We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Aventura, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Weekend!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My friends and I went to the Resort for New Years weekend and had a fantastic stay. The service, people, and facilities were terrific. The rooms were always clean and the staff were always extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort as your vacation destination.
We are thrilled to read how much fun your friends had whilst staying here for New Years eve and bringing the 2013 Island Style, not only to see that you enjoyed our amenities provided for you, such as your room, the food in all our restaurants, the bar and pool and also the service provided by all our staff towards you all for a great memorable experience in Grand Bahama Island.
We will be honoured to welcome you all again with us in our resort. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.
On behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.
Kindest Regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    1,471
    1,038
    591
    550
See reviews for
1,160
1,706
89
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (906)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed at this resort with a group of friends over the New Year's Eve and I must say that the management went all out to create an awesome end of year celebration. We had great food, drinks, and plenty of music, entertainment, and partying 'til 6:00 AM!
The accommodations were pretty good, with the rooms being spacious and well appointed w/ all the basic needs including a powerful A/C, mini fridge, black out curtains, coffee maker, cable TV, hairdryer, and clean sheets and towels. We had a room with a beautiful beach view that made up for the lack of Wi-Fi in the rooms.
In addition to the very nice and clean beach area, the resort offers a lot of other amenities for all ages including group activities such as dance classes, bingo, archery, and even a trapeze! The entertainment staff was always at hand throughout the resort making sure guests were having a good time. Their evening shows were far from those that you see on cruises, but they were certainly a lot of fun and energizing!
The regular food service was pretty diverse with my only complaint being that there was no ice cream to go along with all the sugar cookies and cakes.
If you are not too much of a fuzzy traveler and you are looking for good value, fun, and laid back experience, I recommend Viva to be at the top of your Bahama vacation choices.

Room Tip: Request a room in the Bimini 6 Building for a wonderful beach view somewhat secluded from the pool n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PRomTen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort for your vacation destination.
First of all it is always a pleasure to read how our guests enjoyed their vacation experience with us at our resort and that you even staying few days had a great time in our Property in Grand Bahama Island.
Also we are thrilled to read about your opinion in our food and beverage variety regarding as well that each guest is unique yet we will mention the matter to our Restaurant Supervisors regarding your concern.
About our Staff members and their service we are please to read and is always nice to get recognition from them, not to mention we have in progress our Staff members training in Hospitality for all international Guests in all our Departments in our Resorts, and your review help us to improve and do better in a future knowing that our guest should have 100% stressed free vacations.
Ending on behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.
It will be an honour to welcome you again with us in our resort thinking that there is lots more to explore in Grand Bahama Island. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.
Kindest regards

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Burrell, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed from 12/26 to 12/28, 2 nights and three days. The resort is nothing fancy but was clean and the staff was very friendly, helpful and nice.Yvonne, one of the housekeepers was exceptionally nice and helpful and had a great sense of humor! Our encounters with her were a lot of fun!

ROOM: It was clean and well stocked. We had ocean view and wow! What a beautiful view it was. The sink faucet was corroded and needs to be replaced. The mount for the shower head is on the wrong side and the way it faces, water sprays out and soaks the bathroom floor! Poorly planned on that.

FOOD: We were going to eat dinner in the Italian restaurant but didn't care for the smell when we walked in, it wasn't appealing at all so we went to the buffet. I'm not a fan of buffets at any time, any where but it was decent food but nothing to be excited about. I thought the white wine was decent. The desserts were bland except for the custard flan which was delicious! Went back for seconds on that. The hours for the buffet could be a little longer with people arriving at unusual times to the resort. The food at the beach bar was actually good.Hamburgs; hot dogs; never ending fries; pizza; nachos and cheese.

BAR/ALCOHOL: I found all the bartenders very friendly and service was fast and drinks were GOOD. I liked that the bar in the hotel had a drink menu.That's great as I always like to try something new and that's the place to do it! The beach bar kept running out of cups (they're also used there for pop/soda) and they had to stop and wash them. I bring an insulated thermal cup so that doesn't bother me but if you had to wait that could get annoying. It is a shame that people leave the plastic glasses laying all over the place. I know it's vacation but would it really hurt to return them to the bar when you're done???

POOL/HOT TUB: We didn't use the pool but the hot tub was nice and the temperature was perfect, you could stay in it for long periods of time.

BEACH: is beautiful!! I've been to 2 other places in the Caribbean and this is one of the nicest and prettiest. The color of the water is amazing. The sand is white; powdery and SOFT. The water was chilly but it was December, what do you expect! There are a lot of rocks so you do need water shoes and you can't go out very far before you hit the rocks those unfortunately. There were plenty of chairs and shade available.

Bottom line, it's not what I think of a classy upscale "Wyndham" hotel but it was clean, service was good, all of the staff was friendly and helpful (hmmm...I have to wonder if how you treat people is how you are treated in return???) and our short stay was very pleasant. We WOULD stay there again and for a longer period of time. There isn't much to do at the resort itself but if we stayed longer we would do some excursions and explore the island.

Room Tip: If you want quiet the rooms furthest from the lobby are the best but it is a walk to get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ice2472002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posen, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have to qualify my average rating. The rooms look like they were in the process of being renovated and then for some reason they stopped. There were lumps of plaster on the floor, but the sink was brand new. This resort is right on the beach. It offers great activites - snorkeling, volleyball, trapeze, archery, zumba classes, etc - all included in the price. If you don't plan to spend a lot of time in the room (which we did not) it will suffice. The rooms are not fancy; they are definitely basic. We had ants in our bathroom and the issue was not addressed until right before we checked out. the rooms are relatively clean and they will (re)clean the room if asked. The grounds and the common areas are kept clean and the staff is awesome - hardworking, attentive, friendly and helpful. I believe the staff is the reason for the resort's success.

They offer a wide variety of food at the buffet so you should find something to suit your taste. The buffet food is decent. The "Oriental" restaurant food was delicious, the Italian was average. The snack bar offers snacks most of the day - so if you are a "snack person" you will be in heaven!

I enjoyed the family friendly atmosphere of Viva Fortuna Beach. They have a "Kids Club" where you can drop off your youngsters for kid's activities.

Overall, I was satisfied with my stay and would return to this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quieter. Rooms facing the beach offer morning sunshine and a great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VM T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We arrived via cruise on Christmas Eve and left on 12-28-2012. Room: C6104. Great A/C. Bathroom door swollen/warped and could not shut. Left about a 6" opening. Only have wash cloths once without asking. No phone. No clock radio. Door to patio difficult to lock/unlock and open. Never once did we get a dinner reservation at a restaurant. Always full. Scrambled eggs were standing in raw eggs at buffet. Tried to get pizza but you had to have a reservation to get it. Never heard of that in my life. The guest services staff, guy and girl, were not helpful. If you questioned something, they said they would have to find out but it would be "30 minutes". Always appeared that you were bothering them. No shuttle available. You had to take a taxi ride everywhere you went...... minimum of $15 each way. No transport from ship to resort and back was included. It was $17 for 2 each way but if you took a taxi it was $50.00. Zumba by pool was extremely loud every day. The walk from the buffett to our room had a spot along the way that either smelled like rotten fish or puke. It made us very nauseated. Had problems with the safe; had to call security. Also there were no batteries in it. $3 per day for safe. Refridgerator leaked water and it ran all the way under the first bed and under the second one. Had to call for someone to clean up water. Never fixed it so we could use it. Coffee pot, but no coffee. No bottled water provided. 1 pharmacy and one miniature gift shop. We definitely will NOT return and will be sure to tell others. Beer was not cold, only cool. We lived off fries from the snack shack on the beach and fruit and grits at the buffett. This is the first time that we have ever stayed at an all inclusive place and could not eat at the restaurants because they were always full. We go to Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic and it is a 5 star facility. They are very professional, friendly and top notch. Never have problems of any kind there. We have been working 7 days a week for months and really needed a vacation. Should have stayed at home.

Room Tip: Rooms at another resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank imdun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to start with a thank you, for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort as your vacation destination.

First of all we would like to say sorry for any matter that may occurred whilst in our property, we regret not having the opportunity to meet with you while you were on property, not to mention we have systems in place to address each concern as they arise. More importantly, we believe that our invaluable clients are deserving of a worry-free vacation.

We apologize for not meeting up to your standards and expectations. However, concerning our food and beverage departments, each guest is unique and has different expectations. Our cuisine offers a great variety of options every day in meats, pasta, fish, salads, desserts and appetizers. Although we truly regret you could not find something of your preference; regarding our A La Cart restaurant we would like to apologize for not having the chance to enjoy any of them due a full booking in our Resort and the high request on the same ones, and as for information or misunderstanding our Pizza is always open for everyone from 10:00pm to 2:00am at the facilities of the Viva Cafe, except the night of beach party where the pizzeria in consequence will be closed at Viva cafe to have the service on the beach at the Snack Beach Bar.

Although we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future.

On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to apologize once more for the uncomfortable experience you encountered with us, yet we would like to thank you for your hospitality and honest review.
Kindest Regards,


Guest Service
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Girard, Ohio
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My family and I spent 6 days at the Viva Wyndham in Freeport. I spent a great deal of time reading reviews about the site. The room we stayed in was below standard--it appeared dirty despite cleaning by the staff. The walls were badly in need of paint and the bathroom was run-down. It was quite simple. Some one left a pair of socks outside the patio--who knows how long they were there--but no one bothered to pick them up the entire time. The view wasn't great either--but like some of the other visitors we spent most of our time outdoors. The beach was fantastic! This was why we booked the resort. The beaches were clean and there was plenty to do. You could stay at the resort and never leave; there was plenty to do. We kyacked and took a catamaran lesson. Snorkling equipment was available. We biked down to the Garden of the Groves one afternoon, which is a beautiful park about three miles from the resort. We also enjoyed the food. The breakfast buffet had every imaginable item and was quite good. The other meals also contained a wide variety. I enjoyed the variety of fish and local specialities. If you have children or are a picky eater there are hamburgers and picnic foods. The two resturants on site were also very good (one Italian, one Asian). We did not go to any of the shows so I cannot comment. We did book a snorkling trip through Viva that took us out to a local reef. I highly recommend this. Although the weather wasn't great that day, we rented wet-suits and enjoyed the trip. In addition, we rented a car (conveniently located out front of the resort) It was wonderful. We drove to Lucayuan National Park and visited the caves and beaches. Worth the trip! One can stay at the resort and really never leave--all food and entertainment is right there. For the more adventuresome type, cars and additional excusrions are available. I'd recommend the resort. We normally take cruises so it was a pleasant change. The staff was very friendly as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msergi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort for your vacation destination.
First of all it is always a pleasure to read how our guests enjoyed their vacation experience with us at our resort and had a great time in Grand Bahama Island not only our premises also our truly Bahamian atmosphere.
Also we are thrilled to read about your opinion in our food and beverage variety regarding as well that each guest is unique and also we have a very large variety of guest from all over the globe and Viva Wyndham Resorts like our sisters Island we are open for all Markets.
Mentioning about our Staff members we are please to read and is always nice to get recognition from them, and your review help us to improve and do better in a future knowing that our guest should have 100% stressed free vacations.
Although we would like to let you know about your concern in room quality and service and that matter has been taking care of with personnel responsible for a better experience for next costumers coming.
Ending on behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.
Kindest regards

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Bottomline: Go only if you are stuck with Viva Wyndham timeshare and you have to use it;' else get ready for the third class treatment.

We paid extra for ocean front, the room we got where we had to search for ocean view, so I asked for real ocean view room, the room they gave didn't have hot water, toilet kept on running, yellow sink, not working shower; so we asked for refund or to give us their member special room; finally we got one working room. Still not to the standard of Hilton, Sheraton but just working. We got fed up of changing room, so we stayed there.

In our 8 days of stay, not a single day the phones worked.

We paid for 4 people, but we got 4 towels only on one day when I paid her tip on Dec 26th; every other day she gave us 3 towels and we had to go to guest services and beg for towels. They sent some times, else again we had to go to the front desk and ask for towels--- every day (except one). BTW, soap dispensers are just for a show, they are always empty.

Don't even bother to go restrooms on the property, every restroom is surely dirty.

If you book from bookit, you don't get VIP treatment and hard to find table for breakfast, lunch etc.

Bamboo and Viva restaurants are OK, just ask your friends what to order, since some dishes were worth directly to send to the trash. But midnight pizza was surprisingly good.

Some night shows are good, but really poor lip singing. Do you have to give liquor as a gift to all (even teens?)

Don't bother to send email to the hotel, they never ever reply.

Zumba timings keep on changing, people over poolside desk have no idea ever.

Main bar is OK, just ask for Bahama special cocktails since they don't make good mai tai or margarita etc. Bahama Mama was OK, Mango punch was good, coffee at the bar is really good. Never bother to order coffee @ Bamboo or Viva, it will spoil your mouth.

Never to go for Viva Wyndham even if we get it for free.

BTW, what deal bookit has with the airline? We cannot confirm it and get the worst possible seats after check in.

Room Tip: We paid extra for ocean front, the room we got where we had to search for ocean view, so I asked for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TripsiloveTotake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to start with a thank you, for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort as your vacation destination.

We apologize for not meeting up to your standards and expectations. However, concerning our food and beverage departments, each guest is unique in the matter; Our cuisine offers a great variety of options every day in meats, pasta, fish, salads, desserts and appetizers. Although we truly regret you could not find something of your preference.

We regret not having an opportunity to meet with you while you were on property, not to mention we have systems in place to address each concern as they arise.

Regarding activities we have a board where specified one and each of them with time and place of the activities and also we have the activities staff making sure that each activities in program are advertise not only each night before the shows also around the pool area where the main events take place.


Although we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future.

On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to apologize once more for the uncomfortable experience you encountered with us, yet we would like to thank you for your hospitality and honest review.
Kindest Regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
3.0 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
238 reviews
6.3 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
2,986 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
985 reviews
5.3 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#10 of 14 in Freeport
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Property: Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Address: Churchill Dr and Doubloon Road, Freeport 42398, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Freeport
Viva Fortuna
Freeport Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort
Club Viva Fortuna
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing