We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a good time!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Georgia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Had a good time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

My boyfriend (now fiance, we got engaged at the resort, so this vacation will be something to remember!!) and I spent August 11-August 15th, 2013 at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach in Freeport, Grand Bahama Island. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and always willing to help, answer any questions that we may have and if we needed anything in our room, they brought it promptly. The food on the buffet was a little different than we are used to. There were a few times we had trouble finding something we liked. It was hot in the main eating area where the buffet is provided, so it sometimes made it difficult to eat, from being too hot. The fried conch that was provided on the Bahama food themed night was delicious-I recommend anyone who travels to the Bahamas to try it. The Italian Restaurant was delicious, and the pizza at the pizza place that opened at night was also delicious. The Bamboo (oriental restaurant) wasn't very good, but we gave it a try anyway.
The staff puts on a show every night and the shows were our favorite part of the resort. They were always great for a good laugh and we looked forward to seeing each of the shows. They always tried to provide something for everyone to do and enjoy. The staff seemed to really enjoy working their jobs-most of the ground staff are also ones who put on the shows at night and they really get in to entertaining and making people laugh and have a good time.
We tried snorkeling, equipment was provided for free by the resort, and you could use it for an hour. There were also other activities which were provided for free, kayaking and the trapeze.
Our room only had a shower-no tub-I think it did need to be updated a bit but there wasn't much to complain about. I was able to access Wi-Fi from our room also, which was a pleasant surprise, I wasn't expecting to be able to get online except in public areas of the resort. If you are expecting a fancy resort this isn't for you-but I think it is perfect for those looking for an affordable get away by the beach, or a family vacation.

I recommend using Reef Tours if you plan on going on the glass bottom boat tour excursion. They were very informative and it was so interesting to see all of the fish and my favorite part-sharks! Also, we did a combination tour of the island and shopping also, where the driver showed us interesting part of the island and he made it a very enjoyable experience. My fiance went on a reef fishing trip, but found it to be a bit crowded, due to the Carnival cruise ship people also doing excursions that day, and the time was cut short because they had to board their ship again...it was supposed to be 3 hours, and ended up only being about 2 hours.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brantleysbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to say thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.
We are thrilled to read how you enjoyed your experience here with us and all our staff and were pleased to read how you have enjoyed the food in all our restaurants, specially the Viva Cafe italian, as well the activities and entertainment.
We also are happy about hearing that you enjoyed our rooms as well as what the beach and island offered to you.
We would love to welcome again with us in our resort. Don’t hesitate to contact us if we can assist you with anything. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.

Kindest regards,



General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    1,406
    1,000
    578
    544
See reviews for
1,108
1,626
85
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (879)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We visited for the second time July 11 - 18. Other than the weather everything was fine. We had stayed the year before with a family of about 15, the weather cooperated in 2012, and it was much better. You cant' blame the staff for the weather, they do the best they can. Rooms were clean and neat, fresh linens daily. It really helps if you tip the chambermaids and the bartenders, you get excellent service if you are just nice and respectful, yes they are there to server you but they are NOT servants they are hard working people just like the rest of us. If you are rude you can expect to be received as rude. Frank at the beach bar is awesome as well as the other bartenders, we gave them a $20.00 tip day one and we never had to wait for a drink, etc. Besides that, they were watchful of our 19 year old daughter - love it here and cannot wait to go back!
Pros - value, staff, view, rooms, food (most of it)
cons - no ac in the dining room (oh well who cares), weather in July can be "iffy"

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach for the second time for your vacation destination.

We are really glad to read that you enjoy your stay here with us and all the staff in the resort even with the bad weather we appreciate you recognize the commitment of the staff trying to let our guests have a good time.

Ending we would like to thank you once again for your honest and helpful review for all our upcoming guests to read and also for your hospitality. We would love to welcome you again in our resort so don't hesitate to contact us if we can assist you with anything.

Kindest Regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Mold, unsanitary, dirty beach, SEVERELY watered down drinks, snorkeling equipment GROSS AND UNCLEAN chewed up with teeth marks, you have to eat your meals in a suffocatingly hot, dirty,disgusting open air cafeteria where flies are on the food, and birds are flying all around you while your trying eat and staff is preparing the food! While the staff also prepares the food in that same space that transforms the cafeteria in to a space 200 degrees hotter than outside! After changing rooms THREE TIMES (because of lack of cleanliness and broken or damaged fixtures in my previous two rooms) my third room was INFESTED with flying black bugs and ants! The beach was dirty, clogged with seaweed, and HUGE rocks that cut the bottoms of me and my boyfriends feet! The gym was also an open air area which was hot and very uncomfortably humid, not conducive with working out without falling out! There was NO resort shuttle as promised and the taxis are $17 PER PERSON ONE WAY AND $17 PER PERSON TO BRING YOU BACK TO THE "resort"; so in a nut shell you spend upwards of $70 just for ONE trip into town! The "resort" is smack-dab in the middle of NO-WHERE so basically you're held hostage in that dismal, disgusting, and depressing compound! My entire time there along with about 90% of the other suckers such as me and my boyfriend that were scammed was a NON-STOP NEVER-ENDING NIGHTMARE! I wasted a week of vacation time from work and out of my life that I will NEVER GET BACK!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SummerJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.

We truly regret not having the opportunity to meet you while you were on property so we could help you and get the situation solved while you were still here with us.

Unfortunately is right, we don't provide transportation to the center or we don't have shuttles but we have taxi right outside the property anytime of the day, a trip to Port Lucaya, which is the closest shopping center ( 10 minutes with the taxi ) is 15$ each way for 2 persons so roundtrip is 30$ and all the taxis prices are the same. Of course if the group is bigger the taxi is cheaper.

However we can not change what happened in the past, we will use all your comments and suggestions for improvement in the future.

On behalf of the staff and management we would like to thank you once again for your review and we would like to apologize for the uncomfortable stay.

Best Regards,



General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Hello
My Aunt invited me on the bahamas celebration cruise with two day stay at Wyndham. Our transportation cost $17 per adult and $12 for child the comfortable coach bus was waiting on all of us they loaded everyones belongings and the driver got on introduce himself and off we went. The ride was smooth and relaxing the driver educated us on the whole island as we past a lot of different buildings, ship yards etc....once at the resort its clean and nice landscaping. We get in line to check in but rooms are not available till 3pm we knew this already. There was a lot to do from chill at the pool and join there activities, go lounge at the beach, play darts, bingo, snokel, play vollyball or be daring and get on the trapeze or just go to the hut and eat all the hamburgers, hot dogs & fries you can eat. Or sit at the bar and
order ur bahama mama and start your vacation. We wentwent and got room key about 3:30pm open our door no biggy the room wasnt done. Management came apologize and put us in another room with in minutes. Room was cute clean and cozy and freezing lol....they brought our bags and we headed out. We enjoyed the resort, activities, entertainment one young man stood out and that was Lawson he really welcomes you nd keeps a smile on his face. Hats off to all the staff he just stood out. I can say this is NOT a college or party group resort its laid back and kids is all over the place. Very couple or family oriented. The restaurant was good it was just very warm in there and flies got on your nerves. We was there as soon as they started to serve to get it all fresh everything was on the menu. The shows was awesome. The beach was relaxing if you go to the water the locals will approach you to sell you sea shells, starfish etc....the one guy Seagull is so funny and actually will dive for you a starfish. My aunt bought 3 sea shells from him (yes he cleans them out). The kids enjoyed everything at the resort, i won a game playing bingo and was presented my prize later on at the show on stage it was awesome. I have no complaints about this resort for the money we was safe, full everynight, entertained and plenty to do. I will visit this again and recommend it to friends and family. People who go looking for it to be a 4 or 5 star its not, go with a open mind & its a vacation and just enjoy your self.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramona o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as a destination from all the excursion that the cruise offered.

We really appreciate your honest review. We enjoyed reading that you had fun during your stay and we are happy to read your great opinion about the second room you had, all the activities available in the resort, all our facilities, the restaurant and the shows at night.
Our goal is when we read that our guest are happy with what we offer and also to make them feel like home so they can enjoy their vacation as much as they want and we are really happy to have achieved this goal with you.

Ending we would like to thank you once again for taking your time and write this beautiful and useful review, for us, and also for all our upcoming guests to read. Don't forget to contact us whenever you have a chance to come back if we can assist you with anything.

Kindest Regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I loved this hotel when we visited about 3-4 years ago. As result, back in 2012, we invited all the family to spend one week there. We booked rooms #301 to #306 and one more on the second floor (a total of 7 rooms) through www.gobahamas.com. Overall we had a good time, EXCEPT the last day. We had paid the additional fee to extend the check- out time on one room and put all our luggage and purses in that room. We left to the restaurant to eat lunch and were gone for about one hour; when we came back we noticed all our cash, $420 total, was gone.We each had money in different locations: luggage, purse, wallet. Fortunately all our credit cards and valuables, including our passports, were left intact.
We immediately explained this to the hotel Resident Manager Mr. Claudio Natella who told us first we had to file a report with security and he will either email us or call us on our cell phones to let us know about the investigation. We filed the report with the hotel head security staff, who did not give us a case number or a business card because he said he did not have one at the moment. To date, we have not received any emails or phone calls regarding this very upsetting incident. We are all very disappointed on how unprofessional this "incident" has been handled and the lack of interest in customer service and satisfaction by the hotel staff (mainly upper management). We have decided to never go back to this hotel ever again.
When I came home I sent an email to the company's headquarters; no response either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VF201207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your second vacation destination with your family last year.

We are glad to read that you had fun the first time and you decided to come back in 2012 with your all family and also the second time most of the time you have enjoyed your vacation.

However concerning your big inconvenience your last day we really apologize and feel sorry for that, unfortunately we couldn't do a lot because that happened when you were leaving and we didn't had a chance to do all we wanted to do for your safety.

We really regret not having the opportunity to help you out with all that is in our power and we are also sad about your decision to don't come back again.

We would you like to thank you for your honest review and we still would like to invite you again after our renovation in November to see how different is now our resort one year later and how different is going to be after the renovations.

Kindest Regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lak
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Don't waste your money,PLZZZZ. you will be disappointed and regreted a minute you walk up to their front desk to check in.

Very very unprofessional. unwelcome faces. And don't even think about talking to their upper managment, because they are all in the same mode.
why??? my family (8 of us, 7 adults and one kid) arrived to the Hotel @ 2:30 pm on July 30th, 2013. For some reason, Expedia had put the kids (ages 20 and 18 as kids), so they didn't let us check in until Expedia send them a revised order. It wasn't our faults as all and I spent an hour explain to them and contacted Expedia to clear it up. they didn't care about us ofcourse....
...
We didn't have the keys to our rooms until 6:00PM. We rushed to our room so we can fresh up and hit the beach. Guess what? they didn't clean our rooms, it liked a war zone in our rooms, filthy, dirty. Called the front desk for help. "we don't have any other rooms available right now, can you move out of your room and we will send someone up to clean your room?????? We finally received a cleaned room around 10PM.

NO one came to see if we are OK? if the kids are OK? or apologize???

Oh!! Especially the Manager of the hotel name Tonisha Smith. OMG!!! She is something....I have no word to describe her. may be letter C will do.

Food: horrible,
but i have to say, all of their workers @ the restaurant, bar, and cleaning peeps are very nice. they even told to write a review and the front office people because they got the same treatments as me.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gn02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort as your vacation destination.
We apologize for not meeting up to your expectations, there for leaving you to experience an uncomfortable vacation throughout your stay.
Concerning our food and beverage departments, we receive positives comments about our meals and beverages; however each guest is unique and has different expectations. Our cuisine offers a great variety of options every day in meats, pasta, fish, salads, desserts and appetizers. Although we truly regret you could not find something of your preference.

Please be assured that there are systems in place to address each and every concern as they may arise. The feedback from our guests is a major concern which is why our existing tour operator conducts periodic surveys and us to carry out our very own weekly internal guest comment survey. Despite your experience, we have maintained an honest scoring range of 80-90% of positive reviews.

Our aim is naturally to please everyone; however, each guest is unique and has different expectations, no to mention experiences.

On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna, we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort caused to you and your family during your visit.

Kindest regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed there for 2 days and honestly I didn't want to leave! The staff was really nice. The beach was amazing! The food was okay. Wasn't really a big fan about it. But the beach bar would have these awesome burgers! Honestly the best pizza was the one you get at 10pm.. But other than that it was great! I love how the employees did the night show! The next day I would walk around looking for the employees that were in the show the night before. The daily activities were fun! I loved how they had archery, kayacking, paddle boarding, paintball, Zumba! Basically a bit of everything!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefy2419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.

We are really happy to read that you enjoyed every moment of your vacation, you had fun with the staff and you like the beach and all the activities.
We really appreciate you took your time to write a beautiful and useful review for all our upcoming guests to read, our guest opinions and suggestions is the most important thing for us to do better every day and make our guests feel like home.

Once again we would like to thank you for your honest review, we would love to welcome you again in our resort so don't forget to contact us if we can assist you with anything.

Kindest Regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
2.9 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
5.4 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
2.9 mi away
Taino Beach Resort & Clubs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Property: Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Address: Churchill Dr and Doubloon Road, Freeport 42398, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and BookIt.com so you can book your Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Freeport
Viva Fortuna
Freeport Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort
Club Viva Fortuna
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing