We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of Barbary Beach

Barbary Beach
Ranked #19 of 61 things to do in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
DC Metro
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We drove by this beach on short notice. The beaches are all somewhat dirty but this one is very QUITE. The whole time we were there we did not see a sole.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kkoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    24
    6
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful secluded beach.”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is a really pretty secluded beach but will need a car to get there. It's 7-8 mile or so east of Freeport. Makes a nice quiet get away.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SUZZZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, FL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hard to review and we never found it......”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We drove and drove over roads that were only passable with one lane, they looked like no one had driven them in years and years. We finally gave up (and we were pretty determined) and headed to the East End. We ate at Bahama John's in Pelican Point and it was Terrific!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank dlmorgan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very pretty beach”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Very interesting to get to...seems like years ago they had started to build a whole development then stopped....only a lot of roads...but anyways when you get to the beach it's beautiful and there was no one there!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank avz156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We rented a car for the day to go to see some sights and luckily found this beach. It was so quiet and peaceful. If you can, pack a picnic lunch and bring a chair and enjoy the serenity.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank broomea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbary Beach also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Barbary Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing