We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath taking Bahamas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at the Viva Wyndham during the February break. We were welcomed in the lobby with a cold glass of rum punch. Check in was done efficiently and only took about 20 mins. There was a very nice bellman who helped us with our luggage and took us to our room. We were thankful for his help and tipped him. He seems surprised by the tip. We arrived after the buffet was closed so we headed to the the Pizza Place. This is a must try if you stay here. The pizza is so tasty and baked in a wood oven. Our room was very clean and comfortable. It had recently been remodeled and we were 30 steps to the beach from our patio. All the buildings looked like they had recently been painted and you could tell that they were working on fixing the railings and lattice work as well. These were being painted white. The cleaning ladies were wonderful and we spoke to them daily. Again, we left a tip in the room for their hard work. The resort was very quiet and we always felt very safe. The pool and beach bathrooms were spic and span clean for the amount of people that used them. There always seemed to be someone checking on them to make sure there was hand towels and toilet paper. There is not a bar in the lobby, which is fine all you have to do is walk a few meters and you will find the bar in its own building closer to the pool. We were always served quickly and efficiently. The pool and entertainment staff worked very hard and were multi lingual (English, French, Spanish, Italian). The pool was clean and there were always chairs available. Beach towels were washed several times a day, so you could always get a clean towel. The beach bar was painted while we were there and the palm palapas were being redone. There were tons of chairs on the beach and everyday we were able to have our own palapa. Do bring water shoes. There is a coral reef directly off the beach and with the tide pieces of coral break off and is hard on the feet in the water. Someone complained about there not being straws for the drinks at this resort. The reason being is that the guest tended to leave the straws on the sand and the sea gulls and other birds would pick them up and were choking on them. Bring your own insulated drink cup with a straw and life is good. For lunch burgers, hot dogs, fries and pizza are served right at the beach bar. Yummy! The buffet is also open. There are a few locals who try to sell you shells, star fish, hair-braiding, and parties in a shell, but if you say no thank you they will not ask you again. The staff were continually picking up drink glasses and lunch baskets from the resort. The buffet always had something great to eat. For breakfast there was always 4 choices of eggs, pancakes, french toast, hot and cold cereal, fruit, bacon, sausage, grits, yogurt, pastries, breads, cheeses and cold cuts. There was always a lot of choices at supper as well. Potatoes, fries, fresh pasta, pizza, fish, meat (ham, roast beef, pork, lamb, chicken) there were tons of veggies both fresh and cooked, fruit, cheeses, cold cuts, salad fixings, two kinds of soup and desserts, A must is the bread pudding with the vanilla sauce. Red and white wine are also provided at supper and could be found at the one beverage center. We caught a taxi at the resort and went into Freeport for the day. The driver opened the door for us and was very kind. The trip was $15 for two people. Again we tipped our driver and he seemed so surprised. (Do people not tip?) We walked around Port Lucaya Market and then ventured to the Casino and took a peek at the other resorts there. We were glad we chose Viva Wyndham, as it is farther from the main part of the town and is quiet and more relaxing.
We also booked the Jeep and Kayak tour with Tony! Again this is a must. You get to drive the jeeps to the Lucayan National Park, then kayak through the mangroves, and have lunch on Gold Rock Beach. This beach is one of the most pristine beaches we have ever seen. Beautiful pink sand and water that went from blue to green to aqua and everything in between.
We were very sad to leave and would most definitely go back. Remember this is a 3 star resort. We stayed at a 4 and 1/2 star in Cuba last year and this blew it out of the water. The staff is friendly, the resort is safe, the food was great, the drinks were awesome and it looks like they are trying very hard to improve. The only negative thing we encountered were some negative tourists who were not happy with anything and probably could never have been made happy.

Room Tip: We stayed in Bimini and it was quiet and had and ocean view. Air con was great and always had hot w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wichs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Guests

We thank you for sharing your great experience on tripadvisor regarding your vacation at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach!

Is wonderful to know that you enjoyed the various hospitable services we offer, along with some of the beautiful and unique sceneries of the Island of Grand Bahama.

We will be looking forward to receiving you on your next visit!

Best regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,450 - 1,456 of 4,636 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

We were four sisters on a breakaway from the Canadian cold weather. Rooms were older and could use some updating, but for the price we paid, we got what we expected. The beds were comfy and room was clean. Food was good, a good selection and always plentiful. Italian restaurant was awesome,great lasagna. Beach was the greatest, sand as far as the eye can see in both directions, and not far off shore there is good snorkelling ,lots of interesting fish to see. Staff were all very friendly all the time. If you plan on taking liquor or any other gifts back,buy them before you go to airport. There is nothing for sale on the other side of customs at the Freeport Bahamas airport. Would defiantly go back

Thank Rivvy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here for 8 days the week of New Years 2014 & had a blast!! This is NOT a luxury hotel but certainly met our needs for the week. Best vacation we've ever had & our kids are picky teenagers. Plenty to do & comfortable accommodations!! The only thing I would complain about would be poor water pressure in the shower & the bartenders in the main bar were fairly rude & seemed to think we didn't exist. Other than that the rest of the staff was AWESOME to say the least. The dive shop staff is great too. My son & I got certified to dive while we were there & was one of the best things we've ever done!! We will definitely stay here again!! We met so many great people & had a great vacation!! We rented a car at the airport so we could tour the Island on our own which was a great idea. This resort is out of town so not much around to do if you want to go off the resort. But the resort has activities going on all the time!! And the absolute best beach! So much is offered in the sports house free to use, like snorkel gear, paddle boards, catamaran, kayaks, lessons, you name it!!! !!! So you really don't need to go anywhere. I still cannot believe how hard some of their staff work!! They run all of the activities during the day.....volleyball, Zumba, bingo, wind surfing lessons, the pool games etc, then they also put on the shows at night, & then party it up with you & dance afterwards to make sure everyone is having fun!! I don't know when they ever get sleep!!

Room Tip: We were in building 2 with an ocean view...wonderful!!!! We were also close to the laundry area whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hardworkingiowamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

We deeply appreciated your valuable feedback about the stay you had with us during New Year’s Eve!
It is really rewarding to read your positive comments and to find out that your stay at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach was enjoyable.
We are happy that we had a good time diving and appreciated our hard working staff.
Hopefully we will host your holidays again in the near future; it will be an honor.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My husband and I spent a week at this resort, we just returned on February 24th. Worst resort we ever stayed at. Let's start with check in: Staff checking you in was CRABBY!!!! Not helpful at all. We had to wait to get into our room, they said our luggage would be safe in the lobby. It was not!!!! The timeshare staff were all over you, once they found out that you were not interested in the timeshare they treated you like you had two heads. The buffet: the food was always not cold/not hot. When food was empty they did not refill. When asked if there was anymore you got a LOOK!!!! You had to beg for bacon, there were only certain cooks that would give you bacon. The tables in the buffet were not cleared from the people before you. If you wanted to sit, you had to find a table yourself and clear it yourself and hunt down place settings/silverware, etc. The coffee always had grounds in it. The soda was watered down. The so called cleaned dishes were always dirty. The staff in the buffet were CRABBY!!!!. They did nothing to help clear tables or welcome you. The so called "BAR" has a sign on the bar that says this bar is for RCI members only, that is the only bar on the property. The bartenders are rude and you have to beg for a drink. There is a shack on the beach that has a bartender and a couple of bottles of drinks but the line is so long that it takes you on the average a 1/2 hour to 45 minutes to get a drink. The beer is constantly empty and you always have to wait for them to refill it. They do offer burgers and hotdogs in this shack, they were actually the best food on the premises. The beach has weeds and the grounds are unkept. Now for the rooms: the safe in the room is a huge issue. We were harassed by the staff when we used the safe. We paid extra to use the safe and they tried to make us pay a second time, but I kept the receipt and said I wasn't paying twice for the safe. The lock on the safe is tricky and when you use it and close it and try to get back into it, it locks and you can't get your belongings out of it, when you ask the desk for help they give you the run around. The patio door in the room has a gap in it and it is very easy to break into. In fact while we were there, there were four room that got broken into and had their belongings stolen. It was a very long week and we were happy to leave.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear customer,

Please accept a sincere apology for any inconvenience that you might have experienced during your recent stay in Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach.

We really appreciate the time you dedicated to write your remarks about your vacation. Your comments will assist us in our commitment to improve in all aspects of our operations.

It is our priority to satisfy all of our clients and we can assure you that we work every day with great efforts to optimize our services.

Once again, thank you for your time and valuable comments,

Best regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We arrived from cruise ship-Celebrations, out of West Palm Beach, FL. at 9:30Am. We were told we could not get into our rooms until 3PM. Lobby was full of people waiting. Our luggage sat there. Not any bellhops available. we were told we were in building 3(glad we didn't end up there) Very rundown conditions on most of resort. It's supposed to be an all-inclusive, but if you have a certain color band, or join their club Viva, you may get preferential treatment and good liquours!!! Food was and coffee not real good. Coffee and food lukewarm at best. In rooms, lamps not working, cold water showers, no ice or room service to be found. Very low-staffed. Grounds were trying to be redeveloped, but not done by any means. The one saving grace is the Beach on the ocean. It was beautiful, but then again, if you joined their club, you got fancier places. There were not many chairs on porches. Shows were day staff putting them together. Very sad, indeed. Theater was makeshift as well. Staff hadto bring chairs from everywhere on grounds in order to seat anyone(plastic lawn chairs). When you spend money on a vacation, you expect to get much better!!!!They should have stayed closed until they are ready to handle people. They have spring breakers on their way there, next week!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank laura l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Customer

We appreciated you for taking the time and sharing with impression with us thru trip advisor.

I deeply regret that we were not able to meet your expectation and any inconvenience you may have experienced during your past visit.

Rest assure that your feed back is very important for us, because it always allow us to revise our standard and the quality of our services day by day, considering of course that every guest is unique and has different expectations, not to mention experiences.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity of regaining your trust the next time you visit Freeport,

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The one plus is that the employees were very nice and helpful. The place is old and rundown. The food was not good. The rooms were in poor condition. Thank goodness the weather was beautiful or the trip would have been a disaster. The beach was the best thing about the place.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the beach if you stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Customer

Respecting your opinion, we really regret not meeting your expectations; Thank you for acknowledging our staff as nice and helpful.

We would like to express our appreciation to you for bringing to our attention your comments and concerns regarding your past experience in our installations; your opinion is extremely important to us, and will be use always as a tool to identify areas for improvement in our general service.

I deeply apologize for any inconvenience you may have experience; Please be advised that we are in the constant process of upgrading our facilities with the aim to better serve all our visitors in the future.

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I do not see how someone could possibly rate this trip better than a 1 or MAYBE a 2 (if they got the best the place has to offer). Check in was manually done with pen and paper in a hot outdoor room by one employee for around 100 people. The rooms were smelly, dirty, and hot. The employees are creepy drug dealing jerks.
"All-inclusive" is a joke. I have been to all-inclusive resorts before and understand tips are somewhat expected and necessary, but they took it to a whole new level. You tip less than $4 per trip to the bar and they turn their nose up at you and make a small drink with extremely watered down alcohol. If you tip big once, don't expect them to remember you or count it towards your next order.
The food was horrible. It was like going to a nice summer camp as a kid with a little buffet of low to mid-quality food.
Leaving the resort (which you will want to do) is somewhat dangerous. Cab drivers are sketchy and you will want to travel in groups at all times. The casino is fun if you have never been to a casino or do not like gambling options. I think there was one roulette table, one poker table that played an off style of poker, and one other table for blackjack I believe, comp drink service is actually decent though.
The "club" at the resort is a dark, dirty room. It also serves small, watered down drinks. The beer at the resort is not bad, but they ran out frequently.
MAIDS WILL ROB YOU OF EVERYTHING. Smartphones, iPods, wallets, cash, sunglasses, jewelry, you name it....STOLEN. Call the resort security or police and you are wasting your time. So your going to lock it all in your room's safe, right? THEY HAVE ACCESS to it, and WILL STEAL from it.
The beach looks pretty, but once you go in the water be prepared to step and bump your shins on the plethora on rocky mountainous terrain 5ft into the water. I didn't mess with any of the water sports, but I heard they were hit or miss.

Essentially, DO NOT GO HERE!!! You were warned....

Room Tip: Do not get any of the rooms, go to a different resort....save yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CrawfordS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Customer

In total respect of your opinion I would like to express in the name of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach staff our displeasure for the experience you lived in our structure during your stay.

Anyway we will take advantage from your negative comments, evaluating them like constructive critical for improving our services and offering to our guests attentions even higher in quality and reaching their total satisfaction.

Kind regards.

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
3.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
252 reviews
2.9 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
3,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#3 of 14 in Freeport
1,005 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lighthouse Pointe at Grand Lucayan Resort - All Inclusive
4.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Address: Churchill Dr and Doubloon Road, Freeport 42398, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: $154 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Freeport
Viva Fortuna
Freeport Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort
Club Viva Fortuna
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing