We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Nearby Hotels
$165
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$151
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bell Channel Inn(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Islander(Freeport)
$83
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$334
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,871)
Filter reviews
4,871 results
Traveler rating
897
1,633
1,118
639
584
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
897
1,633
1,118
639
584
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsviva cafeanimation staffnightly showslasagnadance lessonsstar resortkids clubnachosa la carte restaurantsping pongpaddle boardswater shoesbad reviewseither directionafter reading the reviewsbanana bayplenty of chairs
Filter
Updating list...
1,615 - 1,620 of 4,871 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The one plus is that the employees were very nice and helpful. The place is old and rundown. The food was not good. The rooms were in poor condition. Thank goodness the weather was beautiful or the trip would have been a disaster. The beach was the best thing about the place.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the beach if you stay here.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Customer

Respecting your opinion, we really regret not meeting your expectations; Thank you for acknowledging our staff as nice and helpful.

We would like to express our appreciation to you for bringing to our attention your comments and concerns regarding your past experience in our installations; your opinion is extremely important to us, and will be use always as a tool to identify areas for improvement in our general service.

I deeply apologize for any inconvenience you may have experience; Please be advised that we are in the constant process of upgrading our facilities with the aim to better serve all our visitors in the future.

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I do not see how someone could possibly rate this trip better than a 1 or MAYBE a 2 (if they got the best the place has to offer). Check in was manually done with pen and paper in a hot outdoor room by one employee for around 100 people. The rooms were smelly, dirty, and hot. The employees are creepy drug dealing jerks.
"All-inclusive" is a joke. I have been to all-inclusive resorts before and understand tips are somewhat expected and necessary, but they took it to a whole new level. You tip less than $4 per trip to the bar and they turn their nose up at you and make a small drink with extremely watered down alcohol. If you tip big once, don't expect them to remember you or count it towards your next order.
The food was horrible. It was like going to a nice summer camp as a kid with a little buffet of low to mid-quality food.
Leaving the resort (which you will want to do) is somewhat dangerous. Cab drivers are sketchy and you will want to travel in groups at all times. The casino is fun if you have never been to a casino or do not like gambling options. I think there was one roulette table, one poker table that played an off style of poker, and one other table for blackjack I believe, comp drink service is actually decent though.
The "club" at the resort is a dark, dirty room. It also serves small, watered down drinks. The beer at the resort is not bad, but they ran out frequently.
MAIDS WILL ROB YOU OF EVERYTHING. Smartphones, iPods, wallets, cash, sunglasses, jewelry, you name it....STOLEN. Call the resort security or police and you are wasting your time. So your going to lock it all in your room's safe, right? THEY HAVE ACCESS to it, and WILL STEAL from it.
The beach looks pretty, but once you go in the water be prepared to step and bump your shins on the plethora on rocky mountainous terrain 5ft into the water. I didn't mess with any of the water sports, but I heard they were hit or miss.

Essentially, DO NOT GO HERE!!! You were warned....

Room Tip: Do not get any of the rooms, go to a different resort....save yourself.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CrawfordS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Customer

In total respect of your opinion I would like to express in the name of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach staff our displeasure for the experience you lived in our structure during your stay.

Anyway we will take advantage from your negative comments, evaluating them like constructive critical for improving our services and offering to our guests attentions even higher in quality and reaching their total satisfaction.

Kind regards.

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We are currently at this location with a group of friends. Arrived at 9:30 am and could not check in until 3 pm. Lobby full of people waiting for rooms for hours. All-inclusive bar is actually not. Limited choice. Cannot even get well scotch. Telephone and safe in the room do not work. No hot water for 2 days now. Front office staff attitude stinks. At 10 am, specialty restaurant not available until 9 pm. Buffet food average. Would not recommend this resort to my worst enemy.

Room Tip: Book a different resort
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank worldtraveller743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Customer

We appreciate your valuable feedback with your comments and concerns related to your recent stay at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach so that we can more effectively direct our efforts to provide the high quality facilities and services all our visitor deserve.

We deeply apologize for any inconvenience you may have experience and we really sorry that we could not meet your expectations.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

DO NOT DO NOT DO NOT!!!!!!!!go here,,just got back feb 22 2014,,,long bad week,when we got there at about 12:30 on saturday could not check into rooms till 3pm,that was ok were told our bags would be put in a secured room,they were not, they left them in the main room. on monday night our room was broke into, took my cell phone, went to the front desk to tell them,got mad at me for to going security, they did come to our room to take a look,showed them the sliding door did not close all the way and they took note of it and did nothing. had the police come and they were helpful to a point,showed them the sliding door and they told me they would insit the hotel do something to the door,they did not come and fix it again after the police told them to.every day we had to ask the maids for soap,tp paper coffee refills and towels.the bars ran out keg beer every day,pop was water down out of the machines,food was o.k. most of the time.entertainment was good, but loud. no one to come and ge you drinks on the beach had to get up and go get your own. had people o the beach trying to sell you stuff everyday they were pests. i guess we have been spoiled by the great service we have got in mexico,that is where we will go back to next year so long to the bahama's IT WAS NOT A GREAT TIME, i would rate this as a minus 3 hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank maurice g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear customer

Thanks taking the time to shared your thoughts on this site.

We regret that your experience with us was not a positive one and apologize for not meeting your expectations.
We take our guest’s opinions very serious and therefore rest assured that your comments will be taken as valid points that will assist us in our commitment to continue improving the quality of our services for our future guest.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I want to say overall best beach you will ever find to stay at a resort, its goes as far as you can see, great to walk along, lots of chairs and huts no matter what time of day.

However, we travelled again as a family with toddlers. This resort is best of couples.
As a family resort, the person running the kids club was horrible!!

I woulld rate this resort 4** if not for that. You can look at my history, I've stayed at over 9 different resorts.

Food - I found even better then the last time. The Italian restaurant is fabulous, the late night stone oven pizza is a must. The Bamboo restaurant was great as well, such great flavours, sushi, spring rolls, teppanaki. Great. Buffet has everything you could ask for daily.

Rooms - I'd say like a lower leverl 3 star in Canada. We were in older section, so we know remodelled rooms are much nicer. Ours the beds were horrible and bathroom in bad shape. Clean is the main thing.

Shows - Trapeze show is a must, support a fellow Canadian she's amazing.

Big diving spot, lots of people bring their own suits.

Bar & wait staff amazing, they treat you well.

KIDS CLUB --- AWFUL!! I have nothing good to say. They have a great facility for kids, fenced in playground, advertise nightly the times its open, show on the board the kids schedule of activities but the girl is never around. It took me two days of asking to find out who ran it. Then when I found her I got "Its not open today!" I said not at all, she told me come back at 3 I can open so you can get into playset. If it was open, we surpervised our own kids playing games or colouring as she always had a sign on the door "At beach" "At Theater".

If you have children under 4, great place. They don't care, they'll be happy to play at beach and they have a great small kids pool Kids any older, stay away until the update staff. When we went in 2012, the girl running kids club was fabulous, our kids were only 1 &3 at the time though.

Overall highly recommend for couples. This is not a big night life resort, just a great RnR place.

Room Tip: Pay upgrade for Ocean view, those are renovated rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qtpiede19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Customer

We deeply appreciated you to choose Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach for a second time as holiday’s destination.

Thanks your for letting us your feedback regarding your experience; I am glad that you find improvement in our food selection and also that you enjoyed the night entertainment.

We apologize for not meeting your expectation is regard of the kid's club assistance; Please rest assure that your comments has been revised with the department involve, with the aim of correcting any eventual discrepancies with the schedules advertised and service provided.

We would love to have you back as a guest so we can fully regain your trust in our services.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews