We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome activities, rooms need work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Posen, Illinois, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome activities, rooms need work”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have to qualify my average rating. The rooms look like they were in the process of being renovated and then for some reason they stopped. There were lumps of plaster on the floor, but the sink was brand new. This resort is right on the beach. It offers great activites - snorkeling, volleyball, trapeze, archery, zumba classes, etc - all included in the price. If you don't plan to spend a lot of time in the room (which we did not) it will suffice. The rooms are not fancy; they are definitely basic. We had ants in our bathroom and the issue was not addressed until right before we checked out. the rooms are relatively clean and they will (re)clean the room if asked. The grounds and the common areas are kept clean and the staff is awesome - hardworking, attentive, friendly and helpful. I believe the staff is the reason for the resort's success.

They offer a wide variety of food at the buffet so you should find something to suit your taste. The buffet food is decent. The "Oriental" restaurant food was delicious, the Italian was average. The snack bar offers snacks most of the day - so if you are a "snack person" you will be in heaven!

I enjoyed the family friendly atmosphere of Viva Fortuna Beach. They have a "Kids Club" where you can drop off your youngsters for kid's activities.

Overall, I was satisfied with my stay and would return to this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quieter. Rooms facing the beach offer morning sunshine and a great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VM T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    1,488
    1,047
    594
    552
See reviews for
1,179
1,725
91
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (918)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We arrived via cruise on Christmas Eve and left on 12-28-2012. Room: C6104. Great A/C. Bathroom door swollen/warped and could not shut. Left about a 6" opening. Only have wash cloths once without asking. No phone. No clock radio. Door to patio difficult to lock/unlock and open. Never once did we get a dinner reservation at a restaurant. Always full. Scrambled eggs were standing in raw eggs at buffet. Tried to get pizza but you had to have a reservation to get it. Never heard of that in my life. The guest services staff, guy and girl, were not helpful. If you questioned something, they said they would have to find out but it would be "30 minutes". Always appeared that you were bothering them. No shuttle available. You had to take a taxi ride everywhere you went...... minimum of $15 each way. No transport from ship to resort and back was included. It was $17 for 2 each way but if you took a taxi it was $50.00. Zumba by pool was extremely loud every day. The walk from the buffett to our room had a spot along the way that either smelled like rotten fish or puke. It made us very nauseated. Had problems with the safe; had to call security. Also there were no batteries in it. $3 per day for safe. Refridgerator leaked water and it ran all the way under the first bed and under the second one. Had to call for someone to clean up water. Never fixed it so we could use it. Coffee pot, but no coffee. No bottled water provided. 1 pharmacy and one miniature gift shop. We definitely will NOT return and will be sure to tell others. Beer was not cold, only cool. We lived off fries from the snack shack on the beach and fruit and grits at the buffett. This is the first time that we have ever stayed at an all inclusive place and could not eat at the restaurants because they were always full. We go to Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic and it is a 5 star facility. They are very professional, friendly and top notch. Never have problems of any kind there. We have been working 7 days a week for months and really needed a vacation. Should have stayed at home.

Room Tip: Rooms at another resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank imdun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to start with a thank you, for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort as your vacation destination.

First of all we would like to say sorry for any matter that may occurred whilst in our property, we regret not having the opportunity to meet with you while you were on property, not to mention we have systems in place to address each concern as they arise. More importantly, we believe that our invaluable clients are deserving of a worry-free vacation.

We apologize for not meeting up to your standards and expectations. However, concerning our food and beverage departments, each guest is unique and has different expectations. Our cuisine offers a great variety of options every day in meats, pasta, fish, salads, desserts and appetizers. Although we truly regret you could not find something of your preference; regarding our A La Cart restaurant we would like to apologize for not having the chance to enjoy any of them due a full booking in our Resort and the high request on the same ones, and as for information or misunderstanding our Pizza is always open for everyone from 10:00pm to 2:00am at the facilities of the Viva Cafe, except the night of beach party where the pizzeria in consequence will be closed at Viva cafe to have the service on the beach at the Snack Beach Bar.

Although we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future.

On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to apologize once more for the uncomfortable experience you encountered with us, yet we would like to thank you for your hospitality and honest review.
Kindest Regards,


Guest Service
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Girard, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My family and I spent 6 days at the Viva Wyndham in Freeport. I spent a great deal of time reading reviews about the site. The room we stayed in was below standard--it appeared dirty despite cleaning by the staff. The walls were badly in need of paint and the bathroom was run-down. It was quite simple. Some one left a pair of socks outside the patio--who knows how long they were there--but no one bothered to pick them up the entire time. The view wasn't great either--but like some of the other visitors we spent most of our time outdoors. The beach was fantastic! This was why we booked the resort. The beaches were clean and there was plenty to do. You could stay at the resort and never leave; there was plenty to do. We kyacked and took a catamaran lesson. Snorkling equipment was available. We biked down to the Garden of the Groves one afternoon, which is a beautiful park about three miles from the resort. We also enjoyed the food. The breakfast buffet had every imaginable item and was quite good. The other meals also contained a wide variety. I enjoyed the variety of fish and local specialities. If you have children or are a picky eater there are hamburgers and picnic foods. The two resturants on site were also very good (one Italian, one Asian). We did not go to any of the shows so I cannot comment. We did book a snorkling trip through Viva that took us out to a local reef. I highly recommend this. Although the weather wasn't great that day, we rented wet-suits and enjoyed the trip. In addition, we rented a car (conveniently located out front of the resort) It was wonderful. We drove to Lucayuan National Park and visited the caves and beaches. Worth the trip! One can stay at the resort and really never leave--all food and entertainment is right there. For the more adventuresome type, cars and additional excusrions are available. I'd recommend the resort. We normally take cruises so it was a pleasant change. The staff was very friendly as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msergi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort for your vacation destination.
First of all it is always a pleasure to read how our guests enjoyed their vacation experience with us at our resort and had a great time in Grand Bahama Island not only our premises also our truly Bahamian atmosphere.
Also we are thrilled to read about your opinion in our food and beverage variety regarding as well that each guest is unique and also we have a very large variety of guest from all over the globe and Viva Wyndham Resorts like our sisters Island we are open for all Markets.
Mentioning about our Staff members we are please to read and is always nice to get recognition from them, and your review help us to improve and do better in a future knowing that our guest should have 100% stressed free vacations.
Although we would like to let you know about your concern in room quality and service and that matter has been taking care of with personnel responsible for a better experience for next costumers coming.
Ending on behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.
Kindest regards

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Bottomline: Go only if you are stuck with Viva Wyndham timeshare and you have to use it;' else get ready for the third class treatment.

We paid extra for ocean front, the room we got where we had to search for ocean view, so I asked for real ocean view room, the room they gave didn't have hot water, toilet kept on running, yellow sink, not working shower; so we asked for refund or to give us their member special room; finally we got one working room. Still not to the standard of Hilton, Sheraton but just working. We got fed up of changing room, so we stayed there.

In our 8 days of stay, not a single day the phones worked.

We paid for 4 people, but we got 4 towels only on one day when I paid her tip on Dec 26th; every other day she gave us 3 towels and we had to go to guest services and beg for towels. They sent some times, else again we had to go to the front desk and ask for towels--- every day (except one). BTW, soap dispensers are just for a show, they are always empty.

Don't even bother to go restrooms on the property, every restroom is surely dirty.

If you book from bookit, you don't get VIP treatment and hard to find table for breakfast, lunch etc.

Bamboo and Viva restaurants are OK, just ask your friends what to order, since some dishes were worth directly to send to the trash. But midnight pizza was surprisingly good.

Some night shows are good, but really poor lip singing. Do you have to give liquor as a gift to all (even teens?)

Don't bother to send email to the hotel, they never ever reply.

Zumba timings keep on changing, people over poolside desk have no idea ever.

Main bar is OK, just ask for Bahama special cocktails since they don't make good mai tai or margarita etc. Bahama Mama was OK, Mango punch was good, coffee at the bar is really good. Never bother to order coffee @ Bamboo or Viva, it will spoil your mouth.

Never to go for Viva Wyndham even if we get it for free.

BTW, what deal bookit has with the airline? We cannot confirm it and get the worst possible seats after check in.

Room Tip: We paid extra for ocean front, the room we got where we had to search for ocean view, so I asked for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TripsiloveTotake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to start with a thank you, for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort as your vacation destination.

We apologize for not meeting up to your standards and expectations. However, concerning our food and beverage departments, each guest is unique in the matter; Our cuisine offers a great variety of options every day in meats, pasta, fish, salads, desserts and appetizers. Although we truly regret you could not find something of your preference.

We regret not having an opportunity to meet with you while you were on property, not to mention we have systems in place to address each concern as they arise.

Regarding activities we have a board where specified one and each of them with time and place of the activities and also we have the activities staff making sure that each activities in program are advertise not only each night before the shows also around the pool area where the main events take place.


Although we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future.

On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to apologize once more for the uncomfortable experience you encountered with us, yet we would like to thank you for your hospitality and honest review.
Kindest Regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a 3-night stay at the Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach through a deal with CheapCaribbean.com and went in February 2012.

The room was simple, but clean -- nice shower and comfortable bed. We didn't have much of a view from our room, but spent most of our time out enjoying everything so we didn't mind.

We were looking for a warm getaway from a cold Midwestern winter, and this was definitely warmer than the weather back home, but it was not extremely hot or sunny. We had partly cloudy weather most of our trip and a bit of rain also, but luckily the rain never lasted long so we didn't spend whole days inside. If we have another Bahamas trip in the future, we'll probably go later in the year so that we can expect it to be a bit warmer.

The ocean was a bit chilly for our liking, so we just took a few quick dips. Otherwise, we greatly enjoyed both the pool and the hot tub.

We liked the large, diverse offering of food available, but we often found ourselves eating snacks from the beach bar because we missed out on the buffet hours for meals. We tend to eat late breakfast/brunch and also late dinners and would have liked the buffet hours to be extended to accommodate those who eat at later times.

We also enjoyed some off-resort adventures to see the International Bazaar and the Port Lucaya Marketplace. We carpooled with some other resort guests to cut down on taxi fare. We found the bazaar and marketplace very touristy and were looking for a little more "authentic" feel to the marketplace, but enjoyed strolling around nevertheless. We rented a scooter near the marketplace and enjoyed cruising around on our own, away from the main tourist locations.

We also took advantage of a day-trip activity offered by the resort: swimming with dolphins. We really enjoyed this activity, despite the water being quite cold. The staff running this activity were all extremely friendly and knowledgeable.

Overall, I'm not sure we would come back to this particular resort. We love travel and warm getaways, and we're not especially picky about hotels, but I can't say that there was anything extra-special about this resort that would bring us back a second time. We took this trip for a winter warm-up with the CheapCaribbean.com deal, but we are not necessarily big fans of all-inclusive resort vacations. If we come back to the Bahamas, we'll probably look for a smaller hotel that may offer a slightly different experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Just returned this evening after first trip to this resort.We are Viva Wyndham owners, so got a two-room suite. Rooms are basic, but clean. Not as nice as Viva Club Maya, but staff is wonderful and beach is superb! Would recommend for families with young children or those who dive/participate in water sports, and need a clean, safe place to stay in Bahamas. A few changes would make a big difference at this property--Better coffee, better wine, a real full service spa, perhaps some better shopping. Italian restaurant was very good, cappuccino bar is great amenity. Gold Rock Beach at Lucaya National Park was exquisite. Good, basic place to stay, but rent car and explore island for best experience-- and bring your own wine.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank B E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna as destination for your Vacation.

We would like to start saying thank you for your positive and truly opinion and for all next visitors to read, we are glad that you have enjoyed our property like our sisters property in the other Locations.

We would love to honoured you again for another great experience, regarding that there is lots more on Grand Bahama Island that could be discovered for once more excited experience.

Once again thank you very much for the trust in our Service.

Kindest Regards

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

12/20/12-12/27/12

Although my initial few days were enjoyable due to my encounters with other guests,the remainder of my one week holiday vacation at this resort was horrible!

-Red Ants throughout accomodation.Unfortunately since the property was full (couldn't move) and I didn't want bug spray in the room,I murdered approximately 100 of these ants single handly!Pretty nasty!

-The staff in the buffet have bags of ice brought in for the machines located in the main buffet.One of the metal/steel staples/clips from the bag of ice found its way to my glass and it was almost swallowed!Thank heaven I didn't swallow it.

-Giovanni "Gio", a bartender at this resort was working the holiday premium bar outside on Christmas Eve evening where I was introduced to Jagermeister.Now.I believe I have a responsibility as a guest as to what and how much I drink,however,I also feel the bartender has a responsibility to inform a guest of a potentially toxic,potent,strong alcoholic beverage that if consumed in quantity,can make a human die,cause alcohol poisioning and or generally make a person ill for day(s)!!
Upon consuming 4-5 shots of this poison,I retreated to the common area and bar and met a nice couple engaging in conversation.This same bartender "Gio" appeared and said he would do us a favor and he went to the back and pulled a bottle of this Jagermeister and proceeded to pour 3 8oz. glasses full of this poison for us....deliberatly,intentionally and I believe with malice.He was pissed that management was making him work on Christmas day,that he could not be with his children and family during the holiday.
He was not authorized to continue serving this alcohol in the common bar where I was with these other people.They blacked out and didn't revive until 4:00pm Christmas day and unfortunately my body was bruised by security as I had fallen asleep and they had taken me to my quarters.
Upon awakening at around 8:30am,I craweled to the filtered water machine to fill my containers with such.I recall getting some bread and returning to my room.I remained there for 3 days as I traveled solo with not one helping hand offering a water run or to bring me some food.No room service at this hotel and nobody gave a damn what had happened,whether I lived or died!

Upon my departure on the 27th I saw "Gio" once again behind the bar where I spoke a few words to him and he just glared at me with a smirk and grin with no remorse,no apology.

I will never return to this property.The staff that I had trusted and become to know,when I needed some help,were not there for me.

Room Tip: Stay Away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TomCruises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to say thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.
Please note Myself , our Resident Manager and our Guest Service Manager was very familiar with you while on our property. We are sorry to hear you that you was displease with red ants being in your room.
In regards to the ice bag handling, please note we are audit by Crystal auditors each month to ensure that our Food & Beverage department always no have to handle food or beverage preparation and this is always done with a training each month.

During the Christmas Holiday we normal have a big celebration on Christmas Eve where we usually have a lot of the guest partying taking shots and drinking at this time. Our Bartender serve all guest during this time once they are over age the bartenders will serve the guest. In reference Giovanni "Gio" he is our Bar Supervisor at our hotel and has won many Supervisor of the month. We have since rely your comments to better serve our future guest.
Concerning the staff not assisting you for a few days, our Resident Manager came into contact with you and was rely to him you had a nice time drinking, taking shots with the other guests. During this time you never rely to him this information concerning the staff members not assistant you. In this case we humbly apologize in this case.

We are so sorry to hear at the end of you stay with us you did not enjoy or wouldn't return to our hotel, reason being Myself and my staff feel as if he was apart of the Viva Wyndham Family when you stayed with us.
Regards

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
3.0 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
241 reviews
3.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
2,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 14 in Freeport
991 reviews
5.3 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#12 of 14 in Freeport
1,277 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Property: Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Address: Churchill Dr and Doubloon Road, Freeport 42398, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, HRS, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Freeport
Viva Fortuna
Freeport Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort
Club Viva Fortuna
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing