We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“QUIET BEACH, FRIENDLY STAFF, GOOD DEAL FOR PRICE” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Seas Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Island Seas Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“QUIET BEACH, FRIENDLY STAFF, GOOD DEAL FOR PRICE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Let me say that we enjoyed our stay. Everyone was friendly and welcoming. Even met a few locals! They were very funny! We visit Freeport once a year or so. This is a good place to stay for the price that you pay. You can't find that on the beach! The rooms definitly need updating. They are older rooms but they are huge! FULL KITCHEN, BREAKFAST ROOM, LIVING ROOM, AND SEPERATE BEDROOM. All of our future stays will be here. THIS PLACE IS NOT NEAR MOST OF THE ACTION BUT A BUS LEAVES FROM THE HOTEL OR YOU CAN TAKE A TAXI TO THE MAIN TOWN CENTER AREA. The hotel is an older hotel, but is a great option for people traveling with children. Once again, don't expect Four Seasons rooms but they are older and are twice as large. The beach area is clean, and there are water sports avaiable at the resort. WE WILL RETURN!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FDSJR1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    363
    275
    158
    196
See reviews for
352
359
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We booked this trip with the cruise and stayed an extra two nights. This was our first time not choosing an all-inclusive vacation and we loved it!!

We had a large, clean room (minus the floors had not been washed in a very long time. My feet were extremely dirty after walking around the room for about five minutes) with everything you needed inside.

We went to the local markets and spoke with locals. They taught us how to create their local dishes and we ate almmost every meal in our room.

We rented a car and drove to the National Park and the gardens as well as int Port Lucaya and the beach.

One night we went to the "fish fry" which was the best night of the trip. Tasted fresh conch salad and fish with pea n rice and danced the night away. There is also a local kareoke bar near the hotel with the most friendly staff you will ever meet.

The hotel was very accomodating and my only other complaint besides my dirty floor was having to go to the main area to use wifi.

I also reccommend contacting the People to People program. They will connect you with somone who lives on the island and they will show you things other than the typical touristy things.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We took our almost 1 year old to Island Seas Resort from Sept. 30 - Oct. 6. It was the ideal vacation spot for our little family. We met the nicest people on the airplane and they continued on to the resort with us and many left at the same time too. Check in was a breeze. We were a little early, but they let us use the room designated for cruises since we had a little one and needed a bit of privacy.

We prepaid for the all inclusive plan for 5 out of the 7 days we were there. It was perfect since we didn't go very far from the resort due to naps. Our little guy is a ton of fun when he's well rested. And quickly became a very popular face around the resort. He made so many friends from other vacationers to all of the staff. Everyone was so nice and helpful. It was also the slow season so maybe less stress on the staff? Not sure there is any other reason for previous complaints. Everyone we encountered was friendly and fun. Posted pics of staff and baby below too :)

The room we were in was quite nice too. Although there was mold around the bath tub, which we'd only notice because the little guy had to take baths. Otherwise if you're just showering, it's no big deal I guess. I had also reserved a crib that worked fine for the baby. The rest of the condo was spacious. The floors (as expected for a beach area) were dirty. Our little guy crawled around and had dark grey hands, feet, and knees afterwards. We laid down a sheet and it worked fine. Did laundry and few times, it's $1.35 per wash and per dryer.

The light entertainment at night was great. Karaoke night was the loudest and was completely packed. However didn't hear a thing from the room, so baby slept great. And it ended around 9:30pm anyways. This is definitely not a party resort, which again was perfect for us. Great for some R&R.

The timeshare presentation was fairly painless. We are timeshare owners so didn't need another one, but the perks were nice: free breakfast (much later on tho), 2 small bottles of rum, 6 t-shirts, and glass bottom boat excursion. Which ended up being pretty fun and hubby got to snorkel for $10.

Tips: If coming with a little one, bring a baby monitor. We have a Summer Infant baby video monitor and it worked from our room 2041 to the bar at Coconuts.My husband and I were able to dine together most nights at Coconuts.
he all inclusive was nice, but after 2-3 days the food is no longer exciting. Also they closed the indoor restaurant and only Coconuts served food from both the entire time.
The ac in the bedroom blows right on you, we brought 2 chairs in from the dining table and placed towels on them to divert the air. It worked wonders!
Use the comforter as a mattress pad as the bed was not comfy. Bring your own sobakawa pillow or something else small because the pillows there were lumpy and not comfy either.

Lots of thanks to the wonderful staff (Vaneese, Loraine, Renauldo, Rochelle, Timmy, and everyone encountered) at Island Seas! And a special 'hello' to all the wonderful people we met on vacation: Ronnie from Nova Scotia, Deb & Joe, Suzanne & hubby 'Happy Anniversary!', Carla & her girlfriends, fun couples from Tennessee and New Jersey, and last but not least my brother Cody!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvliboo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here with friends for 10 days and had a wonderful time. The grounds and the beach could't be prettier.The staff was always friendly and helpful. The negatives from previous reviews seem to have been resolved. They have an hourly shuttle bus, free, to Port Lucaya. Here you can rent a good bike for 20$ per day. If you bring your own snorkeling gear and walk out to the canal rocks you will have a great snorkling experiences for free. There were little annoyances with the room but nothing significant and quickly dealt with. The Seagrape restaurant serves good seafood at reasonable prices. Slow, yes but normal for the islands. Native dining options are just down the beach. Anyone who doesn't like this resort is either very spoiled or lacks imagination.

Room Tip: Stay on the beach side on the second floor for the best views and the sound of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultrie, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Swapped a banked timeshare week for a week here. Customs said the resort was very nice as we were checking in at the airport. Rented a car at the airport from KSR. A short 10 minute ride (on the wrong side of the road! LOL) to the resort. The resort is isolated enough from the others in Freeport so the beach wasn't covered up with tourists. Even during Spring Break.

Originally reserved a two bedroom unit and they placed us on the marina side. We told them we didn't need the second bedroom and would like something on the beach side. Beach front preferably. While we were looking at the first room they called the room and offered us a first floor beach level at no additional charge. We jumped on it.

The resort has recovered very well from the hurricane. All the exterior amenities were in very good shape. Our room was recently refurbished, more than adequate with a fantastic view of the beach and reef. Very quiet. Almost didn't know anyone else was staying there even though they were full occupancy for Spring Break. They are working their way around freshening all the rooms.

The staff was very helpful and friendly. We had a visit from a maid every morning bringing fresh towels, made the bed and cleaned. The beach is attended during the day with beach towels and plenty of loungers.

The restaurant served a good breakfast and the dinner menu was varied. Decent eats at typical island pricing. The poolside bar was great, operated by some good, friendly bar tenders and the resort provides free wifi there. There is an extra charge to get wifi in the room with one day, three day and six day rates.

The only negatives I can think of were the information provided at check in contained a few inaccuracies on resort events/restaurant buffets and although the second a/c unit in the room was reported as inoperable and not being repaired while we were there (we really didn't need it).

Overall, we had a wonderful time and would gladly recommend this resort to our friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boilrmkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We just returned earlier this week from a week at Island Seas. We saw all the negative reviews on TripAdvisor,but have some friends who own a timeshare there and couldn't say enough good things about it so we decided to try it for our 2013 family vacation.

Many of the negatives that I read were based on the fact that there was essentially no night life at the resort. That is true - and one of the reasons we liked it so much. We took our 5 kids that are still at home (ages 11 - 18) and they all had a great time. The staff is exceptional - everyone that we dealt with was great. There are some special ones - Dr. Love, Talia (you gotta get this woman to sing for you - she is fantastic!!), Debbie, to name a few. Great rooms. You're on an absolutely stunning beach and beaches have sand, so don't expect for tyour room floors to be spotless all the time.

We had a two bedroom condo and it was just right for us. A nice, if small kitchen allowed us to cook as much as we wanted. There was one free trip (on Mondays) to Solomon's grocery store and I'd advise you to take advantage of that and buy up. Solomon's is a pretty nice store with a better selection than I have seen in the Bahamas before. Food costs significantly more than here in the states, so we took a suitcase loaded with food as well. Obvious restrictions on what you can carry in on a plane, but take what you can.

There is plenty to do on the island and we took advantage to some great snorkeling spots. Beautiful fish and coral. My wife and I have snorkeled in the Dominican and a couple areas of Mexico, and this was the best, hands down. If you haven't tried it, it is a good place to try conch. I am a seafood lover and pretty adventurous with new foods. It was good, but in my opinion, not great. I tried it in fritters, conch salad and cracked conch. I even ate one of the spinal thingies - pretty much like a salty gummie worm.

Island Sea's beach is wonderful. It was not overly full at the resort (we were a week ahead of spring break), so there were always beach chairs available when we wanted them. Great beaches for long walks. The resort is very family-friendly and again, the people are wonderful.
If you go looking for a 5-star resort with alot to do, you may be disappointed. But if you want a place to relax on the beach, with (have I mentioned this?) wonderful people and very adequate accomodations, this is the place for you. We loved it.

As a side note - they are in process of a major update for the rooms. All new furniture and such. I saw truck loads of new kitchen appliances and the new furniture is ordered and being shipped in. The laundry room is probably the one negative I can leave. Not nearly enough washers and dryers, and several with "Out of Order" signs on them. Pretty minor beef in my book. I'd love to go back.

Room Tip: Room 2007 faces the pool and Coconuts. Great room and you can see the ocean from the balcony as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I just enjoyed our first romantic getaway and Island Seas was absolutely perfect! It was not crowded at all. Our condo was very clean and comfortable. The beach was pleasant and clean with an abundance of chairs. The bar may have been our favorite part. Tory "Big Daddy" kept us laughing and drinking everyday. We enjoyed much of the island via scooter and rental car. The concierge at Island Seas met our every need. Anything we needed, all we had to do was ask and it was immediately addressed. Our ceiling fan in the bedroom was wobbly and squeaky; within 10 minutes of our phone call, it had been fixed. Extremely pleasant staff, from waiters and waitresses at the Seagrape Grille to bartenders at Coconuts, to our housekeepers. Fantastic!!

Room Tip: Request a room on the beach/pool side. The canal side just doesn't compare to ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaM994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
2.5 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.0 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
2.8 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,943 reviews
5.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
2.0 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Seas Resort

Property: Island Seas Resort
Address: 123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Seas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully furnished one and two bedroom condominium resort with full living/dining areas and private beach is set between the shopping and dining centers of Port Lucaya Marketplace, 2 miles away, and Freeport's International Bazaar, 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Island Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Seas Hotel Freeport
Island Seas Freeport
Island Seas Resort Freeport Bahamas
Island Seas Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing