We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Freeport, Bahamas
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had the opportunity to do the day pass at club fortuna. It was wonderful. There were a lot of water activities to participate in as well as other land based activities.

The property is an all inclusive. Food abounds all around.

Did not have the option to sleep in the rooms. However, the best rooms are on the backside of the property, C,D and E as they are away from the activities and the noise of where the nightly show is held.

I plan to do a sleepover to test the rooms, but the property overall is very nice, spacious and right on the beach front.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the property (not in section A) as they are away from the enterta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sun_sand_and_sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to say thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.
We are thrilled to read how you enjoyed your experience here with us even just for a day and all our staff and were pleased to read how you have enjoyed the food in the restaurant as well the activities and entertainment.
We would love to welcome again with us in our resort for a longer stay so you can also see our rooms and enjoy our activities at night. Don’t hesitate to contact us if we can assist you with anything.


Kindest regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    1,505
    1,052
    603
    555
See reviews for
1,202
1,744
91
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (923)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This place is very clean. The beach is very nice. For an all-inclusive resort they really lack on food service and the activities for kids are lacking. I would choose another place next time. The rooms are old and are in need of updates. It may have been a better experience without children but I do not have a choice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pmaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort for your vacation destination.
First of all it is always a pleasure to read how our guests enjoyed the way we take care of the areas and also our beautiful beach.
However, concerning our food and beverage departments, each guest is unique and has different expectations. Our cuisine offers a great variety of options every day in meats, pasta, fish, salads, desserts and appetizers.
Concerning activities for kids we have a kid's club open every day for kids from 4 to 12 years that offers different activities every day. We truly regret that your kids didn't found any activity good for them.
Although we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future.
On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to thank you for your hospitality and honest review.

Kindest Regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

pros. Location is beautiful. Staff was friendly and polite. Dive shop staff was great-Alice,Bernardo,Martin, Helen- amazing dives at shark alley!!
Cons-food is cafeteria quality, noisy due to drunk college spring breakers!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suniata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to say thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.
We are thrilled to read how you enjoyed your experience here with us and all our staff and were pleased to read how you have enjoyed the diving experience and our location.
We apologize for the noise in the main restaurant due to the spring breakers but we are really glad to read that you still enjoy your time spent with us.
We would love to welcome again with us in our resort. Don’t hesitate to contact us if we can assist you with anything. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.

Kindest regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ND
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

To start off our weather wasn't the best but that is not the fault of the resort. We stayed for a week at the end of February so we got some rain and a lot of cloud cover. Check-in was very easy and because we were there early the porter locked our bags up which was nice and they gave us our wristband and we were able to use the resort all day. We did not actually get into our room till later in the afternoon but it was fine because we were on the beach. I felt the bartenders in the main bar were more friendly than the ones at the beach bar. I do not like having to carry cash all the time when I am on vacation, and it definitely helps to tip them. I would have just preferred to do it all at once rather every day(I know there situation and I know it helps, its just irritating to have to carry one more thing, just me) We had good service every where we went, it just got a little better when tips were involved. We ate in the specialty restaurants most of the nights, there was no limit so we ate the asian one night, it was just ok. The italian was just ok as well, but 2 nights I ordered the steak at the italian restaurant and both times it was very good. In both restaurants the appetizers were better than the main entree. The buffets were what we expected with just ok food but everything was warm and full while it was open. During the day the buffet is only open for certain hours so most days we just ate the junk food that was at the beach bar. Hamburgers, hot dogs, pizza, nachos, and chicken nuggets were at the beach bar.

Our room was clean and fairly well maintained. There was a little rust showing on some fixtures but nothing I would be concerned with. The room was a decent size and it had a safe that worked just fine the whole time I was there. My room was cleaned most every day(all based on my schedule) and I never had a problem with things being out of place. Even the days they did not clean my room, they made sure to set some towels by my door. The beds are just ok, not really comfortable, more towards the firmer side that cushy. By no means were the beds worn out. You can tell that the resort is older so understand that going into the place.

The beach was very nice, the sand was clean and free of rocks. We had no problem finding a covered spot, lots of small tiki tent type things all along the ocean. Like all over the carribean, there were always people walking along the beach trying to sell things but we had no problems once we said no, they left us alone. Everyone we dealt with was very friendly. The ocean in front of the resort is just ok, there is a lot of rocks and weeds throughout the swimming area. There is a fair amount of fish and a few rocks within the roped in area that you can snorkle out to, very easy, close to shore. There were paddle boards, snorkel equipment to rent. We only say the hobee catamarran go out with someone from the resort with guests on board, not to say you can't take it out yourself.

We used the dive shop located at the resort and they were all very friendly and very professional. We went over our dive locations and had a dive plan for each dive. We dove 3 times over 2 days and the shark dive was very cool, we had over a dozen black tipped reef sharks around us as soon as we got to the bottom. There prices were reasonable compared to other shops outside of the resort.

Overall it is a nice resort for the price you pay knowing that it is not a mega resort and that it is not a new place. I will most likely not go back again but that has less to do with the resort and more to do with the weather, things to do on the island, and the types of diving that you can do there.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to get the ocean view, preferably on the second floor. The view is amazing and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highmarked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort as your vacation destination.
We are thrilled to read how much you enjoy your holidays with us, especially to see that you enjoyed our diving center, such as your room, the food in all our restaurants, the bars and of course the service provided by all our staff.
We would love to welcome again with us in our resort. Don’t hesitate to contact us if we can assist you with anything. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.
On behalf of the staff and management, we would like to thank you once more, for not only your review, but for your generous hospitality also.

Kindest Regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Drunken University Students own this hotel at spring break. Absolutely disgusting free-for-all is putting it mildly. We were there during spring break. When I was trying to get our money back the day after our arrival there was a line up of families trying to do the same. After a lot of resistance we were able to get our money back and we were lucky enough to get a room at the Grand Lucayan. The Grand Lucayan does not allow University students during spring break for the above reason. That saved our trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to start with a thank you, for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort as your vacation destination.
We really apologize for not meeting up to your standards and expectations.
On behalf of the staff and management, we would like to say thank you once more for your honest review and for your generous hospitality and hope that you will consider returning for a true and positive experience.

Kindest regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I have been visiting Fortuna Beach for the last seven years. This is not a five star resort. However, the food has improved over the years and the resort itself continually upgrades. I've read alot of revues and the people who bad mouth the place expected a five star resort for the price of a three star resort. The rooms are comfortable, there is plenty to do and the food is good. The late night pizza stand is outstanding. The beach is really nice and you could walk for miles either way without any crowds as Fortuna is the only resort in the area. I also feel very safe on the Island and feel I could go anywhere without having to look over my shoulder or worry about being robbed. The staff is very friendly and a few of the staff members remember us from year to year. The young people that run the attractions on the resort, and there is plenty to keep you going if your interested, really work their butts off during the day entertaining the guests then rehearse for the shows they put on every night. All and all, they work about sixteen hours a day, six days a week. If you want to have a nice vacation and don't expect to be waited on hand and food, then this is the place to go. It's relaxing, clean enough, the food will put about six pounds on you in a week, the drinks won't get you drunk too easily, the capachino by the bar is great (have them put in a little Kalula), and there you have the makings of a really nice vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to say thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.
We are thrilled to read again how you enjoyed your experience here with us and were pleased to read that you see some improvement since last year like the food in the restaurats and some other changes in other department.
We are also glad to read thet you enjoyed our amenities provided for you, such as your room, the bar and pool and of course the service provided by all our staff.
We would love to welcome again with us in our resort. Don’t hesitate to contact us if we can assist you with anything. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.
Kindest regards,



General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I took my daugther who turned sixteen to Wyndham Grand Bahama. I read many reviews, both positive and negative. My all experience was very positive. I requested an oceanview room in Bimini block, we were in bimini 6, very close to main area and to the beach. If you'd like to be far from music and noise at nights, request bimini 1, 2 and 3. People are extremely nice, very multicultural animation team. A great diving team! Everybody, including cleaners and ground workers, are doing their best to please us. I found food very good (many salads, veggies and fruits). The gentlemen at the bar work nonstop! I did not have alcoholic drinks, but had delicious capuccinos at the bar. The midnight pizza by the Italian restaurant is a nice touch:) by the way, there are two skinny very nice and friendly cats living in the resort and coming by for pizza. Please feed them:) i used to go every night to feed them occasional hotdog and pizza as they were patiently waiting, i think that was their only meal of the day.
The beach is beautiful. I don't swim at the pool, i prefer the ocean which is breathtaking. The beach is clean and miles long, you would not meet anyone usually, except for a few vendors who are very polite, just say thank you, if you don't want to buy anything. There are some "tamed" seagles, very good and quiet (i used to give them bread slightly away from the resort beach and they were cute, waiting like dogs for me to throw them pieces:).
Go with open mind and heart, there might be things that not all of us like or are used to. But for the price we pay, I find it very good. Almost forgot, we made a trip to Lucaya market place a few times (a taxi ride is 15 usd), went to dolphins (amazing experience!) and to grand bahama humane society (to a dogshow, unforgettable:), scuba diving with the resort diving team (it was so beatiful underneath the water, and our instructor Matthew was a great teacher).
There are always things snd activities happening in the resort to occupy the kids and the adults. Have fun and relax!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort for your vacation destination.
First of all it is always a pleasure to read how our guests enjoyed their vacation experience with us at our resort and that you had a great time in Grand Bahama Island not only our premises also our truly Bahamian atmosphere.
Also we are thrilled to read about your opinion in our food and beverage variety regarding as well that each guest is unique and also we have a very large variety of guest from all over the globe.
Mentioning about our Staff members we are please to read and is always nice to get recognition from the big part of them, and not least we have in progress our Staff members training in Hospitality for all international Guests in all our Departments in our Resorts, and your review help us to improve and do better in a future knowing that our guest should have 100% stressed free vacations.
Ending on behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.
We would love to welcome again with us in our resort so please don’t hesitate to contact us if we can assist you with anything. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.

Kindest regards


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
3.0 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
244 reviews
3.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
3,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 14 in Freeport
998 reviews
5.3 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#12 of 14 in Freeport
1,293 reviews
27.1 mi away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Property: Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Address: Churchill Dr and Doubloon Road, Freeport 42398, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Freeport
Viva Fortuna
Freeport Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort
Club Viva Fortuna
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing