We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Island Seas Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Seas Resort
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Freeport
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The resort staff were very friendly and for the most part, I felt very well taken care of. There were quite a few utensils and dishes missing but when I called, they fixed things up nicely. The only thing that wasn't done was the replacing of the broken tv remote and it just never materialized so I had to leave the tv on all the time and had a really hard time changing the channel.
The unit was roomy but quite dated although I was expecting that after reading reviews. The food was so-so and I ventured down the beach to the right about two minutes and found the fantastic Michele's Kitchen on the Beach. John and Michele cook fresh lobster tail, yummy snapper, conch, jerk pork and jerk chicken along with rice and peas, lovely cooked greens and delicious plantains - all at VERY reasonable prices. It was my favourite place to eat hands down.
My overall experience of this part of Grand Bahamas Island was terrific. I had a great time dancing at Kirk's Bar down the road, went to the Wednesday night fish fry, and enjoyed the Saturday night music in Count Basie Square. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: I chose a suite away from the ocean with the balcony facing a lovely marina on a canal. Perfect for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NathalieC80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    340
    251
    143
    177
See reviews for
313
325
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Island Seas Resort has a great location if you want some peace and quiet. Clean beach, white sand and clear water. They only provided a service for 2 for plates and etc. overall, the room is clean but by the end of the week, there were ants on the sliding door to the balcony. Great view from the ocean front room. Great sound from the waves. Timmy at the front desk made checking it real fast and easy. Thanks, T. They updated the bedding, stove is smooth top and the rest of the appliances are working.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bldeveryday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nbraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

After reading all the reviews about the resort, I decided to add on a few lines. My wife and I have been enjoying the friendly atmosphere at the Island Seas for the past twelve years. The accomodations may not be the best; although, the condos are large and ours has a beautiful view of the ocean. We simply love the people, as they are some of the friendliest, welcoming people that we have ever met. It is the beach and the people that keep on bringing us back. Freeport is not the place that I would travel for night life or cultural attractions, as it really doesn't have much to offer. Freeport, Grand Bahama is the ideal place for relaxation on the beach during the day hours and peaceful rest in the evenings. As far as safety, we find it to be one of the safest places in the world, or at least, the ten countries that I have visited.

In order to enjoy the Bahamas one has to travel with an open mind and realize that one is not in the United Satates. There are certain courtesy rules that one must follow, such as; always greet someone with a smile and a good morning or afternoon before engaging in conversation or asking for directions. That is no different than traveling in Europe or Latin America. Unfortunately, in the United States we have forgotten the art of being courteous and treat others with respect. People will treat you the way you treat them, that has been my experience. I guess that I like to think myself of a traveler rather than a tourist, as I like to get to know the people and their own cultures that sets them apart from the rest of the world.

Room Tip: Beach front is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jorge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My girlfriend purchased a Groupon deal and received this resort as part of Celebration Bahamas cruise line "cruise and stay package". We were at Island Seas for 2 days. We purchased a round trip ticket for $17 on our cruise ship for transportation to and from the resort. Our check in process was hectic. Many people came from the cruise ship to this resort. A desk clerk tried to push a time share/free breakfast combination on use right away. The cruise staff had let everyone know that the rooms would not be ready for several hours. So, my friend and I took our our swimsuits and significant belongings and went hung out at the beach (until the room was ready). They had a place to store luggage (so we didn't have to carry it around). They also had a "hospitality room" --- several TVs, 2 bathrooms, showers, water, coffee. You can go there if your room isn't ready or if you've checked out (but transportation hasn't arrived).

The sofa and chair was old. The sofa bed was very uncomfortable. I slept on it one night (and then traded with my friend for the double bed). The double bed was not very comfortable either (but was better than the sofa bed). There were plenty of clean towels. The kitchen, bathroom, floors, ect were clean. There was a VERY STRONG odor of ammonia in our room. We had to open the front and back sliding glass doors to let the room air out!! There were plastic chairs on front and back patios. There was adequate silverware and dishes in he kitchen. Refrigerator and stove were modern.

The main restaurant was closed. All meals were served at "Coconuts" the outdoor bar/restaurant. The serve was very underwhelming. One morning, I skipped lunch after waiting over 20 minutes for anyone to acknowledge my presence (it wasn't very busy either). The food is just average. There is a beach side restaurant (under a blue tent, small sign that says Michelle's Kitchen on the street). It is a short walk on the right from the resort. For $15, you get decent portion of fish, chicken, conch or lobster tail, bahamian rice/peas, few fried plantains and some steamed vegetables. I was wary, but decided it would be worth a try (due to slow service at resort). I had the jerk chicken (very good) and my friend had fried fish (she said it was very fresh).

They have beach chairs and towels. The pool and jacuzzi are really nice. Very little hassling from locals. Quiet beach, beautiful view, very relaxing.

I would visit Freeport again, but would look for a place with more comfortable bed and better restaurants service. Typically, I would not include information from third part, but I think this information might be helpful. There was a couple with a young son (who came to resort from cruise, too). The cruise really pushed shore excursions (the resort moderately so). There is an advertised bon fire (about 20 minutes from the resort). It was called a luau. It was $55 for adults and $30 for children. The couple was SO disappointed when they returned. They said the bonfire was on the beach --- away from the restaurant where the event was held. They advertised a "fire dancers". It turned out to be a single woman dancing around restaurant with a lighted plate. They also said the food and VERY underwhelming. So, you may want to watch out if this event is pushed heavily during your resort stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the same side as the beach. Clarify how many beds will be in your room. The web...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dooleyvilleblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

What is good about this resort - one of the most lovely beaches. Nice spacious rooms.
What is bad about this resort - the beds are full size and the mattresses feel like they are a decade old and general condition of the rooms need renovating. They just need a little bit of upgrading and it would make such a difference. Been here twice and they conditions get worse. Last time I was there the bar has computerized servings of bottom shelf liquor. The restaurant food offerings are very limited and the staff is lack luster.
But the beach really is lovely just hope they take better care of what surrounds the beach!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room closer to the beach. If they renovate and get new beds...this place would be grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

I liked Island Seas. The rooms were spacious and clean. The menu for food was a little limited and since it was the slow season, the shuttle to the port was limited.

The snorkeling there is great. If you swim out about 50 ft and head to the right you'll come across squid, rays, and a large variety of fish. I was very surprised and spent hours a day swimming and just looking around underwater.

If you want a place to get away & just clear your head without a lot of fuss, Island Seas will work.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kahntra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at Island Seas Resort in Freeport, Grand Bahama, Bahamas and thoroughly enjoyed myself. the room was spacious. The employees were every friendly and helpful. the food was great. the restaurant had some light entertainment, which was enjoyable, and the atmosphere was relaxing. Its a great place to stay for a getaway.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harold A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
2.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.0 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 16 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 16 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 stars 2,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
2.0 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 16 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 stars 867 reviews
1.8 mi away
Memories Grand Bahama Beach and Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Seas Resort

Property: Island Seas Resort
Address: 123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Seas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully furnished one and two bedroom condominium resort with full living/dining areas and private beach is set between the shopping and dining centers of Port Lucaya Marketplace, 2 miles away, and Freeport's International Bazaar, 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Island Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Seas Hotel Freeport
Island Seas Freeport
Island Seas Resort Freeport Bahamas
Island Seas Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing