We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise island”
Review of Royal Islander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Islander
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“paradise island”
Reviewed January 13, 2011

royal islander is a good resort
it was my first time and i really appreciate their service
it's very clean and they are very welcoming

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aboubacar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    21
    18
    11
    15
See reviews for
9
13
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2011

It was my forth time down there. Really nice hotel and staff. In front of the International Bazar, close to restaurants, drugstore, liquor store, gas station. They offer transportation to Xanadu Beach every days, almost every hour. They have a nice pool and Jacuzzi, a bar and restaurant. There's also some bars around the hotel where you can go by walk (Sports bar, Garden bar, Amnesia club etc ....). It's definitely the best hotel for a large group on vacation. You're also close to Port Lucaya, the Casino and Taino beach (Bone fire and Fried fish, local events) where you can go in taxi for 10$ + or - depends. The owner is a wonderful woman who wants people to remember their trip. "It's a treasure that stays for ever in our minds and that we will always remember" ,she said to me once. I agree with her.... Thanks for every thing!!! We really had a great time once again! See you all next year!!!
xx
Bianca Smith, Québec, Canada

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bianca2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Hotel: At first glance we were shocked - yes, coming from the Westin Diplomat to the Royal Islander was a major downgrade, but you adjust after 4 Rum 151 drinks and life is good again. The "restaurant" is only open for limited hours, but there's a burger king and KFC around the corner. The waitress there "her name escapes me" was very nice and you can see she worked hard for her family so I appreciated her very good service and tipped her more than the actually breakfast (stay away from the "bacon"). The beds are HARD, but again.. open mouth insert enough rum and it feels like you're sleeping in heaven.

Transportation: We paid $2 pp for a taxi from the harbor to the hotel. $1.75 for the bus (which has no schedule and stops running at 8 pm or so) from the Royal Islander to Port Lacaya Marketplace. Expect vans labeled taxi and bus to be packed with tourists.

Shopping: Port Lacaya Marketplace. The food and shops were grossly overpriced so we ate one meal and bailed. If you're used to NY prices, then it would seem reasonable but for us we could beat all the prices at the local walgreens. The nightclub Amnesia???? in freeport next to the royal islander was closed (but heard there was one at the lucaya casino) and the international bazzaar was 75% closed.

Nice surprise: Now the best $60 spent was Ester's personal 3 hr tour of the island, the residential homes, the kentucky fried chicken founder castle, the marketplace and the beaches. Ester is the "concierge" at the Royal Islander, with her bubbly personality, we fit right in. She took us to the fruit market, which was mainly closed on Sunday, but two shops were open Mr. Conch fritters man and the drink stand across the alley from him. Before you knew it, we were dancing in the alley drinking some concoction of a drink and enjoying the bahamaian locals. Not getting any kickbacks or promos but she was awesome and I look forward to seeing her again and bringing about 20 people with us to see how we can all fit in her van! Call her and tell her Jerry & Ora said hey! Her number: 242-352-9176 or 242-441-3764

Resort Lunch: The downside - we fell for the 3 hr free lunch, free 6 tshirts and 1 wk vacation resort spill. the lunch was sandwiches and the resort exterior was old, but the rooms were very modern. The $9490 payable today sticker price just screamed are you freaking kidding me! So not worth it for us.

Overall: Freeport/Lacaya is not Nassau so manage your expectations accordingly.. no one carries a watch or knows the time and after asking about 10 times, you'll soon give up and learn to go with the flow. sundays are church day so expect 80% of the shops to be closed until night time. Yes, you can do all the activities you want, but for us, we just wanted to put our feet in the sand, watch the sun set and have as many drinks as we can stomach.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mskeepitmoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2010

This place isn't near the beach, but you shouldn't expect that for what this place costs... for me, in Jan., I got it for $58, after tax. It was convenient to the bazzar or market or whatever that place is called. There is a bar across the street that serves food. I was there to fish and basically just slept in the room, didn't hang out there. The internet was fast and even free, despite a sign that said it was $10 a day. This isn't the Hilton or W. Know that going in. If you are looking for a place to lay your weary head, tired from a day being out exploring, kayaking, fishing, whatever, this is a good place to do that. Not a place for the family with kids or a wife who likes a really nice view and awesome pool.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjornorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2010

I love Freeport it very laid back. The people are friendly and the food is great. I was not too sure about the hotel because I read some of the reviews before going but I am glad that I was able to form my own opinions. The rooms were clean and spacious and so was the pool area. It is not a 5 star hotel but we did not expect it to be. The staff was more than helpful. The moment we arrived we were looking for a place to eat, the lady at the information desk called us a cab and suggested some nice restaurants in Port Lucaya. Any information we needed they were more than willing to help. We booked with Discovery Cruise and everything was paid in full we had no problems with any extra charges are anything. We did not get to do much on the island because it was raining all day Saturday and it was very cold so I suggest that you don't go in January. But apart from that the island was safe, calm, lovely and the locals were exceptionally kind.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Royal101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west palm beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2010

i thought my room was paid an full, i had to get a iron from the front desk an it had a shortage in it. the blow dryer didnt work. the parking has no lights, i felt unsafe it was so dark

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mspalmbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2010

Most things around this hotel are closed (>80% have been closed for 4 years. The International Bazaar, casino, most restaurants and bars all closed), if you go there we advise on hiring a car since the beach is very far away too. We didn't experience the staff as being very friendly. When asking about information they weren't helpful and even provided us with wrong information on two occasions. The rooms are basic but clean. If you are looking for a hotel on Grand Bahama we suggest Port Lucaya as more things will be open there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraMilNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
3.3 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
3.9 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.0 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sunrise Resort & Marina
Sunrise Resort & Marina
#7 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Islander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Islander

Property: Royal Islander
Address: The Mall Drive, Freeport F-42549, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Islander 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Islander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Islander Freeport
Royal Islander Hotel Freeport
Royal Islander Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing