We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Frills - Just Plain Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Didn't know what to expect, it was a little rough at first, but the location was awesome.
The rooms are a little worn and they are trying to keep up. For the pictures I saw of other Viva Resorts, this might be a franchise. But, the location is awesome. We walked for so many hours, to the right are some amazing mansions. Head out to the left and walk for miles and miles, find live conche shells and see more amazing homes on the beach. The Dolphin swim experience is like no other found in 3 other countries we have tried it. Well worth the money and the picture prices are amazingly low. The buffet was okay, but it lacked variety. So make sure to get reservations every other night or so.

Room Tip: Ask to walk around and find the building all the way to the left of the property edge. Get the corn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your holiday destination.

We are glad to read that you really enjoy our beautiful beach and the landscape you saw walking on the beach.

Regarding the food we apologize if you didn't found anything you really liked.

We would like to inform you that from you visit on November 2012 the resort has been changing a lot and we did a lot of renovations inside the resort, even regarding the food and beverage department.

We would like to invite you again in our resort so you can actually see all the renovations we made.

Ending we would like to thank you once again for your review and we really hope to see you soon in our Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort,

Best Regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,690)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,594 - 1,600 of 4,690 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Then look NO further,THIS property is for you! To say that my recent experience was a disappointment would be an understatement. Where to start? How about the visible mold in the bathrooms that when you touch it, it easily comes off, so imagine what a basic damp washcloth could accomplish. The mold expereince lead me to believe that even the simplest of cleanings was neglected.Now lets move onto the food and drink situation - as it became comical on day 2 - we were told there was no more food at the beach bar nor drinks...anything you wanted you had to go to the "Junkanoo" restaurant (and JUNK is right on). So you hoof it up to Junkanoo from the beach and oh, surprise - they're closed! And if they were open you would have a wonderful fly covered meal with birds flying around indoors to get your droppings. Completely sanitary - i know.
I BEG YOU TO NOT EVEN ENTERTAIN THIS PROPERTY. I'm Sure like me you Work HARD For Your $ & dream of enjoying an island vacation. Well if you come here, you will be out $300+ a night, have limited food and unclean facilities...definitely NOT a dream vacation. I took TONS of pictures that i plan on sharing with the management and Wyndham directly in the hopes of saving other travelers from experiencing my recent plight... ..

Room Tip: Do NOT Book A Room At This Place Please - I Beg You. The Only Tip For Getting A Good Room - Is To St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to start by saying thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort as your vacation destination.
However, we sincerely apologize for not meeting up to your expectations, leading you to have an uncomfortable experience with us. We regret not having an opportunity to meet with you as we have a duty manager available 24 hours per day, not to mention systems in place to address each concern as they arise. More importantly, we believe that our invaluable clients are deserving a worry-free vacation.
Our aim is naturally to please everyone; however, each guest is unique and has different expectations, no to mention experiences.
On behalf of the staff and management, we would like to apologize once again for the unsatisfied experienced you encounter and would like to thank you for your hospitality and review.


Kindest Regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon. The staff was very welcoming. Food for all tastes. Roo wasnt the best but it wasnt bad. Pool was great. About 5 minutes away from things to do off of the resort. Ocean was calm and beautiful. I suggest swimming with the dolphins tour if you go. Not the most romantic place but were in our 20s so a fun resort upbeat resort was perfect for us. Wasnt a party place or anything. Id go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrismartin3391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your honeymoon destination.

We really loved reading your review and we would like to thank you for sharing your experience with everybody and for write your beautiful review.
We are happy to read that you enjoy swimming with the dolphins and also our beach and the food.

We would like to thank you once again for your honest and beautiful review, looking forward to see you again in our resort!

Kindest Regards,



General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

First of all the price is great. Rooms are ok. We had an ocean view and you can't beat the view. We did alot of snorkeling from their beach, lots of fish, clear water and they clean the beach just about every morning. The staff is very friendly. The evening show needs updating, especially for returning guests.Went out on a few boat trips from the hotel beach with Trevor, who is friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Pizza is great, you have to try it.

We went in June of 2012 and had no problems. Went again in June of 2013 and it just wasn't the same. There were alot of sport teams in and it seemed like everytime we were at the buffet, there were alot of empty pans. Never did get one piece of bacon the whole time. It was definately not the calm vacation I needed. If we ever go again I would make sure to not book when teams are there again.

Good news is that they are doing alot of renovating and bringing in new cooks. (so we were told)
Might have to give this place one more try.

Room Tip: Building b has great views and does not get afternoon sun. (in case you got too much during the day)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank crusinwith3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your holiday destination for the second time.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you went through your second time here due to the sports teams in our resort but we are also happy to read that you are going to give it another try!!

We also happy to read that you see all our renovations from June 2012 to June 2013 and we would like to inform you that we did some more renovations from the last time you stayed with us.

Looking forward to see you soon we would like to thank you once again for choosing our Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort and also for the time you spend to write a review for us.

Kindest Regards,



General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We did this hotel as a day pass for a cruise and did not stay in the actual rooms. We had free range of the grounds and amenities and overall it was a nice resort. The downfall is it was very well kept with cleanliness as it was extremely slow there and the floors were sticky from the moment we arrived to the moment we left from spilled soda. Nobody once mopped it. The food was edible, enough said. I couldn't imagine eating it for a week straight and that's compares to cruise ship dining. It was a nice place to relax soak up the sun and down some drinks (which come in 5 oz cups) so be prepared for many trips to the bar where they expect a tip each time. It didn't seem to be centrally located the cab driver said we were about 25 minutes from the main Lucaya area. If the rooms were nice I would probably stay a few days. It's CHEAP!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suvracer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort on you day pass excursion.

It is nice to read that despite some minor issues you enjoyed the experience and that you are also considering to visit us for a couple of days ; we would love to be at your service and make you love our product , staff and all our facilities.

We appreciate enormously your comments regarding the common areas cleaning so we can direct our efforts to improve were is needed.

On behalf of the staff and management, we would like to thank you once more for your honest review and for coming here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach.

Kindest Regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wow, it is difficult to determine where to start with this "gem" of an experience. We had a group of girls going for a bachelorette party. We arrived and the check in experience was not bad, the front receptionist was nice. But we were informed there was a $3 charge per room to use the safe. Which, I have personally not previously encountered, but luckily once in the rooms, this was not the case. As for the all inclusive experience, it was the worst I have ever had. We had one bottle of water in our room, thats it. The rooms were fair, but the bathrooms were FILTHY. Both had slimy mold growing on the walls, that with one swipe of my finger came right off. So it was more than evident that they hadn't been cleaned properly. We had dinner reservations at 8, and had 4 girls to shower, so we didn't bother having housekeeping come because of our time limit. We had reservations at 8, but even with an empty restaurant, we weren't seated until almost 9, and that is after we called over a supervisor. The selection was 3 measly entrees and maybe 2 appetizers, printed out on a piece of computer paper. Not exactly the presentation we would have expected. We were told the only alcohol available was house red or white wine, despite the bar not even 10 yards away. The food was edible at best, when we could get food. The "snack bar" is often like pulling teeth to get them to make you a hot dog. The buffet selection was more like a cafeteria than an all inclusive resort. The alcohol is well only, unless you are a timeshare member. We were not even able to purchase any. Aristocrat is not exactly palatable to many people. We couldn't go to the pool or the beach without being heckled by "shelly" selling seashells, or jewelry, or braiding your hair. In town sure, but not on a private resort where we are paying for.
The pool was clean and nice and of course the beach was gorgeous.
We did find out that they are closing the following day for renovations. Possibly it will revive itself, but we won't be back. We had girls coming from as far as California, Ohio, Indiana, Tenneessee, and Virginia for this trip, and the resort experience was a let down.
We did approach management on more than one occasion, and they were very nice, but as a whole, the resort was a disappointment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flipflop526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Guest

I just wish to acknowledge this post and thank you for sharing this information

I am pleased that we were able to connect with you while you were still here with you and that you were satisfied with our follow up to your concerns and resolve the issue to your satisfaction.

Regarding the room, please be advise that we are currently close due maintenance of our general facilities so we can offer a better product in our day by day improvements. We appreciated which one of your comments as we do look at feedback as a gift as it allows us to improve on our facilities and service.

We sincerely hope that you will stay with us again as we truly appreciate your business.

Kind regards,


General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is the ABSOLUTE WORST resort experience you will have. THE PROPERTY IS RUN DOWN AND DIRTY - the lawn is overgrown and public areas are filthy. THE STAFF IS RUDE and do not offer the hospitality you would expect from an all inclusive resort. We had MOLD IN OUR BATHROOM, we were forced to eat breakfast, lunch, and dinner in an un-airconditioned building. At one point, we were literally told by a staff member at the beach bar, that they had 'run out of food.' I can't begin to explain how incredibly disappointed I was by the Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort - DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback.

Providing excellent service is our top priority and we sincerely apologize if your experience was anything less. It is regrettable to learn that you were inconvenienced in any way during your stay and that you were disappointed in our service and product

All guest feedback, positive or otherwise, is important to us and we will share your comments with everyone here to reinforce our commitment to providing the highest level of service to all of our guests.
We sincerely hope you will give us another chance to offer authentic VIVA hospitality in the near future.

Kind regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
3.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
256 reviews
2.9 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#3 of 14 in Freeport
1,007 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lighthouse Pointe at Grand Lucayan Resort - All Inclusive
4.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Address: Churchill Dr and Doubloon Road, Freeport 42398, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: $174 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Freeport
Viva Fortuna
Freeport Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort
Club Viva Fortuna
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing