We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just bewarned!!! Buyer beware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed January 24, 2008

Check in took for ever... Over an hour.. When you check in you MUST go to your room and take invintory on everything on the list they give you, down to the number of sea shells in the room. If you fail to do this they CHARGE you for all missing items.. To get to the shopping area you must take a water taxi.. which is $5.00 EACH way,, NOT FREE and only runs once an hour..and the last taxi back is at 12 midnight.. so no late night parties.. A reg. taxi over land back to the hotel is $60.00 and thats if you can find one to take you. (Most wont)...Staff was NOT that nice.. Oh you have to wear an arm band the whole time you stay... reason is this is a time share condo and you are just a visitor and thats how your made to feel.... The POOL was awesome and the pvt. beach is fabo... the rooms are updated and nice.. 4 floors and NO evelvator...and no bell hop... you lugg your stuff....Also check out at this hotel is 10AM.... Over all I rather stay in Port Luycia where the town and all the shops are.. Would not stay here again...

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Tripp813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 216 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for a week for our honeymoon. It is perfect for the money; inexpensive. I like being right on the marina and being able to get the ferry to Port Lucayaa. This was also the departing point for a lot of the water activities.

We enjoyed crossing the street and being at Taino Beach Resort for the beach access, pool, restaurant and bon fire.

BEWARE!!! Do not get sucked into the "you have an appointment to have free breakfast and schedule your activities" this is a plot to try to get you to buy a unit across the street. I don't know how many different ways we said NO and then the salesperson got an attitude and she didn't speak to us when she passed us the rest of the week.

Overall we had a great time, The rooms were kept clean. We will be going back soon for our first anniversary.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2007

Flamingo Bay, well I am going to tell it just like it is. First the Hotel a little lower than a cheap hotel chain. If you are a none smoker don't go here. If you smoke you will be in paridise. Phone system is that of a under developed country, (terrible) don't make a call from your room. Staff at the front desk, some helpfull, others if they can here you above there loud music might say a word or two. The positives are across the street you have a beautiful beach and a awesome pool. The food is overpriced, drinks watch out for the dollars also. Water sports are pricy and watch out for the timeshare speal. Overall if you can stand a not so nice accomidation in trade for a nice beach you should be okay. Oh and make sure you watch the cab's they forget your luggage.

Stayed: December 2007
4  Thank ruashark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2007

My husband and I came here for our 10th anniversary. The resort is very nice, had a great time. We rented a car to explore the island, stop at pelican point to buy conch shells, they were cheap and the lady selling was a doll. This was also the most beautiful beach on the island. Other than that, dont waste time touring, the island is full of barbed wire and run down houses with junk in the yards. There is a really nice restaurant near the international bazaar, great food and service, had "ruby" in the name. To do over again, we would have spent more time at the beach and the resort pool rather than touring the island. Natives always have their hand out for a tip, and the service everywhere is terrible. The staff at the resort and Hert rent a car were exceptions, they were awesome, as were the people around Pelican Point.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Missouribeachbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2007

THIS HOTEL WAS/IS AMAZING! The staff was great! The rooms are nice, clean and the beds are comfortable. There is a little kitchenette area with microwave, coffee pot, bowls, plates and silverware.

A gift shop in the lobby. LADIES BE AWARE!! Pack your sanitary products before leaving home just incase! For each item it was $1.00!

The Taino Beach Resort was a 2 min. walk across the road. The pool was AMAZING! Water slide for the children and kids at heart. I loved it! Swim up bar lots of 2 for 1 specials! The beach was great and never crowded.

The resort has lots of entertainment. The ferry leaves every hour for Port Lucaya $5 round trip per person. Great food, lots of vendors and nightly entertainment. If you like Greek food make sure you try Zorbas. It was great. Walk around and visit all the vendor stands before you purchase I made the mistake of purchasing the first items I saw and missed out on some great stuff and bargains!

Current entertainment - Junkanoo Summer Festival from June 7 – August 2, 6-10:30pm on the Taino Beach. THIS WAS AMAZING! THE FOOD AWESOME…….DON’T EAT AT THE RESORT! SAVE YOUR APETITTE! Also, amazing arts and crafts! If you appreciate the beauty of hand made straw bags see Sweet Lou Aiello! HER BAGS ARE AMAZING and reasonably priced. Her email is lucille_aiello@yahoo.com.

Fish fry every Wednesday – Food is amazing as well. Go early to beat the crowd. Try the fried red snapper and grouper! If you want to mix and mingle with the natives go later in the evening and at the top of hill to the left of the flag IT IS A BLOCK PARTY!

Plan accordingly…..Taxi service are around $5 per person to the airport and about $7-$10 per person to Port Lucaya if you miss the last ferry. Room surcharge is $15 per person per day.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lowashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2007

We stayed at Flamingo Bay from 6/11 - 6/14/07. At first, when we pulled up to the hotel, I thought Oh no, this is not where we are staying! But the first looks are extremely deceiving. It was great! We had a second floor room with a queen bed. Very comfy and clean. Nice kitchenette (beware, you have to get your own bowls for having cereal in the morning.. they don't have bowls). The "gift shop" was small but had the simple things you'd need.
And the best part was that you get all the amenities of the Taino Beach Resort, which is just a walk across the street. Takes about 2 minutes to get there. The restaurant on the resort was AMAZING. Probably some of the best food I've eaten. Expensive for us ($17 a plate for dinner, $12 breakfast buffet, etc) but worth it for the great food.
The pool was amazing (the largest pool on Grand Bahama Island) with a grotto style wet/dry bar in the middle of the pool --- so cool. The beach was gorgeous and never crowded. I don't think there was ever more than 10 people on it at a time. Even the pool wasn't crowded, which was nice.
My problems with the resort: no ATM. You had to take the ferry ($5 roundtrip per person) 5 minutes to Port Lucaya to get food and an ATM. But the ferry leaves every hour on the hour, so it's convenient. The food at Port Lucaya is very good and there's a great variety (especially bc I'm allergic to shell fish, so it was nice to see a lot of other food I could eat on the island). Also, the electricity went out for about 2 hours the day we left. They ran out of milk in the gift shop and in the stores at Port Lucaya - so no cereal in my room in the morning.
My recommendation --- bring A LOT of money. There are hidden costs ($15 per person per night for room taxes, $5 per person roundtrip each time to Port Lucaya which is where you have to go if you want to eat anything other than at the restaurant, $7 per person taxi to the airport or Discovery cruise, drinks are $7 each but there are a lot of 2 for 1 specials, and food/drinks are much more expensive -- example Doritos are $5.) So I would say we wound up spending a good $500 or more for just the two of us in four days on the island and we didn't even do anything really (no shopping/souvenirs, tours, water sports or anything and that doesn't include what we spent on the Discovery Cruise!). So bring more money than you think you'll need. I wish we would have known. And if you can, pack a suitcase of food and check it (you can bring it into the country if it's checked luggage on the plane or cruise) to eat, bc it will be much cheaper.
And the best thing I can tell you -- Just Say No to Timeshares! Take the optional tour if you want (you'll get a free meal and a free glassbottom boat tour) but say No at the end, no matter what they tell you.
Overall, it was an amazing trip and well worth it. I will definitely return to the Flamingo Bay in the future... but with more money this time!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Jessikat1624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2007

I stayed at this hotel for 7 days. The place is well kept, the staff members were all very friendly, and I had few complaints. Housekeeping didn't always clean the room, but the supplies of towels and other things were enough to carry me through in those instances. I was extremely grateful for the small kitchenette. A microwave and refrigerator were supplied and that came in very handy. On a couple of occasions the electricity went out. Though the hotel has no control over these circumstances, it would be helpful if they had a generator, but this one does not. If you're not trying to be in the mix of the very tourist centered areas but close enough to access it all, then this place is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank likeabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.6 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
251 reviews
3.8 mi away
Royal Islander
Royal Islander
#13 of 14 in Freeport
82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
3,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
0.4 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#3 of 14 in Freeport
1,004 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina

Address: Jolly Rodger Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range: $106 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flamingo Bay Hotel, adorned by the beautiful emerald green Bell Channel Waterway, is part of three Taino Beach Resort & Clubs properties on Grand Bahama Island. Guests enjoy full use of the largest pool on the island, beach and business center with free WiFi in the lobby. It is a reasonably priced alternative to the larger resorts. Standard features include king rooms and two full size beds in double rooms with small kitchenettes. Full service Marina offering 25 dockage slips. Beauty Salon , Convenience Store, Laundry, Ocean Front Restaurant & Watersport Activity Center on site.A unique & scenic water taxi ride away from Port Lucaya Marketplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Bay Hotel And Marina
Flamingo Bay Yacht Hotel Marina
Flamingo Bay Yacht Club
Flamingo Bay Resort Bahamas
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing