We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than other reviews stated!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than other reviews stated!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We (2 girlfriends and myself) stayed for 5 days and had a blast. Yes there were some parts that could use some improvements like the towel service at the beach was slow. There were never any towels available when we reached the beach. We always had to wait for beach towels. Also the linen service in the rooms was terrible they did not have wash clothes but ONE day, other days we were given hand towels or extra full size towels. We managed to deal with this though. The Mosquitos are OFF THE CHAIN make sure u take some off with you. The rooms did have a lot of them but there was really nothing the resort could do about that because the humidity and rain bought more of them. Suggestions I would make for the resort would be to get more people to wash towels, have more than one bar other than at the beach and have another pool. Food/drink service on the beach would be an AWESOME thing (think about it)!! One pool was cool but two would make the property more desirable. The smell of sewage in the back part of the resort (near to 2000 rooms) was a little bit much on a daily basis and PLEASE fix the wifi service. Wifi kept going in and out on the beach and very seldomly got service in the lobby. They advertise room service but there is NONE. EVERYONE working at the resort (except the beach towel lady-the Caucasian lady) were awesome to us daily and very friendly. Big ups to Maureen the maid she was the bomb, the twin bartender and his twin brother were also awesome and Quincy the pizza guy were a few who made our trip awesome and made the downfalls seem minor. The over all the trip was great!! I hope the really take these suggestions into consideration because I would definitely return if I were to see some these things worked on/added.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Godzdva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thanks for taking the time to apprise us with your comments of your recent stay.

We really appreciate your excellent review about your recent stay in our facilities. It is our pleasure and we are more than glad to read all the positive points and constructive remarks mentioned that will help future guest to choose our hotel for their vacations. We are looking forward to have you back here and be able to provide you the best memories.

Thank you very much for choosing us.

Best regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    1,506
    1,053
    603
    555
See reviews for
1,204
1,746
91
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (923)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stayed 4 nights and 5 days. A very helpful tip, I read about was to call ahead a specifically request your room: Vista room (ocean front)updated Bimini building(the green one) away from disco bar. I got room 2132-which was lower level- keep in mind that resort has no elevator and we had to carry our own luggage to our room-no bellman to help-
The only problem on the room was that one of the lamp's table was out and one lightbulb in the bathroom was out,but it was replaced.There is a minibar on the room and a safe box (daily charge use is 3 dollar )As far as minibar goes only on your arrival you get one bottle of water,some grapes, 2 apples and one orange; the rest of your
stay is not stack up at all. Make sure you ask for extra towells as soon as you arrive-a few dollars will do it-
Wifi was NOT working 4 days out of the 5 I was there and only worked at the main lobby, so don't relay on it, because even at the main lobby where you have to buy time to use the single and Only computer, did not work most of the time. You are only allow to make free local phone calls from the lobby-cannot dial out from your room, unless is room to room call-.
There is two a la carte restaurants, BUT you are only allow to eat there depending on the number of nights you stay, If staying 4 nights, you get 2 a la carte reservations, for 7 nights stay you get 3 reservations, the rest of the nights you will have to eat at the buffet.Viva cafe, has good food, Bamboo was just ok, nothing out the ordinary. Buffet food was NOT good at all and its very hot in there.
Plain and simple food.
The only decent thing for breakfast is omelets that sweet lady will make for you and will take a while, but its worth to wait.
We ate all our lunches by the beach bar, hamburgers-ok-, hot dogs, fries -ok-and awful chicken nuggets, also be prepared to see lots of flies and bees-sanitazion is very questionable-, but I guess we are taking a
risk in the caribe.
The only good thing was viva pizzeria for a late snack, definitely a MUST.
Entertainment gets 5 stars, employees work very hard and put up great shows.
Beach is beautiful,but can be very rocky, so bring your water shoes and snorkeling gear.
I wished I would of listen-I cutted my feet-
Staff is very friendly once they see you are a tipper, they recognized you everytime and you will get drinks fast.
Overall we made the best at our stay, but its not a great resort.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank morenadefuego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Customer

We appreciated that you took the time to compose this review regarding your past visit, as we take our guest's opinion very seriously.

Your comments will assist us in our commitment to improve our operations.

We are happy to find out that you enjoyed our delicious late night pizza, hospitable entertainment staff and our beautiful beach here in the Bahamas. However, we truly regret any inconvenience you may have experienced during your visit.

Once again, thank you for your honest review and we hope to have the pleasure to be once again at your service.

Best regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkridge, MD
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

DON't waste your time/money. I'll start off by saying that we read these reviews before our stay and hopes that these people were just snobs, no, this place is THAT awful. This place is just dirty, I didn't feel very clean at all, there were tons of hygienic issues which are detailed below. We stayed for less than 30 hours and switched resorts. To call Viva Wyndham a resort is actually really funny.
1. ROOM - it reeked of Clorox, which I guess is kind of good, but I'm concerned that that much bleach was required. We didn't have towels, the room was FILLED with flies. There were dead Mosquitos all over the sheets and walls.
2. FOOD - yuck. I'll admit, I'm a picky eater, but this was just the cheapest food you could find: fruit cocktail, hot dogs in a red sauce (ew?). I tried to make a sandwich but the cheese was literally wet. Forget about asking for utensils. It takes forever to actually get them. The snack shack is always open but it's so hot that I felt grossed out eating there because I knew those people had to be sweating all over the food.
3. BEACH - the water is gorgeous and there are a ton of chairs and umbrellas, probably because no one in their right mind would stay there, but that was the most positive part of the experience.
4. RESORT - it is really run down, but that's okay, the real problem is the fact that most lf the property smells like backed up sewer. There was trash all over the walkways, including feminine products. Tons of worms and caterpillars. There was a dead cockroach/beetle in front of our door for most of our stay (1.5 days). When my friend washed her hands by the pool her hands smelled like a sewer.
STAFF- when you ask for utensils the people get pissed, but everyone else was nice, not super friendly but nice enough.

I'm on my honeymoon and this was the worst start to it. We switched to Memories Resort and this place is 110% better. Don't waste your time or money. Cancel/refund your vacation if you can. Seriously.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Melrod415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Customer

Please accept a sincere apology for any inconvenience that you might have experienced during your recent stay in Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach.

I am glad that you enjoyed our beach, but truly regret that the rest of your experience was negative.

We appreciate the time you dedicated to write your remarks about your vacation as your comments will assist us in our commitment to improve in all aspects of our operations.

Once again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback.

Best regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Freeport hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

The resort was surrounded by the beach, which was nice. We traveled there by cruise ship and arrived at 10:00 am and wasn't able to check in until 3:00 pm.*and they were strict with the not being able to check in early*. That was a disappointment. The people were friendly in the resort once we did get satiated. Another disappointment was there was no shuttle bus to get around the island. If you did want to get around you had to pay for a taxi. The rooms need to be updated. The trip had it plus and minus..but the people of the island are so friendly and welcome you with open arms.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ledika333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Customer

Thank you for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort on your recent holidays.

We are glad that you were shown and enjoyed the hospitality of not only our staff, but that of the entire Grand Bahama Island.

We would like to express our deepest appreciation for your comments and suggestions and rest assure that it is our aim to keep improving and taking care in details of our property with the aim to increase our guest comfort.

On behalf of all our staff, I sincerely hope to have the honor to be again at your service in the near future.

Best regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Our check in started off pretty rough - no room for us! But after 2 hours we finally got a room and it was awesome! Cold A/C - beautiful view! The staff were incredible except for the front desk check in staff. All the people are so friendly and wanting to help you. Once you realize you are in another country you will appreciate where you are. The beach is glorious and wonderful - snorkeling and floating on a blow up raft was the best! The food was not bad, huge selection - breakfast was the worse to me - no bacon or bagels. Very very relaxing if that is what you are coming for. The drinks were great when you told them what you wanted and you don't get just what they serve. Don't go with huge expectations and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are the best and you feel real safe with the in room safe for your valuables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNS1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Customer

Thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach on your recent holidays; we are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and overall had a pleasant stay.

We are pleased after reading your review to discover how you enjoyed your room and the beautiful beach at the resort.

We also would like to thank you for your suggestions; we definitely appreciated them and will use it to evaluate improvements for all our future visitors.

On behalf of all our staff, I thank you for your honesty, and looking forward to seeing you again in our resort!

Best regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

The staff was amazing, and I mean all of them, never had a single complaint with anyone of them. The rooms really do need some tlc. Food was awesome tasting with a great selection, but the food hall could use an enclosure and AC. I enjoyed the drinks and had good experiences with them (as long as I tipped). I think we got an amazing deal considering what we paid.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Customer

Thank you for allowing and choosing us to be a part of such a great commemoration in the form of your honeymoon

It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hospitable staff and various cuisines offered here.

I appreciated each one of your comments as we consider your valuable feed back as our best resources to keep improving our visitor experience.

On behalf of our team thank you for your recommendations, and hope we can host your holidays once again in the near future!

Best regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

The staff is super friendly but my god it's hot. There's no air conditioning anywhere on the resort except rooms, which would be ok but it has taken almost 5 hours to check in. We arrived at 10 this morning and here it is 2:05 and we're stuck in the lobby with suit cases everywhere, no air, and the wifi sucks (don't want to pay for roaming so trying to communicate via wifi with family). Not an ideal way to start a vacation.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate you for taking the time and sharing your impression with us regarding your stay through trip advisor.

We deeply apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your past visit.

Rest assure that your feedback is very important to us, as it always allows us to revise our standard and the quality of our services on day by day basis.

Once again, thank you for your time and valuable comments.

Kind regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
3.0 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
244 reviews
3.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
3,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 14 in Freeport
998 reviews
5.3 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#12 of 14 in Freeport
1,297 reviews
27.1 mi away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Property: Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Address: Churchill Dr and Doubloon Road, Freeport 42398, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Freeport
Viva Fortuna
Freeport Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort
Club Viva Fortuna
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing