We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“STR8 UP!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jolly Rodger Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Freeport
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“STR8 UP!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Upon reading reviews the whole ride to Rivera beach fl..me and my fiance were kinda skeptical about staying here..but we won the cruise and it was all paid for so we said what the heck!!..gave it a shot!!..and boy were we surprised..The front desk clerk was AWESOME!!!..her name was Amanda she was a lot of help..The room was spotless!!!!..The kitchenette came in handy BIG time!!!!..The bed was AMAZINGLY comfortable!!!..I mean it's not a 5 star hotel but it's younique in its own way..The pool was so COOL!!!..that's where me and fiance spent most of our time..lol..The Taino beach was AWESOME!!!!!..If you do decide to stay here make sure you go to the beach and pool the slide is AWESOME!!!!!..Taino beach has all kinds of cool water activities to do..like banana boat, glass bottom boat tours, and jet ski rentals..kinda pricey but well worth it..There is a ferry available to take you to and from the hotel to lucyan for $6 round trip..that's where all the shops and majority of the restaurants are..Overall I was VERY pleased with my experience!!!..definitely will be back!!!!..they do not have a elevator so you have to carry your luggage but ain't nothing wrong with a little exercise in ya life!!!!..lol..I had a BLAST!!!..plus it wasn't like me and my fiance were BALLING out of control!!!..reasonable prices for great service..CHECK THEM OUT!!!!..NEVER MIND all the fuss with these review experience yourself..then you be the judge!!!!!..

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Shericka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    48
    52
    33
    22
See reviews for
25
78
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Am I the only one that doesn't go on vacation and stay in my hotel? My family and I went last June, and are going back in a week. The staff was friendly, answered any questions and were willing to help. My room was more than clean, was immaculate! As long as my bed sheets are clean, and the room is clean I am fine. All I plan on doing is showering and sleeping in my room. The rest of the time I want to be out and about. Pool was awesome, and everything I would like for a vacation. When needing a taxi driver I HIGHLY recommend Limpy. I would never ask anyone else, my family and I have already contacted him to pick us up from the ship and take us everywhere we need to go before arriving at the hotel. In other words people, don't go on vacation and worry about being in your room! But enjoy, you're in the Bahamas!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Carly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very Nice Getaway ! We take the Discovery Cruise one way from Port everglades for $79 each and Stay 4 nights all inclusive for $199 with no need for a car or extra expenses ! Nice snorkeling ! Great shopping and attractions near by =)

Room Tip: we spent less than $500 total and had an amazing getaway from Florida =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smarttravel420guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed here for Memorial Day weekend and had a great experience. Great price for room and slip combo, for boaters to come from South Florida and fish for the weekend. Clean, comfortable rooms. Staff was courteous and helpful. Lots of amenities to keep the wives happy. Would stay there again next time we visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiverRob561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My husband and I had two nights here as part of a timeshare marketing package. We found that the staff were very friendly and went to considerable lengths to help us. We especially wish to mention Amanda at reception who helped us hire a car and explained several things very clearly. The room was very comfortable and we were pleased to find a kitchenette. The only downside was that the fans in both the bathroom and the kitchenette were very noisy, as was the air-conditioner. Amanda promised to get it looked into. The other outstandingly helpful person was 'Big Mama', a resourceful woman with a big heart, who helped us to rearrange a tour on a glass-bottomed boat.
The resort looked delightful with an outstanding pool, and was right on the beach. However, we are not much into resorts and were glad to have a rental car to get to other parts of the island.
While this is not a five-star hotel, it was clean and comfortable with excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildfrog85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
176 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My wife and I went to Miami mainly to see the Keys and watch the Heat play as I am a massive basket ball fan, Glasgow Rocks to.
We saw there was a trip to go to the Bahamas and it was just as cheap to go to Bahamas as stay on in Ocean Drive, so we booked up they picked us up took us on the ferry and we stayed 3 nights 4 days, FABOULUOS time worth every penny and so great to have been to the Bahamas as well, so much to do and the hotel has a wee boat to take you to town, so your in the country with peace and quiet and white sandy beaches, or hop on the boat and go tot the hub 10 mins in the boat and cheap, we cant wait to go back for a week next time, has a great shop and food good to, all good!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ADWGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear “WOW”,
Love your post! That’s exactly what we think too!
See you next time! Glad you can stay a bit longer too!
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed here after staying a week at Atlantis. Calm and relaxing compared to Nassau, welcome change. But this hotel is not one I would recommend. It was a small room for 2 adults and 2 kids. Very small kitchenette, hardly usable, but fridge was handy. Great location, right on the marina, but no balcony. Nowhere to hang stuff to dry.

2 smaller double beds, well used, but acceptable. Very tight room, small bathroom. On second floor, no help with bags or elevator. Front desk staff was very nice, but the bad part about the front office is that there is a sales desk for the timeshare next door and their mission in life is to get you to take "the tour". They offer you free breakfast and other amenities. But I did not come to the Bahamas to waste my time listening to someone try and sell me something I do not want.

Everywhere you go in Lucaya, both sides of the channel there is someone to try and get you to tour the resort. We had friends staying at the resort and their cupboard doors were falling off and their balcony hot tubs were dead pools. Their rooms were in dissaray and they paid hefty maintenance fees for them, and still in bad shape. Were not interested and finally had to yell NO to get them away from us.

Port Lucaya Marketplace was wonderful, great restaurants, nice shops, very reasonable compared to Nassau. Bought a few things, and took the ferry back to our hotel across the channel. Ferry is $3 each way, reasonable cost, and the drivers were nice, showed us some sights along the way.

I would not return to this hotel, but would stay somewhere on the Port Lucaya side and not come across to the Taino Beach resort.

The pool was wonderful and the cave bar was great. Carlton was a great bartender. But he did not work everyday. This was the best part about the resort. Our kids went for a banana boat ride that cost $40 and lasted 10 minutes.

The snorkeling was great, went to the Rainbow Reef, but you can do that from either side. Nice drivers, were out for about an hour.

If the sales people would relax a little and let up on the tourists and maybe get to work fixing what they were selling instead of bugging me, I would have enjoyed this stay a lot better. Great breakfast buffet, cost of $54 each morning. But eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, french toast, coffee, juice, cereal, toast, can recommend that, but breakfast is good on the Lucaya side too.

Room Tip: Stay in Port Lucaya somewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.6 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 16 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 16 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 stars 2,719 reviews
0.7 mi away
Memories Grand Bahama Beach and Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
0.4 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 16 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 stars 867 reviews
2.4 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 16 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 stars 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina

Property: Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
Address: Jolly Rodger Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flamingo Bay Hotel, adorned by the beautiful emerald green Bell Channel Waterway, is part of three Taino Beach Resort & Clubs properties on Grand Bahama Island. Guests enjoy full use of the largest pool on the island, beach and business center with free WiFi in the lobby. It is a reasonably priced alternative to the larger resorts. Standard features include king rooms and two full size beds in double rooms with small kitchenettes. Full service Marina offering 25 dockage slips. Beauty Salon , Convenience Store, Laundry, Ocean Front Restaurant & Watersport Activity Center on site.A unique & scenic water taxi ride away from Port Lucaya Marketplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Bay Hotel And Marina
Flamingo Bay Yacht Hotel Marina
Flamingo Bay Yacht Club
Flamingo Bay Resort Bahamas
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing