We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A review of a different nature :) :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed March 21, 2014

On my 2 trips to the Bahamas I did not stay at Ocean Reef but I wanted to give them a review..I wanted to give your Taxi Driver a review..Hayward who works out of your resort is awesome..He took myself and some of my family on 2 Island tours and we had the best time ever..He is does your Island proud and he excellent at his job!! Your resort is very lucky to have him..A+

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Emma19592013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 373 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

The place is pretty laid-back, so if you are looking for a "party" resort, this is not for you. The staff was very pleasant, courteous and entertaining activities staff. All of the slips were occupied by large (40'+) boats, most of which were sailboats, and all of the boaters were very friendly and down-to-earth (not snooty). The resort provides a shuttle to the beach every day at 10:00 AM with pick-up at 2:00 PM. They also provide shuttle to grocery store on Monday and Saturday. Groceries are VERY expensive in Freeport. We took our own meat, canned fish, boxed side dishes, etc.....Went coral reef fishing with a "local" who kept his boat at the marina; his name is Les and knows his stuff. We caught several fish and cooked them in our condo; can't get fresher fish than that can you? He only charges $60 per person for 1/2 day. Some of the amenities/activities they offered at the resort included bingo on most days, "Monday Madness" free Bahama Mama's and dinner to guests, movie night, etc....and, of course like more resorts, timeshare presentations - yippee........On a side note, there is a small family-owned bar on the beach about 2 miles from the resort called "The $2 Bar", and it's a hoot.....basically a dump but a happening place (for both legal and illegal activities)........check it out................

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed with a friend in her condo. Nice resort and would have given it a high rating but with the disappointment of the boaters that have taken over this place. It was quite clear that the boaters ran the tennis courts and the Monday welcome party. They took over the upper portion and when I asked if I could have a couple of the chairs for the rest of my party was told NO!!! They were the first up to get food and free cocktails. When playing tennis they made it clear that they had the court for the first 3 to 4 hours of the AM. If we were playing they pretty much showed up and intimidate you until you left. We were welcome to join them but we were already playing so we could either leave or play with their group. Made us feel very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tami O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Went to Ocean Reef Yacht and Resort Club (ORYC) with my family (wife and 4 children, all kids were under 5 years old) from January 25th 2014 thru February 1st 2014. We stayed in room 416 which was a three (3) bedroom, all rooms were clean included a pull out bed in the living room. The rooms has two (2) twin beds in one, a queen in another and a king in the master. There were some minor cosmetic issues by the place was great for our family (one of the only places on the island with a 3 bedroom unit). We rented a 7 passenger van and visited the grocery store nearby which was near Port Lucaya. A ten (10) minute drive would get you practically anywhere on the island. Great location to stay!!
There was a FREE welcome party with drinks (Bahama Mamas) for all including punch for the kids. Local food was served at the party and it was amazing. We drove to local beaches and parks for the kids (less than 2 minutes away). The pool was always available for the kids to enjoy which was nice.

Miss Hattie was EXCELLENT as she ensure we knew where to go when we left the resort and the homemade bread from the pool bar was to die for (came out the oven hot and the kids couldn’t get enough).
WIFI was available and we had not issues with it. I would not stay anywhere else on the island when we return because if you have a car exploring the island is very easy.

There was a government tax of $103 when we checked out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pinoccs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Pinoccs,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Ocean Reef Resort. A special thank you for listing our proximity to nearby attractions and amenities. Our team does it's best to ensure that each guest enjoys their Ocean Reef Experience, we are so glad that you did!

We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed the 1st week of Dec. Rooms were clean, and appointed well. We had # 302 - a 2 bedroom w/ a balcony overlooking the marina. Both rooms had king size beds, and the living room was pretty spacious (pull out couch that we didn't use). There were some minor issues (broken cabinet door in the bathroom, pots/pans were not non-stick & VERY hard to clean, some mold/cracking on the patio, and a hard to open patio door), but overall it was a good location and place to stay.

We attended the free welcome party (couple of free punch/Bahama Mama drinks each & some good food), but avoided the timeshare "update", despite some persistence by the staff. Nice pool & hot tub, and another pool on the other side of the property. There are not a lot of activities at the resort itself, so I don't think I would recommend it for families w/ kids.

We mainly used the ORYC as a home base to explore the rest of the island, made some meals in the kitchen and picnics to take to the beaches. Other than the free welcome party, we did not eat in the restaurants here. They offer car rental, although we got one at the airport so we didn't have to pay for a cab to/from ORYC. Parking free onsite. There were a couple of cats hanging around, but definitely not obnoxious. They would sometimes curl up in the potted plants near the building entrance to sleep at night.

If you have a car, it is fairly easy to get to the grocery store, liquor store, beaches, etc. Did not take long to get used to driving on the left, and for the most part there isn't that much traffic. We drove everywhere on the island and never had any trouble.

Wifi was very iffy. Balcony was the best spot to get in. Could exchange your beach/pool towels every day and room towels twice a week. There is a energy surcharge - for a 2 bdrm it was $65 for the week.

Overall, if we stayed again on Grand Bahama Island, we'd consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JOJOWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear JOJOWI,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to do so. Please know that all the minor issues outlined have been addressed. It was unfortunate that they were not taken care of prior to your visit.
We certainly do hope that you choose to visit the Ocean Reef again. We would love for you to experience our Oceansblue Restaurant and take part in our revamped activities program. We have added some fun new activities for our young visitors.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks over Christmas and mostly enjoyed our stay. The staff are very friendly and really went out of their way to make us feel welcome and answer our questions & needs. Our apartment was modern and well-furnished but the WIFI was disappointing - it only really worked on the balcony and even there it was slow. The free resort shuttle to the beach and shops is a very good idea - we enjoyed this service several times and also took the shuttle to the Junkanoo festival on 1st Jan (highly recommended). The resort location is ideal if you have a yacht but not very handy if you don't, so we hired a car. There are no shops or beaches nearby so you really need a car to get around. There are 2 small pools but not enough beach chairs - the pool area can be quite crowded on sunny days. We participated in several of the resort activities and enjoyed them but there were several advertised activities which didn't happen - it wasn't clear why and staff didn't really know what was happening most of the time. A sign-up system and better information would be helpful. More kids activities would also be appreciated. Thanks to the staff who made our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

From the day we arrived, everyone at Ocean Reef went out of their way to make us feel welcome and relaxed. Miss Hattie was always there with a smile and something nice to say. Miss Esther's homemade bread is outstanding. The rooms have great upgrades like flat screen TVs and huge spa tubs. All in all, a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anna_D_4003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Anna_D_4003,

Thank you for the review, we look forward to your next visit! The bread will be waiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
1.1 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
245 reviews
1.9 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.7 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
3,017 reviews
4.8 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
0.6 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#12 of 14 in Freeport
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort

Address: 48-60 Bahama Reef Blvd. | PO Box F-42695, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: $136 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Yacht Club Hotel Freeport
Ocean Reef Yacht Club And Resort
Ocean Reef Yacht Hotel
Ocean Reef Yacht Resort
Bahamas Ocean Reef Yacht Club
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing