We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - An All-Inclusive Resort
Nearby Hotels
$165
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dundee Bay Villas(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$153
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bell Channel Inn(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sunrise Resort & Marina(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$491
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (4,925)
Filter reviews
4,925 results
Traveler rating
907
1,648
1,130
650
590
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
907
1,648
1,130
650
590
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsviva cafeanimation staffnightly showslasagnakids clubnachosstar resortdance lessonsa la carte restaurantsping pongpaddle boardswater shoesbad reviewsbeach volleyballeither directionbanana bayafter reading the reviews
Filter
Updating list...
1,843 - 1,848 of 4,925 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2013

3 girlfriends and I booked a 3 night trip to Viva Wyndham Fortuna in October 2012 via CheapCaribbean site. I'm very fortunate in that I've been able to travel the world and stay at some of the nicest places. This of course was not one of them - but we knew that from the reviews on TripAdvisor before booking it. For the 500 pp price tag (included flights from NC & all rooms/food/drinks), we weren't expecting the greatest food or accomodations. And we got exactly that. But we still had a great time and it definitely suited our purpose which was to have a fun, quick, sunny (& affordable) girls beach getaway. Would I ever take my husband here for a romantic getaway? Never. But for 4 girls in their 30's, we had a good time. The beach & ocean were beautiful and was the highlight, and the weather was exactly what we hoped for. The drinks were plentiful and free, and there weren't too many young kids around except for in the pool. The rooms were acceptable, basic but relatively clean - we had an ocean/beach view which was very nice. I liked that we were in smaller 2-level buildings rather than a 400+ room skyrise. Coco & a night security guard named Rondel (I believe that's right?) were our favorites to talk to, and were very accomodating. Rondel sang for us on request :) and also escorted us girls to the beach at night and back to our rooms so that we'd feel safe, which we really appreciated.

Downfalls: 1) First and foremost, there was some sort of girls-gone-wild/bikini//exotic dancer contest that was being hosted at the resort at the time we arrived. That was pretty annoying, as ~30+ girls in G-strings & pasties were crawling all over the place and obviously some low-budget adult filming was taking place. When asked, they all said they were there for a "swimsuit competition" but... err, not buying it. We're pretty smart cookies. I also caught a couple of them making out with male hotel employees in the back luggage storage room, which was classy. 2) FOOD. The food at the reservation-only restaurants was pretty awful. So awful that we couldn't even eat it and sent all 4 of our dishes back in exchange for a pizza. We saw quite a few others at the tables do the same. We also tried to order & pay extra for a bottle of champagne, of which they said they didnt have any even though it's on the menu. The buffet was not great, but it was acceptable - I was able to get juice & eggs & toast & fruit for breakfast, and for lunch I generally had a big salad. We also ate at the beach hut a few times, but it got old quickly as it's primarily junk food (burgers, hotdogs, etc.). 3) ENTERTAINMENT. We weren't interested at all in the entertainment, but the shows that we did see were pretty awful. Especially the lip-synching ones. The only one that was decent was the acrobatic show. The rest, I'd just skip. 4) CHECK-IN: Was incredibly slow upon arrival. But the bright spot, is that if you arrive early, you can store your bags at the front & still get your armband etc to go eat/drink/lay on the beach, which we were very happy to do so. Wifi is also only available at the check-in desk, which was a bit frustrating. 5) The building next to us apparently had some sort of septic issue that required heavy machinery digging in the courtyard, and it smelled horrific. Fortunately, we were far enough away that it did not seep into our rooms.

Overall, we had a good time. Do I feel I got my money's worth for the $500? Yes. Do I regret going? No. I had a lot of fun with my girlfriends, got a little R&R on the beach and came home with a lot of funny stories about the "bikini contestants". Will I go back? Pretty unlikely. But as long as you know what you're getting into and keep your expectations low, you'll probably have a good time. Be sure to pack yourself a large plastic cup or water bottle so that you can fill up your drinks - otherwise you'll be standing in line at the bar for most your trip. Hope that helps!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravelersFromNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest

We would like to start with a thank you, for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort as your vacation destination.

We apologize for not meeting up to your standards and expectations. However, concerning our food and beverage departments, each guest is unique and has different expectations. Our cuisine offers a great variety of options every day in meats, pasta, fish, salads, desserts and appetizers. Although we truly regret you could not find something of your preference.

We regret not having an opportunity to meet with you while you were on property, not to mention systems in place to address each concern as they arise. More importantly, we believe that our invaluable clients are deserving of a worry-free vacation.

Also we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused from the bikini model contest that we had during your stay here in the resort.

Although we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future.
On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to apologize once more for the uncomfortable experience you encountered with us, yet we would like to thank you for your hospitality and honest review.

Kindest Regards,



General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I spent a week here during spring break time for colleges and had a great time. I'm a few years out of college so it was nice to go to a resort that wasn't filled with older couples and had fun activities going on. The pool was gorgeous and the beach front had a lot to offer. I loved that the all inclusive included snorkeling and other beach activities that at a lot of other hotels would cost more. While we were there we did a Scuba dive through the hotel and the staff and experience was unforgettable. It's about a 10 minute ride into Port Lucaya which is a great place to visit at night time. The staff was friendly and the grounds were beautiful. The only complaint was because we were there during spring break there was some damage to the rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms without a beach view have wifi - but the beach view is absolutely worth it!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest
We would like to say thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.
We are thrilled to read how you enjoyed your experience here with us and all our staff and were pleased to read how you have enjoyed all the activities going on around the pool and also our grounds and our diving experience.
We would love to welcome again with us in our resort, maybe not during spring brake so you can really anjoy all the facilities of our resort so don’t hesitate to contact us if we can assist you with anything. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.


Kindest regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Staff was incredibly rude, food was absolutely horrible. Ran out of alcohol to which their reply was "no we are out, gin and vodka only!"Asked for sheets to be changed and was blatantly ignored. The only person who was helpful or nice was bellboy. Shutout to the bellboy. They ran out of laundry soap to which their reply was "I don't know when we will have more, call back when I am not to busy" not to mention they try to sell you on a timeshare with relentless pressure while calling and waking you up at 9am!!! To see if you will attend. I really tried to be open minded, only thing I enjoyed was the beautiful beach. Worse all inclusive EVER!!! Save your money for resort that appreciates your business and treats you like a guest, not a nuisance.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nickithecool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest

We would like to start with a thank you, for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort as your vacation destination.

We apologize for not meeting up to your standards and expectations and we regret not having an opportunity to meet with you while you were on property, not to mention systems in place to address each concern as they arise. More importantly, we believe that our invaluable clients are deserving of a worry-free vacation.

Although we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future.

On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to apologize once more for the uncomfortable experience you encountered with us, yet we would like to thank you for your hospitality and honest review.


Kindest Regards,



General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Arrived during a rainstorm & the power was running on generators. We were sent out into the storm with limited lighting & directions to find our room. Room was ok, older but clean. Beach & pool were fine. Food was terrible, no taste to most of it. When you asked any of the front desk staff a question they were not helpful. Coffee pot in room did not have supplies to use it. Grounds & buildings looked like the place had been abandoned. Not up to the standard that I am used to, and I am not that fussy. Would not return to this location.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room away from the lounge as it can get very noisy.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DebMax55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest

We would like to start with a thank you, for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort as your vacation destination.

We apologize for not meeting up to your standards and expectations. However, concerning our food and beverage departments, each guest is unique and has different expectations. Our cuisine offers a great variety of options every day in meats, pasta, fish, salads, desserts and appetizers. Although we truly regret you could not find something of your preference.

We also would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had due to the storm that we had in these days you were staying with us on property.

We regret not having an opportunity to meet with you while you were on property, not to mention systems in place to address each concern as they arise. More importantly, we believe that our invaluable clients are deserving of a worry-free vacation.

Although we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future.
On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to apologize once more for the uncomfortable experience you encountered with us, yet we would like to thank you for your hospitality and honest review.

Kindest Regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at this all-inclusive in January, and there is not enough money on the face of this earth to pay us to return. Our room was mediocre; had to request towels on day one which were not replaced or laundered unless specifically requested. resort provided in-room coffee pot, but no mugs or coffee to brew. Each time we inquired at the front desk, we were told it was "back ordered" and "should be in tomorrow". we never enjoyed morning coffee in our room. The handle/lock on the sliding door in room, upon arrival, was broken. Once it was repaired, it could not be secured and remained that way despite several attempts to have something done about it. We observed house cleaning services (on a daily basis) washing the floors in different rooms in the resort with filthy, black water in buckets with equally filthy mops. Swimming in the resort pool or lounging by the pool, became a war between us and the sea gulls (we were virtually attacked by dive-bombing gulls) and enjoying lunch on the beach proved impossible. The main dining area was so-so, the food passable and service virtually non-existent. Small birds are allowed to fly freely, land on chairs and tables throughout this eating hall; no effort was made to clear them out of the facility. The ONE bar/lounge on the property did not serve any liquor which would or could be considered "top-shelf" -- this is the first time we experienced this at an "all-inclusive". And finally, no matter how insignificant our request, every time we went to the front desk, we were told our request could be handled by "our entertainment staff", etc. (basically, the staff is very good at passing the buck). Oh, yes, one evening at approx. 9:30, we heard a knock on our door. There was a man dressed in dark clothing who stated he was from "housekeeping" and said "oh, I see the room is occupied" and then turned, walked away. Questioning the front desk about this, we were informed this is common practice by staff to "better understand which of our rooms are occupied on any given day". I questioned why the front desk doesn't simply call each room, and personnel responded b saying, "we'll, if you were not in your room at the time we called, there would be no way for us to determine if the room is actually occupied". To this I stated that if we weren't in our room when housekeeping knocked, there again would be no way to determine if the room was occupied. Front desk personnel simply responded to this by saying...."oh well!". in short, we feared for our safety. However, there was ONE plus to this resort...we enjoyed a phenomenal Italian dinner, complete with outstanding service and an incredible talent playing piano to serenade us and other guests. But, this was one tiny bright spot in a dismal week. If we were asked to recommend this facility or if we were asked if we would return for future visits, our response would have been a resounding "NO, NO, NO, NOT EVER AGAIN!!!"

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest
We would like to start with a thank you, for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort as your vacation destination.
We regret not having an opportunity to meet with you while you were on property, not to mention systems in place to address each concern as they arise. More importantly, we believe that our invaluable clients are deserving of a worry-free vacation.
We apologize for not meeting up to your standards and expectations, yet we would like you to understand how grateful we are to read your review.
We are in constant training with all our staff members in each department, by reading your review, this can help us to maintain and improve for the better in the future. Thank you for your candor and your patience with us. We appreciate and wish to retain our valued patrons.
Although we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future.

Kindest Regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews