We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Relaxing vacation”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed here 10/8/11 through 10/15/11 in a 2 bedroom townhouse unit. Accommodations were clean and well maintained. There were 6 adults and we all had pleanty of space.The only complaint we had was the shower in the second bedroom did not work well. Beds were quite comfortable with memory foam mattress. View from balcony in master was great especially for sunsets.
The resort seemed to be well run with the exception of the restaurant/bar. We ate dinner there our first night and food was hit or miss. Chicken fingers were great but BBQ ribs and chicken specials were mediocre. Bar is quite slow.

One recommendation, skip welcome dinner as food was not good and only drink available was weak Bahama Mamas. Went to bar for other drinks and it took 20 minutes to get 2 drinks and 2 beers. Bartender could not figure out computer/register system.

If you want a drink go to Esters by the big pool. Her drinks are bigger, better and cheaper than the bar in the restaurant but only open until 4PM. Be sure to order some Banana bread from her. It is made to order so order it one day and she will have it for you the next day. All home made pool side.

Other than the restaurant I would recommend the ORYC as a great comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctbruinfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    118
    94
    52
    27
See reviews for
127
92
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

From the momment we arrived at the resort we were greeted with smiles from everyone. The staff was very helpful in helping us decide which activities to do and where the best places to eat were. We road from the airport on a bus which takes travelers to all the nearby resorts, the cost was only about $18 per person round trip.-much cheaper then a taxi. The bus will pick you up right outside when you leave. The beach is only a nice walk down the road at the end of the resort gate to your right. We loved the beach!!
HINTS:
1) If you end up heading down to the main tourist gift shopping area don't shop till later in the day, they will make deals with you. If they don't make a deal upfront they will take offers.
2) The beach by the main shopping area isn't the only spot. Like stated just down the road if you keep going straight you will find a nice unpopulated beach. Just keep walking along the beach, it gets a little narrow and appears to not continue but you should keep going to the right (right when facing the ocean) and see the conch shack, at sunset he feeds the sting rays!! When you keep walking there are umbrellas and chairs which are for the guests so I suggest bringing blankets or extra towels along.

I can't remember the name but if you ask the staff about the restaurant where they feed sharks that is a must see!! The seating area is right over the ocean and sharks actually come up underneath of you to eat scraps. But I would ask the staff to find out when the sharks get feed in order to go around that time and you will need a taxi to go. Not the cheapest but definately the best!! And the food was bliss!! Our taxi driver was so friendly too he actually waited at the restaurant for us to enjoy our dinner to us a ride back.

As for activities they have it all!! There's on site activities like learning to scuba dive, dance night, poker night, billards, pools, spa, and a beautiful dock area for the sailors.

Downtown they have many activities as well, they have the fish fry every week which is more for party goers, dolphin encounters (amazing!), sorkeling and booze cruizes, they have everything anyone could ask for. We even went on a day tour of the other side of the island where we toured through the park and saw an underwater cave!!

This place is absolute heaven!!! If anything comes across your mind just ask they are so friendly and extremely helpful.

Room Tip: I would ask for a suite. but the houses are also a possibility when traveling with more then one cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COShortstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

- Staff very friendly and helpful.
- Clean spacious rooms
- Beautiful site but beaches are driving distance away
- Charges for many small items: bike, kayak, fishing poles, shuttle to port and events
- Final surcharge $83/two bed was a surprise
- Renovation sounds very disturbing during the day
- Unfortunately the global economy is taking its toll on Freeport, lots of local businesses are closed, some try to raise their prices.
- Personally I didn't like the spices/marinade on most meats/fish therefore my recommendation is to order it plain.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan3640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Ok let me just start by saying that this is not a luxurious place but it works fine. You have your kitchen and dish washer which we used.. The villa was clean and everything seemed to be working out fine. Keep in mind that in this resort you do have to buy your own food to make unless you are thinking about spending money on buying food which is not cheap. The trip started fine with Duane Forbes our driver from the airport he was a nice man who gave us some good information. I also want to mention that the tip I got from here about HAYWARD FORBES(OUR TAXI DRIVER) was correct. He was and is an EXTREMELY NICE MAN who made sure we had a good time. He not only took us to the local spots but he made sure we were satisfied. I was so happy to have met him because he in fact knows what tourist want which is not to be bored with the "SAFE PLACES" BUT to enjoy the trip to the fullest. Make sure you book Hayward Forbes for all your adventures because he knows the good spots for fun ... Tips well if you want to save money in food I suggest you DO NOT GO to the market run they offer @ SOLOMONS it sucks instead check out Butlers which has way better quality of food. Hayward took us to Simply Native restaurant which was DELICIOUS!!. .. Also don't book any of the so call free breakfast orientation unless you wanna eat ok food.. It;s a time share gimmick... Please just ask Hayward he will give you the scoop on the places to go and tell HAYWARD HE IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED BY GLENDY he will know who I am. Freeport is beautiful and has great beaches. The international bazaar was kind of empty when we went but that was probably because hurricane Irene had just passed . We got a few things there it was nice but not much to get besides Straw hats ... Overall I did enjoy my stay here because it was relaxing not many people at the pool and the staff was nice.......Enjoy and don't forget to get Hayward or his father for your taxi unless you are ok renting a car but just keep in mind that they drive on the left.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 107 we like it because we were very close to the front desk just in case
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glendy32272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Ont, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Ocean Reef from the time we checked in till we left was a pleasant experience. Rent a car at the airport on line before you leave for holidays. The cabs cost any where from $25 or more one way and every restaurant and shop is far 15 to 20 minutes. The hotel has great staff who welcome you with open arms, nice helpful staff. First time share where every staff member was not trying to sell something. Including not asking you to go on a 3 hour presentation to buy more time share. The rooms have good working air, appliances, the restaurant has good selection of menu when you don't feel like cooking and reasonable. Best grocery store is Butlers. Great selection of designer shops in the Lucaya market. Don't venture out on a Sunday that's holy day not much open. Dinner hour took 2 hours from driving from one side of the island to the other. Unless you wanted KFC. We would go back here again. The staff was amazing helping us to evacuate the island from Hurricane Irene.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want. Villas best option if you can get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont,Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We have been going to ORYC for 10+ years and enjoy the site a lot. It's not fancy by any means, but we aren't there for fancy. We bring our boat over from Florida and are there to dive & fish.

The bar is slow, but the slowness of the bahamas is something that we've learned to embrace, and something we enjoy. We just say we are on "Island Time" and everything is just relaxed and casual.

ORYC is a short drive to Port Lucaya. We use Mr. Forbes (Hayward) for our taxi driver every time we have been there and have always had a wonderful experience. They are a father/son operation, and have always treated us with respect. This last time when were there The elder Mr. Forbes drove my husband and I to 3 different places looking for cooking oil so we could fry up some fish. We paid $19 for the entire ride. Very reasonable, not to mention it was 10pm, on a holiday!

We have stayed in the townhouses, and on the other side. Yes, they could use a little updating, but they are perfect for what we need. Decent kitchen, a few pots & pans, and a grill outside our room.

If you are looking for a super fancy experience, this probably isn't the place for you. If you are looking for a place to kick back and relax, or just use it as a home base on a diving/fishing trip, then this is the place for you.

My one, and only complaint, was the "gym." I am a pretty avid runner and I was really looking forward to being able to continue training while we were in the Bahamas. It didn't, and couldn't happen. The gym is extremely outdated. That was my only disappointment about the whole trip. Besides the fact that we had to leave early because Tropical Storm Emily was supposed to be coming though.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FutureJLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in August 2011. We had a 2 bedroom town house, which needed some updating. This is first resort that I visited that housekeeping service is $25 a day and you have to request it. So I would have had to pay $175 for my bed to be made and towels for seven days. Just doesn’t make sense, so make your own bed. The master bedroom and guest room mattresses were terrible. If you planned on relaxing, sleeping in late or other activities, good luck! There are no box springs and the mattress is extremely uncomfortable, about five inches thick, sitting on a wooden bed frame. When we complained they said they put an egg crate on the mattress, which looked like paper towels, and that’s what we were stuck with for the week. As a timeshare holder, we thought we would have been treated a little better. You might want to rent a car, because a taxi will cost you $10-$15 one way. If you do take a taxi, use Hayward (extremely nice and helpful), he's usually stationed at the resort. Free WIFI is offered but is extremely hard to connect. The timeshare people waste one of your VACTION days attempting to offer you deals on new timeshare opportunities, and if you just want some time to think about a major decision (like dishing out $5000), they become rude and agitated because you don’t purchase a package. They offer you a free lunch (extremely small piece of chicken, beans, white rice and coleslaw) some cheap T-shirts and two inexpensive bottles of rum. Not worth it unless you are interested in hearing about vacation packages. The service is horrible! The Grouper restaurant on site is very slow. If you waited 20 min to get a drink, you must be a gold card member!! Joking but true. The food is pre-cooked and tastes like it, but the steak sandwich is good, fyi gratuity is included. Free shuttle to the beach Monday-Friday at 10am and returns at 2pm. We will never stay here if we visit Freeport Bahamas again. If you have the option, stay at the Radisson or any of the resorts or hotels across from Port Lucaya market place.

Room Tip: Public bus is the best way to get back to ORYC. No need to pay $30 in taxi fare. Take the taxi to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
1.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
244 reviews
1.9 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.7 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
3,007 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 14 in Freeport
998 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#12 of 14 in Freeport
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort

Property: Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Address: 48-60 Bahama Reef Blvd. | PO Box F-42695, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Yacht Club Hotel Freeport
Ocean Reef Yacht Club And Resort
Ocean Reef Yacht Hotel
Ocean Reef Yacht Resort
Bahamas Ocean Reef Yacht Club
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing