when you get in and get to your room and review( based on a list they give you) if you are missing any items or something is not in proper working order.
Also please fill out the evaluation sheet before you leave . They do read it!
Don't we love this place?!!!!'

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank borgesnany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I went to this resort with my girlfriend and her family and it was a wonderful vacation indeed. It was very relaxing, not overcrowded at all, and the staff was fantastic. The DJ was a great guy and introduced himself and asked what people wanted to hear, the bartender Ritchie was also an awesome dude! He made great drinks and was just a nice person to talk too while on vacation and even had to add him on FaceBook to stay in touch. The beach is beautiful no rocks like some other islands. The only thing that would make this place better is if they added an all inclusive plan! Everyone likes an all you can drink price for vacation haha The resort was also a short taxi ride from the downtown market which was a cool place to visit. I would definitely go back to this resort if I planned on going back to the Bahamas anytime soon.

Room Tip: ocean front is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfonso M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
2.0 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
251 reviews
2.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.0 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
3,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#3 of 14 in Freeport
1,004 reviews
5.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
0.6 mi away
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Seas Resort

Address: 123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: $139 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Seas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully furnished one and two bedroom condominium resort with full living/dining areas and private beach is set between the shopping and dining centers of Port Lucaya Marketplace, 2 miles away, and Freeport's International Bazaar, 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Island Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Seas Hotel Freeport
Island Seas Freeport
Island Seas Resort Freeport Bahamas
Island Seas Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing