We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for a weekend in April 2013. After reading teh reviews we were very hesitant about our choice. What we got was better than we paid for. The staff were always friendly, our room had been renovated and had a great view of the beach. We were in the B4 building on the first floor. Our room had an alarm clock, coffee maker with Wolfgang puck coffee, a mini fridge (not stocked or anything), 2 bottles of water, hairdryer, and bathroom products. Food was good and there was lots of salads, and many choices. Snakc bar at the beach makes great burgers, and the late night cheese pizza is excellent. We went to a couple of the evening shows and they were pretty decent, staff put in a lot of effort and should be commended. Probably the nicest part of the hotel is that there are ample beach chairs so there is no need to get up real early to save one, always lots of places to sit. We went into Freeport one evening for dinner, ate at Agave - food was really good, and waundered around the Market where there is live music, bars, and a casino. As long as you are not too fussy - go and have a great time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrWeSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest
We would like to say thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.
We are thrilled to read how you enjoyed your experience here with us and all our staff and were pleased to read how you have enjoyed the food in all our restaurants as well the activities and entertainment.
We also are happy about hearing that you enjoyed our rooms as well as what the beach and island offered to you.
We appreciate your honest and positive review for all our upcoming guests to read, it is always a pleasure to know our guest have this appreciation to our services and staff.

We would love to welcome again with us in our resort. Don’t hesitate to contact us if we can assist you with anything. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.

Kindest regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,757)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,785 - 1,791 of 4,757 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

We chose to stay at Viva Wyndham as part of the deal for Celebration Cruises and ended up being pretty disappointed. The primary reason for choosing this location was because of the all-inclusive feature. However, the drinks were extremely weak/watered down and the food was not good. We decided to try one of the special restaurants (the Bamboo) and that was quite the experience and not in a good way. The server basically told us what not to get because it wasn't good. The best food from the resort came from the bar snack area (hamburger and fries in particular.)

Our hotel room was not clean. There was rust and mold. We only received 1 washcloth and that was dirty (luckily I had read that this is a problem and bought my own.) We were afraid to even touch the mini refrigerator. After having to wait until 3PM to get in the room we were very surprised that it wasn't sparkling. We just kept it moving to the beach. After spending the day out, we returned to the room to see water on the bathroom floor from the toilet. Now we had to pack up and move to another room. The room was in similar condition but had a nice hole in the shower that I didn't quite understand why it was there. We could never get the water warm in this room. We didn't even bother to complain about the water b/c customer service was at level zero.

The only good part of this resort is the beach/pool. Be careful of the seagulls...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ashly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort as your vacation destination.
After reading your comment, we regret not having an opportunity to meet with you as we have a duty manager available 24 hours per day, not to mention systems in place to address each concern as they arise. More importantly, we believe that our invaluable clients are deserving of a worry-free vacation.

However each of our staff is trained to be courteous, helpful and professional towards our guest at all times. However, we do have zero tolerance with respect to ill-mannered staff; we are sorry for the inconvenience and annoyance this incident caused.
Concerning our food and beverage departments, we receive positives comments about our meals and beverages; however each guest is unique and has different expectations. Our cuisine offers a great variety of options every day in meats, pasta, fish, salads, desserts and appetizers. Although we truly regret you could not find something of your preference.

On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to apologize once more for the uncomfortable experience you encountered with us, yet we would like to thank you for your hospitality and honest review.

Kindest regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was very disappointed with the Wyndham resort in Freeport, Bahamas. I WILL NOT recommend this resort to ANYONE!

The following were items listed on www.vivafortunaresort.com but WERE NOT TRUE:
· No International Brand liquor (we were actually told by an employee that the resort had quite a bit of “cheap Spring Break” liquor left over that they were using and trying to get rid of!!)
· No 24 hour snacks
· No “Welcome cocktail”
· No stocked refrigerator/minibar in room
· No music channels
· No cooking or cocktail preparation classes
· No weekly hand craft market
· No boutique or liquor store

The following were items listed on Cheap Caribbean’s link to resort but WERE NOT TRUE:
· No wicker furniture on balcony/patio
· No Viva Circus

In addition, I had the following issues:
· Had to request additional towels twice
· On-site stores didn’t have advertised items
· Different VIP statuses – our VIP status didn’t get us some of the things the other VIP statuses did
· Front Desk staff was rude and couldn’t answer questions – they sent us to Guest Services
· Guest Services staff was rude
· Soap dispenser in our shower was empty and was never filled
· Activities calendar was not correct and there were few announcements about upcoming activities

I brought some of the issues to the attention of the Guest Services staff and they didn't believe me!! Eventually they suggested I speak with the supervisor but no one ever gave me a time to meet him.

I emailed this information to Wyndham as well. They didn't respond.....I guess they don't care what their customers think.....

Room Tip: We did get upgraded to an oceanview room because we booked our trip through cheapcaribbean.com - tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Steph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest
We would like to say thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.
We apologize for not meeting up to your standards and expectations and we regret not having an opportunity to meet with you while you were on property, so we could explain to you all of the point that you mentioned in your comment here on property.

About our food and beverage department and the liquor we don't have a store on property (the closest store is in Port Lucaya (10 minutes driving from the resort) but we do have liqour on property, some of them are just for Members and some of them are for everybody you can just ask for it at the bar.
And also concerning the 24 hours food we have breakfast starting at 7:00am closing at 10:30am, at the same time we open the snak bar on the beach (from 10:30am until 5:00pm) in the middle also there is the lunch in the main restaurant (from 12:30pm to 2:30pm). For dinner our 2 special restaurants open at 6:00pm and the main restaurant open at 6:30pm to 9:30pm. Then from 10:30pm to 2:00am we have the pizza place open on the left side of the resort.

We have the bellman that give you the welcome cocktail and also help you to find your room and if your room is not ready he locked your luggage in a room right behind the guest service desk, like this your luggage can be secure until the check in time.
We also have a refrigerator in every room (if you don't have one in your room you can just call the front desk or the guest service and the can send one to your room)
We also have the music channel, that is channel number 5 in your TV in the room.

Regarding the activity program we change the activities based on the time of the year you come, and for "Circus" ewe have the trapeze outside that everybody can use and also one show on thursday that is all trapeze show in the theatre.

Although we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future.

On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to apologize once more for the uncomfortable experience you encountered with us, yet we would like to thank you for your hospitality and honest review.

Kindest Regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Not recommend for families. Rooms are not clean. We had coffee cups with coffee still in them. The garbage was still there with used pads, an IUD, tray with coffee mugs were on floor by the toilet. Worms they call millipedes all over the floor in the room everyday. The chicken was uncooked (pink).
My kids were offered to do a line of cocaine and othe drugs on the property by a person not from the resort. ( ya not much security).
They had a week photo shoot with girls they called models that looked more like strippers. The poses were not with class. Topless, paint instead of clothing, a few pieces of tape and nothing else on.They posed where ever they wanted when ever they wanted 7am-2am. Should have been warned about it. This was suppose to be a family vacation not a bachelor party.
They don't care about the people there unless you are going to buy into it. You are better staying at the Ocean Reef where they care about the people they have.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 524Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest

We would like to start with a thank you, for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort as your vacation destination.

We apologize for not meeting up to your standards and expectations and we really regret not having an opportunity to meet with you while you were on property, not to mention systems in place to address each concern as they arise. More importantly, we believe that our invaluable clients are deserving of a worry-free vacation.

Although we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future.

On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to apologize once more for the uncomfortable experience you encountered with us, yet we would like to thank you for your hospitality and honest review.

Kindest Regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We just arrived home on April 19 th after spending a week at viva wyndham. The bad reviews for this place are ridiculous because I was afraid of going after reading the reviews on here. The people that write those must be very spoiled or used to 5 star treatment. If this is the case this is not a 5 star hotel. It is in my opinion a 3 and half, upgrading that even higher for the dive staff and the beach.

Our room was in the B section and was very clean, cleaned daily, clean sheets, clean towels and even facecloths. Working safe and fridge.

Buffet had lots of variety and lots to chose from. Fresh fruit, different soups every day, omelettes if you liked bacon, sausage, pork, beef, fresh fish, chicken. Different theme nights. The beach bar also had good cheeseburgers, hotdogs and pizza and fries, never ran out of a thing when we were there. The viva cafe pizza was the best and well worth the visit, usually around 10:20.

The shows were great and entertaining.

The dive shop was amazing. Bernie, Alice, Matt and Helen. They are all so accomadating and such good instructors, being our first time learning, we could not have picked a better place to do it. We can not say enough about them and this resort, I hope realizes what an amazing great bunch they have in that dive shop. We felt we made some great friends there when we left. They offer everything from beginners excursions to diving with sharks.

The beach as one previous review said was great to walk every day in both directions. You will get asked to buy something from the vendors, but if you say no they dont pursue. We had lunch one day at Margaritavilla the Sand bar and it was awesome, conch fritters and fish bites. We also had lobster at Berthas Blue Dinghy just down from the Sand bar and it was also very good. Nice cold beer and great way to meet the local people. We didnt mind doing this considering what a good deal the Vista was.

Also visited the market and went to the Wed night fish fry. It was also very good.

The bottom line is you cant complain about this place for what you pay. We didnt have spring breakers to contend with only bikini models, but I would also say for a photo shoot being done by bikini international, which is what it was, would they choose a dump? I am almost interested in buying the magazine to see the beautiful backdrop.

The Viva Wyndham Fortuna beach , is a place we would definately return to.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort for your vacation destination.
First of all it is always a pleasure to read how our guests enjoyed their vacation experience with us at our resort and that you had a great time in Grand Bahama Island not only our premises also our truly Bahamian atmosphere.
Also we are thrilled to read about your opinion in our food and beverage variety regarding as well that each guest is unique and also we have a very large variety of guest from all over the globe and Viva Wyndham Resorts like our sisters Island we are open for all Markets including passengers from the Cruise lines cruising our Oceans.
Also we are thrilled to read how you enjoyed our late night pizza as well as our shows performed by our animation staff. It is nice to receive the recognition of their hard work to perform the dances.
Ending on behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.
On behalf of the staff and management, we would like to thank you once more, for not only your review, but for your generous hospitality also. We hope to see you re-visit us again.

Kindest regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We just got back from staying at Viva. We were going on a budget vacation so we have no complaints other than the food wasn't very appetizing. We requested a quiet section, ended up getting room A1108, for the week. This was a good area to be in. Not much noise at night and right on the beach. If your going to come to this resort make sure you request a quiet ocean view room and you should be ok. It was so nice to walk away from the resort on the beach and have the beach to yourself. If you keep walking down the right side of the beach, you can visit a really cool local bar, called Sands Bar. It was beautiful sitting outside there and even inside. We took a island tour by a local islander, called Trevor. He found us on the beach and told us about the tour. You have to pay extra for this. He did a great job of showing us the island. We visited Paradise Cove (Deadman's Reef) and went snorkeling, went to the brewery, went on a nature trail, had lunch at a local restaurant, and got to see the outside of John Travolta's house. The snorkeling was amazing! The week we were staying a group of models known as "The Black Tape Project" were also staying. The girls would often take their bikini off to take photos under the cabanas. There were some families that left because of this. The beer is good, wine is ok, and mixed drinks ok. Overall, we had a good week. If your looking for a cheaper vacation to relax by the beach, you might like this. I wouldn't recommend for a honeymoon though.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms. Section A was better maintained area. A1108 was a decent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DachshundLvr24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest
We would like to say thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.
We are thrilled to read how you enjoyed your experience here with us and all our staff and were pleased to read how you have enjoyed our rooms as well as what the beach and island offered to you.
However, concerning our food and beverage departments, each guest is unique and has different expectations. Our cuisine offers a great variety of options every day in meats, pasta, fish, salads, desserts and appetizers. Although we truly regret you could not find something of your preference.

We also apologize about the models staying in the resort during your stay. We don't want our guest to feel unconfortable and we hope that this event didn't bother you that much.
We would love to welcome again with us in our resort. Don’t hesitate to contact us if we can assist you with anything. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.

Kindest regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The worst part about staying here was the fact that we arrived at 11:00 am but were not allowed to check in until 3:00 pm. I have traveled extensively and this is the most screwed up check in process I have ever seen in the Caribbean and Florida. They let us have access to the property but you couldn't change into bathing suit and had to carry around your valuables all day so we missed a day at the beach. They let the Viva Club timeshare owners check in first.

Also, our room was a beach view and was ok with good air conditioning. But if you have a problem, don't call the front desk. Go and talk to them in person. AND IF YOU NEED A WAKE UP CALL DON'T DEPEND ON THE FRONT DESK. WE ASKED FOR A WAKE UP CALL FOR 5:30 AND DID NOT RECEIVE ONE AND ALMOST MISSED OUR TRANSFER TO THE AIRPORT.

You get what you pay for and if you want real Caribbean drinks (not from a dispenser) and good food, spend more money and go to an all inclusive in Montego Bay Jamaica like we did. The warm items in the buffet were spicy but if you looked around enough you could get something to eat. They only had two restaurants-Asian and Italian. The Italian was the only good food there. Don't go to the Asian-I couldn't eat the food.

For all the people working there that stood around and walked around the place is mismanaged. They exploit the property by having guests like us that booked through Cheap Caribbean, owners of timeshares and every day buses full of people from the cruise ships. That means forget getting something to drink on the beach when the cruise ship people are there because that is all they do. When they left at 2:30, they had no liquor left at the beach bar.

Room Tip: Make sure you pay extra for a Vista Room with an ocean view. Being able to walk not too far to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blais43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest
We would like to say thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed our beach, our room and our property in general.
Regarding the check in time everybody check in is at 3:00pm members or not because the check out is at 11:00am and this time from 11:00am to 3:00pm is the time we give the housekeeping to prepare the room to our new guest in the best condition, with towels and all the amenities. Althought we apologize for the long wait. Anyway our property offers some big restrooms where you can change and also a shower that you can use anytime by the Gym and regarding your valuables at the check in our bellman can lock your luggage in a room until 3:00pm.
Concerning our food and beverage departments, each guest is unique and has different expectations. Our cuisine offers a great variety of options every day in meats, pasta, fish, salads, desserts and appetizers. Although we truly regret you could not find something of your preference.

We regret not having an opportunity to meet with you while you were on property, not to mention systems in place to address each concern as they arise. More importantly, we believe that our invaluable clients are deserving of a worry-free vacation.

Although we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future.
On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to apologize for the uncomfortable experience you encountered with us, yet we would like to thank you for your hospitality and honest review.

Kindest Regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
3.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
258 reviews
2.9 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
3,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#4 of 14 in Freeport
1,017 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lighthouse Pointe at Grand Lucayan Resort - All Inclusive
5.3 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#12 of 14 in Freeport
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Address: Churchill Dr and Doubloon Road, Freeport 42398, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: $189 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Freeport
Viva Fortuna
Freeport Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort
Club Viva Fortuna
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing