We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Several unpleasant surprises at Flamingo Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Several unpleasant surprises at Flamingo Bay”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed for 5 days at Flamingo Bay during their "all college students in March" month. They did not have any towels whatsoever for two days. It was NOT all-inclusive, contrary to what their website claims. You get three meals a day with 5 or so of the same choices and one drink included at those meals (taino splash=terrible!). Also, you are required to pay a surprise $200 deposit when you arrive! If you can get past all of that, the staff across at the nice hotel was overly friendly and entertaining (Dora at the grotto bar especially!). Advise: Take the ferry over to Lucaya Marketplace where everything is much cheaper (alcohol) and more fun. Taxi drivers try to screw you more and more the later it gets so be prepared to barter with them. Beach and water was outstanding. Not very crowded beach. Pool was incredible also. Would not return to that particular hotel considering all the "surprises" involved.

Room Tip: Try to get on the backside of the hotel for a much better view and if you're lucky and they over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Troy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    56
    53
    37
    25
See reviews for
29
87
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dade City, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

OK - so it is not the Ritz, but the room was clean, and comfortable. I live in Florida, so I am use to this type of beach hotel. Staff was more than friendly and they were always smiling. We used every aspect of the resort - the pool, the beach and the restaurant. No compalints anywhere.
I don't go on vacation to stay in the room - so as long as the air and hot water work and the bed is decent, I am good to go!
If you need a taxi, Limpy was the best - we used him the entire time we were there - great price, clean van and was like a tour guide! Give him a call 242-478-4214 242-375-7909

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your Island getaway! As a “beach resort veteran”, you already know what want when you are on an island! Thanks for the positive Tripadvisor posting, and we’ll see you next time!
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
170 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Older hotel with small rooms that have seen better days. But....it's cheap, it allows access to the taino beach resort, and the channel side offers a nice view. Our room was on the third floor and there is no elevator, so we had to consolidate our trips. The view was beautiful on the back of the building.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank djkudrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear “Special”,
Thanks for taking the time to post your experiences at Flamingo Bay Hotel and Marina on Tripadvisor.
Its postings from previous Guests much like yourself, that make us better, and the more people review and post, the better we can gauge the market and how to move forward. We hope you return as we are conducting refurbishments on a continual basis, and would like to hear about your subsequent future visits.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days at the end of March. Having already read reviews of the hotel we were not surprised when we saw our rooms. There was an overall appearance of neglect. The tiled floors were chipped and looked grotty. The bathroom was basic with hair dryer but again a bit worn looking. However we had clean towels every day and the apartment was cleaned every day. There was no issue with the cleanliness of the place.
There was a small kitchen but not enough utensils and crockery to call it self-catering. There was also no tea towel provided. However sachets of coffee, dried milk and sugar were supplied every day.
The walls were paper thin; we could hear people in adjacent apartments.
However I have to say that considering the price, it was generally OK.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The nearby beach was absolutely beautiful, clean and fairly quiet. The restaurant on the beach was a great place to eat and drink with fabulous views over the sea.
The pool was huge, although we didn't spend much time there as we prefer the beach and swimming in the sea. The bar in the cave on the pool was quite different to anything I have seen abroad and a good place for refreshments. There was also a brilliant slide.
Overall a beautiful place to spend a holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 319Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. Your experience and this posting helps other travelers in ways, no amount of advertising could!
We are currently working on all aspects of the property, so you should be more then pleased upon your next visit- which we hope is soon!
Thank you, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Hard to complain when you are given a room for free in exchange to attend a presentation about some type of timesharing program (which we did not sign up for, obviously), but for those to think of paying for an hotel in Freeport, consider other options. PLUS: hot water, free wi-fi, nice pool a short walk away. MINUS: noisy (paperthin walls, can hear the neighbour snore), old, light switch at the far end of the room (not usefull when arriving at night), no bedside lamp, and unlike what they say, the pool only has 1 spa. If you add the extra fees ($18/day per person, ferry to get to town, etc.) the rooms comes up at a decent price. I clicked ''terrible'' in the value category, but of course ignore this if you get the room for free.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear “Runned down but got the basics”,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor from your recent stay. We continue to work diligently to make your stay as wonderful as you hoped for. We do offer a great value, and will continue to improve upon it for the future!
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A large group of us (approx. 65) stayed at this hotel/apartment block in late March 2013. First impressions weren’t very positive – 30 people trying to check in with only one lady at reception wasn’t a great experience – the booking-in forms could have been handed out for people to fill in whilst waiting for her attention – this would have saved a lot of time. However, she was cheerful and polite, as most Bahamians tend to be! When we first entered the room we thought that it was pretty basic. The floor is tiled and the furniture basic. However, as we got used to it we came to the conclusion that generally it was reasonable value for the price. The bed was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was ok - a bit rough round the edges in terms of finish but there was plenty of hot water, a mirror, cupboard, hair-drier, clean towels etc. Our bedroom was on the second floor overlooking the harbour, within 30 metres of the water taxi to Port Lucaya. The taxi runs every hour from approx. seven o` clock in the morning and is quite noisy as it arrives and departs. To give you an idea of the geography – there is only one road from Taino Bay to Port Lucayo – we did walk it once, a distance of approx. 3 miles – there is a path but it’s an uninteresting road and in the heat if the day quite hard work. The alternative is to take the ferry which runs every hour and has room for approx. 30 passengers. It costs $6 return.The policy with regard to charging was a mystery however. Some members of our group sometimes had tickets (bought at the Reception) but they weren’t collected. On other occasions some members of our group were required to produce tickets but others were allowed free passage, seemingly on the whim of the captain, who would say “I shouldn’t allow you but ……..”. On one occasion I paid the captain but wasn’t given a ticket. What happened to the fee, I wonder? Those staying at Flamingo Bay have access to a lovely beach approx. 200 metres away – the beach has free loungers and is not very busy. Paragliding and jet-ski hire available. Alongside the beach is a restaurant with internal seating or tables on a covered patio – bar snacks are available all day at a reasonable price. Those staying at Flamingo Bay have access to a huge swimming pool at Taino Bay. Port Lucayo has lots of shops selling designer gear and others selling cheap tourist mementos.Also, lots of restaurants. Not a lot do do on Grand Bahama however unless you just want to chill out on the beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cymrobach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear “Decent value for money”,
Thank you for your candid and comprehensive review on Tripadvisor, regarding your stay at Flamingo Bay Hotel and Marina. Your points are valuable to us to help improve our processes and deliver to you- great island-experiences! We’ll look at the details pertaining to the observations you kindly provided, via Tripadvisor. We hope you return and have an even better experience soon!
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The ladies at the front desk had utter contempt for the guests. They were sarcastic and apathetic. In the two days I stayed they never seemed to get anything correct and could not care less. The hotel itself is a dump, however, there is a very nice and reasonably priced restaurant next door. Also there is a very nice beach across the street. Obviously from many negative reviews, the management could not care less about the pathetic service so just beware of it and move on. At least the place is cheap. Bring your own disinfectant and you will be okay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1MtnTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay. Your input is noted and we will address each issue raised to ensure we present a better experience for the next visitor. Hopefully we can impress you with a much better vacation experience - the next time you come to the island.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.6 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
3.9 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
3.9 mi away
Royal Islander
Royal Islander
#13 of 14 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,977 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
3.0 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina

Property: Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
Address: Jolly Rodger Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flamingo Bay Hotel, adorned by the beautiful emerald green Bell Channel Waterway, is part of three Taino Beach Resort & Clubs properties on Grand Bahama Island. Guests enjoy full use of the largest pool on the island, beach and business center with free WiFi in the lobby. It is a reasonably priced alternative to the larger resorts. Standard features include king rooms and two full size beds in double rooms with small kitchenettes. Full service Marina offering 25 dockage slips. Beauty Salon , Convenience Store, Laundry, Ocean Front Restaurant & Watersport Activity Center on site.A unique & scenic water taxi ride away from Port Lucaya Marketplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Bay Hotel And Marina
Flamingo Bay Yacht Hotel Marina
Flamingo Bay Yacht Club
Flamingo Bay Resort Bahamas
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing