We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not a bad place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Islander

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Islander
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Freeport
Gatlinburg, TN
Level Contributor
306 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Not a bad place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

It is not on the beach. That is the main drawback. It is in the middle of town. But, it is reasonably priced and you can get to the beach, shops, casino, and everything else for a $1.25 bus ride. The place has a nice pool, hot tub, ande restarant. The people are very friendly and helpful. They also have a guest laundry if you need to cleanup some clothes.

Room Tip: I prefer ground level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Foxtrot-BandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    19
    18
    9
    13
See reviews for
7
12
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Three of us stayed here for work purposes. All given double rooms but were widely spaced apart due to most rooms being twins.

In none of the rooms did the showers work properly. Low pressure understandable due to the water supply on the island but all the shower heads could have been doing with dismantled and cleaned as only about half the nozzles worked. A lot of ants were noted in my bathroom (and one of my work colleagues) and spread to the work table and sideboards prior to leaving (housekeeping did say on the 2nd morning that she had noted the ants and sprayed them but this just seemed to multiply the number!).

Good sized room and comfortable bed, plenty hanging space for clothes. There was a fridge in the room but no kettle. The fridge in one of the other rooms was very loud and if it had been in my room would have been switched off.

Breakfasts were okay, bar service at night was somewhat forced - it being off season and only about 10 rooms occupied the bar person seemed to prefer waiting inside until it looked as if you wanted a drink.

Bit tired and needs maintenance, saying that they were going around painting the doors when we were there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RussellERennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
204 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is nice but needs minor repairs. If not done, things will only get worse. Safety is of concern based on no active phone in the rooms that work. This has been going on for some period of time. If you need the front desk or security, you have to walk up to the front desk. The rooms need little items repaired that are visible but not taken care of.

The resturant has a very limited menu due to lack of customers and is not real food but boxed and put in a microwave for some items. Not a bad breakfast special though.

Staff is very friendly and supportive. They do act on request quickly.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsoard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Abaco Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The price is cheap...the room not so clean.I stayed here before and will never go back the place is a mess and there is a club next door where there is always some party going on,we stayed one night and had to move the next day.if you're looking for a place to lay your head and worried if your sheets are clean this is the place for you

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mavysweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Freeport hotels

North America
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We found ourselves 'stuck' in Freeport while our boat was being repaired so needed a place to stay. The Royal Islander is basically a standard motel but the price was excellent and we found it to be well cared for and clean with friendly staff. It is located in the downtown area near the International Bazaar, which lacks much in the way of nearby restaurants or amenities. A restaurant on site serves a good breakfast at a very reasonable cost. There is a nice pool but the hot tub was not hot--not even lukewarm. A coffee maker in the room would have been a nice addition to the mini fridge. Free wi-fi was great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderWoman0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, TN
Level Contributor
306 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

This is my fourth trip to Freeport and my fourth stay at the Royal Islander. As you may guess by the fact that I keep coming back here, I am well satisfied with the property. They are not on the beach and therefore have a better price and are quieter. There are a lot of kids in Freeport now for spring break. But, the hotel is quite with just a few other guests, mostly couples. They have a great pool and hot tub. The restaurant is convenient and moderately priced. When you are ready to go shopping, dining, or to the beach, you can get a taxi for $14 one way to Port Lucaya.

Room Tip: A ground floor room is always my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxtrot-BandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, TN
Level Contributor
306 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

This used to be in a busy section of town. But now, most everything is shutdown around it. Howere it is still a very nice clean place to stay is you don't want on the beach. You can get a taxi to where all the action is happening, I have stayed here twice and I would do it agian.

Room Tip: I always stay on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxtrot-BandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
3.9 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.3 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 16 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sunrise Resort & Marina
Sunrise Resort & Marina
#7 of 16 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 16 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 stars 2,735 reviews
2.9 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 16 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 stars 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Islander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Islander

Property: Royal Islander
Address: The Mall Drive, Freeport F-42549, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Islander 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Royal Islander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Islander Freeport
Royal Islander Hotel Freeport
Royal Islander Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing