We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great venue for free musci and dance”
Review of Count Basie Square

Count Basie Square
Salem, NH
Level Contributor
266 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Great venue for free musci and dance”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We vacationed in Freeport with 28 in our group all 18 years and over and had a blast. We hit the bars around the square and danced here several nights while in town. There was a man who would pull a woman from the crowd and dance with her, he was a wonderful dancer and kept at it for hours! He even picked a woman in a wheelchair and danced with her, whirling her around and spinning her. When the band stopped there was piped in music so the dancing never stopped. We had a blast and visited this area 3 times during our stay.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThatsAGiven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    133
    79
    19
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Had a nice time at the square...”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We visited the square during the day and went shopping, had drinks and are from the food stalls. We did not go back in the evening but we did hear it gets live at night. Had a nice time...Only thing that was a tad annoying was the people selling the timeshares. Will go back again!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kiyah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Drinks, Dancing, and Music”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

A great spot to sit and relax with a beverage of your choice from one of the many bars surrounding this area. It's right on the marina and centrally located. Great entertainment!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fun place to people-watch”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We enjoyed the Fourth of July in the square; we were delighted to see how much effort they went to in order to celebrate the American Independence Day. Good entertainment--we enjoyed the marching band and the other entertainment. Nice fireworks, too.

For the rest of the week, there was always music played over the speakers, and occasionally there was a live group or performer. The list of entertainment that is described on the website is not entirely accurate; much of what is listed didn't happen. We were disappointed that the weather caused them to cancel the Bahamian Independence Day entertainment on July 10. It rained heavily from about 5 am until noon, but then cleared up for a beautiful day and evening, so we were surprised that everything was cancelled anyway.

It's not a place I'd make a special trip to go to, but it was nice to get a drink from one of the bars and sit for a bit at one of the tables, watch the interesting people go by, and listen to the music.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rlynnprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing impressive”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

It just wasn't as impressive as I thought it would be for Count Basie. There was music being played over a speaker, but I don't think it was Count Basie.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jdods013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Count Basie Square also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Count Basie Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing