We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Exotic Adventures

Exotic Adventures
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you can dream it, we can do it! Come out and experience a one of a kind adventure in the Bahamas with Capt AJ, who is a 9th generation Bahamian. In business since 1985, Capt. AJ has been featured on ESPN TV for his unique island adventures. We are a customized, personalized boat charter company who can customize your perfect day on the water to suit your needs and wants. Our most popular full day adventure begins by heading out to Capt. AJ's favorite spots where he dives in and spears fresh lobster and fish for your lunch. From there we head out to snorkel along the beautiful reefs off of Peterson's Cay National Park and then head to the beach for a party. Once there you will be able to munch on fresh fruit,chips and salsa while having a drink of Capt. AJ's infamous Guana Cay Grabbers . As we grill up the fresh catch, feel free to search for shells while listening to classic island music. We can customize your adventure to include bottom fishing, deep sea fishing, island hopping and more. We offer full day and half day excursions and can accommodate small to large groups. It is your vacation and we are here for you. Please visit our web site for more information and checkout our ESPN video.
Hantsport, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A great day spent with Captain AJ Saunders and his 1st mate. We were able to design our own day and decided to do it all. They picked us up at the Port Lucaya Marina in a beautiful boat and we were on our way of a day filled with fishing, snorkelling and cruising. We stopped for lunch on a deserted beach and had a lobster lunch cooked over an open fire with salads and of coarse rum punch. A perfect Bahamian day! Thanks Captain AJ! We will be looking for you in April!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Hightidenailspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    2
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A trip you'll never forget”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just finished looking through the pictures of our trip to Grand Bahamas earlier this year. Fantastic photos of the lunch Captain AJ caught for us and the lovely beach we ate at. As I looked at the pictures I remembered the conversation we had when we got back to the dock. My wife said she wished she had taken more pictures on the tour but she had gotten to caught up in the fun. My 14 year old son then replied there was no need because "you only need picture of things you'll forget, and we'll never forget today." THAT was exactly the experience I was hoping for, and that's exactly what Captain AJ and his crew provided.

Do this tour!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Celtic201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Safe and INSANELY Fun!!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

There are just a few things that I have to share about our experience with Exotic Adventures.

Firstly - Captain AJ is awesome! He is incredibly aware of his surroundings and his guest and his main focus is to make sure that everyone has the BEST time. The Bahamas are beautiful, but you can experience that with any captain. What makes Captain AJ stand out is that he is as laid back as the waters on a calm day and as witty as the gulls that play upon those waters. If the waters present even a hint of threat to the fun, the captain is all over it. His boat was super clean, sturdy,, and there was not even a moments hesitation that we were going to have a great time.

Secondly - We are a young, newlywed couple who enjoys our lifestyle to the fullest and we were incredibly amazed at how much fun we had on our trip with our friends! Exotic "Adventures" is a great name for this company because it felt like an adventure at every turn. The snorkeling was phenomenal! Our captain put us right next to the reefs and we were off to an experience we would never forget. We even got some great tips on underwater photography! (Talk about an all-inclusive trip! You should see our photo album!!) We fished for some great Mahi Mahi and lunch was another unforgettable adventure as we watched Capt AJ cook up our catch with an expert flair - YUMMMM!!!

Lastly - You can have a great experience, but what you really want are memories. I don't think we could have asked for more until we were on our way back and the romance of the water and good food and good (and new) friendships made forever memories. Thank you, Exotic Adventures for giving us memories (and photos!) that will bring smiles for a lifetime.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TampaDarlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect day”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Captains AJ and Keith made our day memorable. The weather wasn't perfect and Cap AJ told us ahead of time what to expect and let us decide if we still wanted to give it a go...and it was great. We did the half day and snorkeled. Even though it was a bit windy, I totally trusted him that it was safe and where were the best areas to see. He is clearly very knowledgable and has great stories. If we could change one thing, I would have ordered better weather so it would have been worth doing the full day and having Cap AJ catch and prepare our lunch, but with the weather uncertainty, we opted for the 1/2 day. I highly recommend!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Farrah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Experience Awesome Adventures with Captain AJ”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

AJ has been providing an outstanding ocean experience around the Bahamas for decades.
Whether your interested in fishing, diving, snorkeling or a traditional Bahamian BBQ on the beach, AJ and his staff of well seasoned experts will tend to every need. His love of sea along with the understanding of how fragile it is makes him a natural caretaker and custodian representing the People of the Bahamas in a very positive way. AJ is a genuine Bahamian "good guy" with a solid reputation of showing his guests a good time. Don't miss out on an opportunity to spend a day on the reef with Capt. AJ and Exotic Adventures.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank captdavec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Exotic Adventures also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Exotic Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing