We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite what we expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed at ORYC from June 2 thru June 9, 2012. We were housed in a three bedroom town house. The layout of the townhouse was perfect for our needs and we were very excited when we first arrived. Unfortunately, it went down hill from there. I could use a lot of space and elaborate on the shortcommings of the unit, in fact, my wife left a hand written, full sheet of paper on the coffee table outlining the problems. It included everything from broken blind slats and cords, to the three legged refrigerator, to the disconnected dryer vent hose, to the unvacuumed stair carpet. The place wasn't that clean when we arrived so we did what we could to make it livable. It was really very much in need of both minor and major repair. In their defense, they are in the process of redoing the units but in this case they should have started the process long before they did. I read reviews that indicated others felt like they constantly had their hand in your pocket and we felt the same way. I think the last straw was upon checking out we discovered that when we handed "stamped" postcards to the folks in the office to mail for us there was a fifty cent charge per postcard added to our bill for the convenience of an on-site mail service. The sign in the front of the resort says the restaurant was open from 8:00 a.m. until 10:30 p.m. That is not so. We arrived hungary about 9:30 p.m. on Saturday night and even the bar had closed so we were unable to eat until Sunday morning. We also discovered the restaurant and bar closed at 6:30 on Wednesday evening. Not sure why. There was also another bar and grill called Esther's near the other pool but as far as we could determine it was not open the entire time we were there. ORYC did offer a shuttle to the grocery store on Monday at 10:00 a.m. which, we were told by the lady at the information center, was the only grocery store in Freeport only to find out later that there was another grocery which was said to be much less expensive. In fact, we were told many things by the lady at the information center that later proved to be quite a stretch of the truth. They do offer gear and bait for fishing off the docks which we were told the gear was free and the bait was $5 but the truth is, the gear is $8 per pole per day and the bait is $3 per bag. They also offer a shuttle from ORYC at 10:00 every morning to Port Lucaya Market and from there you are within a short walking distance to the beach. However, that shuttle will not return until 2:00 in the afternoon. So, if you want to get back to ORYC you can pay $16 plus an additional fee for additional passengers or as we finally discovered, you can take the public transportation bus, which is over by the Police Station, for $1.25 per person.
I guess our greatest disappointment was the inconvenience of the location of the resort to Freeport and, other than Haywood's on site $16.00 taxi ride, the resort made little effort to alleviate that inconvenience.
For the last ten years we have used RCI many times to provide us with many beautiful and convenient vacations but they really dropped the ball when they rated this one as a four star resort. It was truly disappointing.
On a positive note, the on site dive shop, Grand Bahama Scuba, was much more than we expected and well worth the experience. We also got to know a few of the folks who were docked there and were living on their boats. For that reason they had a lot of good things to say about the mooring accomodations and the priviledge of being able to use the ORYC shuttle to get them to Port Lucaya.
All-in-all, I really liked the layout of the room and the resort grounds were well kept. It is a gated resort and IF they would make Freeport more convenient, get their hands out of the guest's pockets, clean and remodel all of the units, I think this could be a really pleasant place for a laid back vacation.

Room Tip: From what we could tell by talking to other guests the one and two bedroom units were remodeled but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KansasDukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 389 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

Ocean Reef Yacht Club is a very nice place to stay. It is simple, clean, the staff is very friendly and the atmosphere is quiet and relaxed. We swam in the pool, cooked out on the grill almost every night, sat on the porch, walked the docks and of course sat at the bar. We even enjoyed the events they hosted. I don't have a single complaint, other than the fact we didn't have spoons in our unit. lol :)

Room Tip: Definitely get a corner unit on the ground!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meagan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Well, it was ok. That is really all I can say. We stayed in an unrenovated 2 bedroom townhouse - great space, but in really sad condition. All our appliances, TVs, AC, ceiling fans and lights worked, but there was nothing special about any of it. The best part: we were steps from the small pool and had a view of the marina. The worst part: got food poisoning at the poolside snack bar (making our proximity to the house that much more important!) and the pool was murky and scary looking - never did go in...This really is a place to go if you just want to relax....it is not near the beach, or any restaurants, or shopping, or casino, or anything else. I did have some nice long runs outside the resort, and can confirm that there is nothing of tourist interst in a 3 mile radius of the resort. However, it is a 10 minute cab ride to the tourist area and public beach, so if you are looking for something to do, it is available with a small excursion. No one approached us to attend a timeshare presentation - not sure if that was because we were guests of someone who already owned one or not - but I am glad they didn't because 1) I don't like to be bothered or pressured on vacation and 2) I would have been hard pressed to hold my tongue on all the deficiencies. I did not see any of the renovated units, so I cannot comment on the entire resort. Thee staff are NOT at all friendly or accomodating (really? I can't have a new beach towel until they are all turned in?). This is basically a self-catering location, and there is a nice grocery store and duty free shops that have what you need to enjoy 4-5 days of lounging around.

Room Tip: Get a renovated room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nattitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at the ORYC through RCI's network. Our two bedroom apartment was functional and comfortable. Our (large) balcony overlooked the marina. We are beachcombers when on vacation, so we don't care much about what the room looks like. That would be the only negative thing about ORYC is that is not on the beach - for those of you like us. The showers had hot water, the beds were comfortable to us (we like firmer beds) and all the appliances worked. We were pressured into attending a timeshare presentation before we knew what it was we were agreeing to go to. It wasn't terrible, but they will try to get you at the front desk the moment you check in.

Check in took FOREVER. We were ok as we needed to eat anyway. The bus to the grocery store was convenient. We also took the bus one day to the beach. The beach they take you to is small because hotels on the beachfront won't let non-guests on "their" part of the beach. The only place in Freeport we encountered "island time" was at ORYC. Most of the time we were never in a hurry so it wasn't a huge deterrent for us.

What everyone says about the taxi driver, Mr. Forbes, is correct. He is the best, knows where the best beaches and restaurants are. USE HIM - worth every penny! He will come get you whenever you call and will help you with whatever he can.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brittany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Ocean Reef for four nights in a 2 bedroom unit with another couple. We rented from an RCI owner for our stay. The apartment was on the second floor of the main building and had been renovated. The large balcony overlooking the canal was a very pleasant spot for morning coffee and breakfast.
The welcome buffet dinner of peas & rice, conch fritters, macaroni & cheese and Bahama Mamas was tasty, and was followed by a bit of fun with line dancing. There are a couple of activities offered each day, but I feel they appeal to the "older" crowd. Bingo, a sing-along evening, pool and karaoke are among the offerings.
The daily shuttle to the beach and Lucaya (leaves at 10 am and returns at 2 pm) is an appreciated service. We took the shuttle in to Lucaya and after a couple of hours of wandering around and shopping, we walked back to Ocean Reef via the beach and the street. A nice easy walk, taking about 40 minutes.
The swimming pool is long - good for swimming lengths and there were always lounge chairs available. Shade is also available through most of the day.
The on-site dive shop, Grand Bahama Scuba, is a professional, quality operation. Excellent dive boat and experienced staff.
The three negatives about this property are 1. it isn't on the beach. 2. the restaurant is mediocre and now is closed Wednesday evenings after 6:30! This includes the bar. 3.we were surprised by a $67 electricity surcharge on departure.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the ground floor. You will have no privacy and there will be security concerns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank packingandunpacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I stayed in the penthouse with my sister and brother inlaw in May 2010. I was amazed how wonderful the staff was and the accomodations are top notch. We had 3 bedrooms, 3 baths, and laundry in unit. I will go back every time I can. In fact my husband and I are headed back again in May.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jailerjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We traded thru RCI for a 2 bedroom condo at this resort. It is on a canal which I thought was scenic. The resort provided a free shuttle to & from the beach every week day and a free shuttle to & from the grocery store on weekends. The unit had marble floors and was well lit and clean. We had a problem with the big spa tub in the master bedroom and eventually found out it had been installed incorrectly and would be fixed after we left. Wish they had tested it when it was first installed. They referred to this snafu as "Bahamian craftsmanship".Our timeshare contract stated that no pets were allowed but numerous yacht owners had dogs that barked between 1:00a.m.-5:00a.m. making it difficult to sleep. The front desk staff was pleasant when the owners were around but surly when they were not.
When we first arrived the activites director shoved papers at us; implying it was part of the registration process. It turned out to be a timeshare presentation. Boo!!
We had emailed earlier asking if we should use credit cards or cash, The owner said we could use our credit card and that small vendors would expect cash. We found that all the excursions demanded cash. At $75.00 each that adds up. Wish we had brought more cash. When we mentioned that we had bees swarming on our balconey we were told that that wasn't their job and were not directed to the proper person to take care of it. We felt that someone had their hand in our pockets at all times. We will not be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank trixi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
1.5 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
256 reviews
1.9 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
4.8 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
3,031 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#4 of 14 in Freeport
1,007 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lighthouse Pointe at Grand Lucayan Resort - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort

Address: 48-60 Bahama Reef Blvd. | PO Box F-42695, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: $137 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Yacht Club Hotel Freeport
Ocean Reef Yacht Club And Resort
Ocean Reef Yacht Hotel
Ocean Reef Yacht Resort
Bahamas Ocean Reef Yacht Club
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing