We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Management Needed...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
West Des Moines, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Management Needed...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed April 1 through the 8th. Simply said, the beach and water are gorgeous, the activities staff is wonderful, the dive shop extremely helpful and knowledgeable, the resort staff ok with a few shining stars. Its very difficult for employees to rock when the tools are not given to them to be successful. Several times during our trip, the bars ran out of product, burgers were served on hotdog buns, ketchup at times was not available, coffee machine broke down continuously, the pool was dirty, the hot tub didn't work and there was absolutely no attention to details. You can have a simple resort, which this is, but still excel at service...which they didn't.

With its location, this resort is a diamond in the rough. As soon as they learn to manage it properly and upgrade certain aspects of the property, it will be much more appealing. That will most likely happen when competition moves into the area. Until then, go for the beach and sun but don't expect a lot from the resort. Thanks to the Dive Shop team and the staff that had fun at their jobs.

Room Tip: Stay away from the pool area, extremely loud from 11pm - 1am Choose an upgraded room in the B area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TES66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest
First of all we thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach on your recent holidays!
We extremely pleased reading how you enjoyed your experience here with us, expecially with our activities and dive staff, for us is a big satisfaction.
We are also glad to read that you enjoy our beautiful beach and the location of our resort.
However, concerning the food, the swimming pool, the coffee machine and also part of our other services we apologize for not meeting up to your standards and expectations.
Although we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future.

On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to thank you for your honest review and for you hospitality and we hope to see you re-visit us again.

Kindest regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    1,406
    1,003
    578
    544
See reviews for
1,108
1,626
85
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (880)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We participated in this excursion through the carnival cruise line and regretted every minute of it. Fortunate for us, we only had to spend a few hours here, but we felt sorry for the individuals who were actually staying here! The food was cafeteria style and only mediocre in taste. Admittedly, it was raining when we visited and there was little else to do but seek shelter from the rain...and drink. However, the bar was absolutely ridiculous...the bartender was RUDE and did not have any of the drinks we requested. The piña colada mix was in a "slurpy-type" machine and it tasted as though it was watered down. When I asked for a Malbec or a Merlot wine, the bartender dredged something up from the back which was disgusting and not a red wine with which I am familiar. When we finally gave up and started drinking coffee, we asked for Baileys to put in our coffee. The bartender told my husband he didn't have Baileys. My husband then pointed out that there was a bottle on display along the bar. He said that it was empty. The service and cleanliness of this establishment was appalling. This experience was an absolute WASTE of time and money! NEVER again!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to start with a thank you, for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort as your vacation destination.

We apologize for not meeting up to your standards and expectations.
However, concerning our food and beverage departments, each guest is unique and has different expectations. Our bar offers a great variety of options of sweet drinks like out typical Bahama Mama or a lot of other kind of drinks.

Also we would like to inform you that the wine is free in the restaurant and in the main bar but just in cups, the bottle of wine is an extra charge and is avaliable just in the A la Cart restaurants.

Although we truly regret you could not find something of your preference.

However, we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future.
On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to thank you for your hospitality and honest review.

Kindest Regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Freeport hotels

dover
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We, (wife and two sons 13 and 10) arrived on March 29, 2013 and stayed through April 6. This hotel was very disappointing. The rooms are run down and the service is horrible. Organization of the water sports sucked. The food in the asian and italian restaurant was poor. Please do not book a family vacation at this resort. I will say the buffet wasn't bad. Oh yeah, the gift shop had cheaply made t-shirts and no bahama stickers. The only staff that was enjoyable or entertaining was the guy who walks around with the camera and takes photos. "Lady in purple are you ready for Urkel?" lol ok again just don't book this place. thanks

Room Tip: Get a room away from pool and dj on the east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tripa910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to start with a thank you, for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort as your vacation destination.

We apologize for not meeting up to your standards and expectations and we regret not having an opportunity to meet with you while you were on property, not to mention systems in place to address each concern as they arise. More importantly, we believe that our invaluable clients are deserving of a worry-free vacation.

Although we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future.
On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to apologize once more for the uncomfortable experience you encountered with us, yet we would like to thank you for your hospitality and honest review.

Kindest Regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here from March 29 to April 5 through Westjet vacations.The rep for Westjet, Michael,was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed his knowledge of the island.
This resort is rated as a 3 star, but should probably be a 2 star. Overall, the staff was friendly and helpful although the lady at front desk (late shift) was a little cranky when we wanted to change rooms for the second time due to noise.
We basically caught the last day of American spring break so our first night there we had to change rooms as we were right beside the disco and bar. Wayyyy too loud. Got another room closer to the main road and found this to be a lot quieter.
We were on the upper floor in an "updated" room. The room was void of coffee maker and clock radio due to the spring break crowd. These were returned on the 30th or 31st by a staff member. There was a hole in bathroom door and door didn't close properly. Airconditioner worked great. TV was newer and worked well. Had a very noisey fridge in room that looked as though there was something spilled all over the door and was never cleaned off throughout our stay.
The food was very average, and not at all what we were expecting. The sameness got tiring after a few days. The catering staff were very polite, and they were willing to help in any way. The two resturants that you have to book two days in advance were nothing special. One Asian, and the other is Italian. The menu is very limited, and although they only offer red and white wine they will go to the bar to get whatever you want. The snackbar on the beach was okay. Basic burgers, hotdogs and nachos. The late night pizza was very good, although it was survival of the fastest!
Overall, the beach is BEAUTIFUL and clean. The staff were generally kind and friendly. There are plenty of activities to do if you wish to take part, and the nightly shows were entertaining. However, the resort is away from everything and you need to take a taxi into town. There is no feeling of "glamorous" whatsoever with this resort. It is made for the spring breakers and young families. We had a good holiday, but will never return to this resort.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep, stay as far away from disco and bar as possible. Ask for a room that has been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort for your vacation destination.

It is always a pleasure to read that our guests enjoyed their vacation experience with us at our resort expecially concerning our staff, the activities program, our shows at night at also our pizza service at night.

We are also happy to read that you found your second room quieter then the first one that was close to the bar however we truly apologize about the cleaning of your room.

Concerning our food and beverage departments, each guest is unique and has different expectations. Our cuisine offers a great variety of options every day in meats, pasta, fish, salads, desserts and appetizers. Although we truly regret you could not find something of your preference.

Although we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future.

On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to apologize once more for the inconvenience and we would like to thank you for your hospitality and honest review.

Kindest Regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Spent the day on 4/4/13 as our excursion choice for an all inclusive beach day including food, drinks, water activities. We had a group of 21 and thought it would be a great, safe choice and value ($120/day) for all of the teens we had with us. It was gross and we all requested a bus to take us back to the ship. The staff was rude and the package was grossly misrepresented to us. The ship said the "resort" was shocked at our comments. The ship ended up giving us back $30 per person since we stayed until lunch. The corn syrup and rum "bahama mama" drink special was awful and don't dare ask for anything but the 2 or 3 choices they have available. The Coke was all corn syrup and no bubbles. I'd get to the bathroom early if you want toilet paper. It goes fast and I don't think they have anymore on the property. The 16 girls we had ALL asked staff to please replenish and by our departure after lunch STILL NONE. Save your money and stay on the ship. This was a bad Motel 6 on the beach that busses in cruisers to make the money and fill the "resort". Our group of moms and teens are not complainers and it was really about our kids having fun. This place was a comical and the photos were obviously taken when it opened some 40 years ago. My only positive comment was the French fries were amazing.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank countryclubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to start with a thank you, for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort as your vacation destination.

We apologize for not meeting up to your standards and expectations.
Unfortunately regarding the bus to come back usually with Carnival or any other excursion from the boat that bring you on property there is just one bus back to the harbour for every person that signed up for the excursion at Viva Fortuna. The only exception is for bad weather, in this case the guest have the opportunity to get a bus that bring them back before the pick up time.

We also apologize for the inconvenience with the toilet paper, I'm sure we had it on property, probabily it was just a set up problem. However we apologize for didn't replace it on time as you request.

Although we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future.
On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to apologize once more for the uncomfortable experience you encountered with us and we would like to invite you again on property for a few days to try the real benifits of our all inclusive.

Kindest Regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We booked only a month before so took what ever was available. The support from the CheapCarribean person was very good to locate something, although it didn't work out very well in the end.

I have stayed at a Wyndham property before in Jamaica and had a great experience, but this location didn't live up to expectations.

The beach is beautiful, and was by far the best part of the holiday.

However, the bars and dining were very poor. Food was never refilled, food constantly ran out. For 2 days, they had no red wine, nor bloody mary mix. Coffee ran out at breakfast. Chafing dishes were constantly empty.

Very simple items, but on a 100% filled resort in the middle of Spring Break week, you would expect proper ordering and fully stocked inventory. On the first day, they didn't have beer at the beach bar, and on one of our dinners at the Italian place, they had a handful of items on the menu, as they had 'ran out'. They seem to run out of everything over the 6 days.

I could go on and on, however the entertainers that work the pool and activities all day and perform the shows at night were terrific. Always smiling, working hard (Hector **), and interacting with all the guests.

I think Wyndham has some real management issues at this location, as inventory control is a simple function, and should be manageable during high season.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank heynowjerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to start with a thank you, for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort as your vacation destination.

We apologize for not meeting up to your standards and expectations and we regret not having an opportunity to meet with you while you were on property, not to mention systems in place to address each concern as they arise. More importantly, we believe that our invaluable clients are deserving of a worry-free vacation.

We apologize for the inconvenience regarding the beer, the wine or some food in our a la cart restaurants during your stay but unfortunately we have 95% occupancy during spring break and during all March our resort is full of students from all over the United States.
We really apologize for the inconvenience, although we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future.

On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to apologize once more for the uncomfortable experience you encountered with us and we would like to thank you for your hospitality and honest review. However, we would love to welcome you again with us in our resort, not during spring breake to enjoy our all inclusive treatment.

Kindest Regards,


Guest Services
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at this property from 3/22/13 until 3/31/13 and would never recommend this place (resort?) to anyone. We had the Vista Ocean View Room that had a great view, but the beds killed us. The staff were accommodating, but we asked every day to have our reading light fixed and every day they said they would see to it, but nothing ever happened. It doesn't seem like there is anyone in charge of this hotel at all. Any complaint went to deaf ears. The hot tub had a coating of scum on the top, the seagulls were relentless, because people kept feeding them or leaving food around for them to get into. The food was boring and equivalent to a mess hall or school cafeteria. Three mornings during our stay the breakfast buffet would include pancakes and french toast, but never syrup. The food was always cold and dried out. There were two other restaurants on the premises, but you had to book 2 days in advance to get a decent time. The Asian restaurant had 8 items on the menu, but only 4 available. Also, no white wine. The Itailian restaurant had no red wine. The beach bar served hamburgers, but cooked about 2 at a time when there was a line of 20 people waiting. When the college students arrived the resort ran out of wine completly, because the students (like us) discovered the wine was the only drink not watered down. We paid for all inclusive, with alcohol included, but it was more than clear that the bottles of liquer were watered down. When we asked resort staff about this they said it is because they don't want the students to get overly intoxicated. Well, don't include alcohol in the package...... I found the students to be friendly and polite. And yes, they paid to come to this resort because they were falsely lead to believe, that they were going to have all the booze they could drink. This sets the standard for this resort. They want to bring in as many college kids as they can for Spring Break to make their money, with no regard to the service they provide paying guests. Yes, this was Spring Break and the resort wants to blame all the negative feedback on students, but that is unfair and untrue. The students we met were polite and restpectful. They were there to have fun and were (for the most part) as disappointed as we were. They paid for this vacation also. It wasn't the students who were load and ubnoxious, it was the volume of the daily entertainment that was unbearable. You could not relax and enjoy the beach or a book or a conversation because you had to continually listen to a loud speaker blasting bingo, zumba, games etc. Why do those of us, not playing bingo, need to hear every number shouted over a loud speaker? Why do we need to hear every zumba step recited a million tiimes, when we just want to relax and hear the waves? Why on earth to we need to listen to the constant beat, beat, beat of music blasted over the loud speakers all day long.
The resort would like us to believe that the college students are the reason, but I will tell you first hand that this is so far from the truth. I will also tell you that you will see so many bad reviews about this so called resort, but then you will see one great one. Well, the review that tells you this resort is great, is coming from the resort staff. Don't waste your money on this place. We have traveled many places and had many vacation experiences, but this is the first time I have felt compeled to write a negative review. We fortunately made our own fun. The beach and water made our vacation worth it; as did the many wonderful people we met. Port Lucaya had good food, wine, and entertainment.

Room Tip: You have to upgrade to an Ocean Vista room. They are limited and even if you pay for one, you may no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debs1953_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to start with a thank you, for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort as your vacation destination.

We apologize for not meeting up to your standards and expectations. However, concerning our food and beverage departments, each guest is unique and has different expectations. Our cuisine offers a great variety of options every day in meats, pasta, fish, salads, desserts and appetizers. Although we truly regret you could not find something of your preference.

Regarding the Sprink Break our hotel accomodate the students for all March and because of that we have a different program of activities and shows for our normal guest staying in the restort in this month.

Also concerning our activities every Viva Wyndham Restort have an entertainment staff on property for activities like darts, stretching, zumba, archery, volleyball, bingo and so many other activities that makes our guest relaxing but also have fun with the staff. For the policy of the resort the entertainment staff have to do most of the daily activities around the pool and not on the beach, like this the guest that wants to relax can enjoy the beach. (usually the side in front of the green building, Bimini, and the side close to the sport house are the most quiet).

A lot of people come to this resorts asking for activities and we have to accomodate all the guest, knowing that every guest is different and have different requests.

We regret not having an opportunity to meet with you while you were on property, not to mention systems in place to address each concern as they arise. More importantly, we believe that our invaluable clients are deserving of a worry-free vacation.

Although we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future.
On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to apologize once more for the uncomfortable experience you encountered with us, yet we would like to thank you for your hospitality and honest review.

Kindest Regards,




General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
2.9 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
5.4 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
2.9 mi away
Taino Beach Resort & Clubs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Property: Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Address: Churchill Dr and Doubloon Road, Freeport 42398, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Freeport
Viva Fortuna
Freeport Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort
Club Viva Fortuna
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing