We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ocean resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed October 24, 2007

What an awful place to stay! it spoilt our whole weeks stay having to go back to this awful place every night. We asked to be moved after the first night because of the dogs next door barking all night. the plae was dirty and there was nsects running all over the place. My son pulled his covers on his bed and there were silver fish in the bed.
We were moved to a nicer place the next day. but the beds were hard and the roof leaked in our bedroom and it chose to rain quite a bit that week.
The bar was shut most nights at eigh,t and when my son went to have a game of poole some of the balls were missing. This is just some of the issues that were wrong with this resort.
We would never stay there again.
The only nice thing about the place is the staff in reception who tried to be as heplful as there jobs would let them be.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank keey05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 373 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2007

We booked our stay through RCI time share exchange. I was expecting a little more for a Silver Crown exchange. We booked a two bedroom, but were a day late arriving, so they gave us two one bedrooms. They were very spacious, each having it's own room, jaccuzi, living room, kitchen, and patio. The units were nice, but there was a large burn hole in our conforter cover and the white sheets were dingy.
The resort itself is small. We were there in off season, so we practically had the whole place to ourselves. The grounds were cute, but the second bar/pool was closed (to be expected for offseason).
The front desk people were very friendly and helpful. The activities sales woman was also very friendly. Hayward the resort taxi driver was the best. Very helpful, friendly, and kept an eye on everything. Although the resort staff was very friendly & helpful, the Grouper Grill staff was not. They were slow, rude, and you had to go to them to order a drink or a meal. They were not looking to service you. For the price you pay for drinks and such in the Bahamas, you would think a smile would come with it. But sadly, no. And, since 15% tip is typically automatic, they don't need to work up that smile either.
Overall, I enjoyed the resort, but I will not be returning to the Bahamas for quite a while due to the overall attitude of the people. There is a general slow, rude, non service minded attitude on the islands that I do not wish to be force to tolerate while on vacation. The resort & staff were nice. The taxi driver from the resort was also very nice and helpful. The staff at the Grouper Grill and any other place we experience on the island were neither helpful nor friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela-Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2007

This resort is so beautiful. What a wonderful experience. Took a family of 8 in a 3-bedroom villa. Total cost was under $3500 including airfare from the East coast. This is the best bargain in the Bahamas. Three years ago I took my family to Harborside in the Bahamas. The trip cost our family over $11,000...what a waste of money and the beach was had so much people on it. We had three times as much fun in Freeport without the cost. I purchased a 3-bedroom at a resale site for under $5000. I am planning on taking my family on a vacation to the Ocean Reef Yacht Club and Resort every year. My kids 7-13 don't even remember our Disney vacations.

Stayed: August 2007
4  Thank Luv2Travelcheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2007

We returned from a vacation in the resort last week. The resort is located very near the beach, close to Lucaya, and has its own Yachat club with excellent diving instructors (Melinda and Fred).
Very nice accomodation (ask for the town houses), Very good stuff (Ricko).
Try to avoid the sells team (time sharing).

Stayed: September 2007
3  Thank kobiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

We booked this Resort through RCI and it was horrible to say the least. The rooms were not updated as advertised when we booked through RCI. The 2 bedroom single level has a jacuzzi in the middle of the master bedrrom. The jacuzzi was stained and hardly inviting. There was minimal lighting in the bathroom and the tile in the shower was old and stained. The bed comforters were very a very thin floral print, very outdated and old school. We requested a new room the second night and were moved to a 2 bedroom townhome. The townhome was just a little bit cleaner but not much. The toilet kept clogging and there were ants everywhere all the time!!!! The office closes at 5pm and 2pm on sun. You cannot receive phone calls in your room after that because no one is on duty to transfer the call. The Grouper Grill served beverages in dirty cups and did not take calls from the room. The overall attitude of the satff, except Ty in the front office, was rude and not customer service oriented. The resort does hae a taxi but it is expensive to take. It costs about $4 pp per way. Even if your going to Port Lucaya which is only about a mile from the resort. Also, the staff provides transportation 2x's per week to the store. They take the guests to the most expensive store on the island, "City Market". They do not have the guests best interest at heart. After renting our own car from the resort, we discovered a store by the name of Solomons. Solomons is about 5 miles from the resort but they have more of a variety of foods and also the prices are cheaper. Lastly, they made a mistake by sending a maid in our room to clean up. They thought we had checked out when we actually had 2 more days. The bad part is, when we returned from our snorkeling tour, our door was wide open and all of our valuables exposed to the public. Luckily for them nothing was missing. Management did apologize by sending a note and a bottle of champagne to our room. Something positive.....The monday night resort activity was fun and the food was decent.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ohardin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

Quite a relaxing stay, main pool was closed to refurbish (which is understandable). Would have appreciated prior notification of this detail. Secondary pool was quite delightful. We were the only ones there aside from the divers attaining their certification.

Complimentary Bahama Mama's upon arrival were outstanding. What a wonderful practice to welcome guests after their day of traveling.

Avoid the sales staff at any cost. Their high pressure promises are borderline fraudulent. Maybe not so borderline.

Informed to pay a $68 electricity fee upon arrival. Be aware.

Lovely facility, beach too far away, yet not too much of a problem. Shuttle for grocery runs, beach runs, etc. Car rental on site.

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank happylady3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2007

Booked the hotel through Grand Bahama Scuba via email..

Cost for cab from airport is about 20 to 23 US$.
Reception was excellent, sorted me out with a key in minutes. Room was a 1 bed self catering and it was massive. Lovely bed, shower, cooking and living areas with a view onto the canal system and out to the sea.. (2 beds also available)

Rooms may have previously been described as dated, but there were workmen busy painting and making things nice... They re-vamped 4 condos whilst I was there, and frankly the one I was in was fine..Its nice to see a complex re invest money in itself to make better..

Free safe in the room, coffee maker, microwave, VT, iron and board..

The meals in the bar area were good and not expensive....ideal if you are on vacation and dont want to cook..

There is internet connection either with your own machine or one of the hotel computers at $5 per day or $25 per week.. Which is a lot better than what I was charged in Nassau at $10 for 30 mins!!

Pool is very clean and of a good size..there is also a small pool, this was being retiled whilst I was there..

Now the good bit...the staff are FANTASTIC, typical of almost all the Bahamian people they are quiet and reserved but if you smile and say hello they just grin from ear to ear.. They couldn't do enough for me, Its a timeshare/condo complex with a customer service second to none..

Car hire is available at Ocean Reef, so dont worry about getting one at the airport..

There are lots of things organised, and various trips you can go on, however I just used my mornings (9am -2pm) scuba diving with Fred and his team at Grand Bahama Scuba... They treated me very well and divers were made to feel like part of an extended family on the boat.. who were looked after very well... rather than just treated like cattle..I looked at the other dive operators but would recomend this one...and I have been diving over 20 years so I know what to look for..

A cab into Port Lucya is roughly $12 and this is where the night life is, casino, bars, restaurants etc..

If flying into Freeport from Nassau (where the UK flights go) you can make a return trip with Bahamas air for about $170.. phone
1- 242- 352 8341

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Les666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
1.1 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
245 reviews
1.9 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.7 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
3,017 reviews
4.8 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
0.6 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#12 of 14 in Freeport
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort

Address: 48-60 Bahama Reef Blvd. | PO Box F-42695, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: $136 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Yacht Club Hotel Freeport
Ocean Reef Yacht Club And Resort
Ocean Reef Yacht Hotel
Ocean Reef Yacht Resort
Bahamas Ocean Reef Yacht Club
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing