We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous View and Great Drinks”
Review of Bell Channel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bell Channel Inn
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous View and Great Drinks”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a little dated but has charm. The accommodations where ok but the view from the balcony was to die for. The room is spacious and has a vanity outside the bathroom which I loved. Ms Cleo was such a sweet bartender and that rum punch is nothing to play with. Food was ok also

They where very accommodating and let me check in early and gave me a late checkout

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nubbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    83
    25
    12
    9
See reviews for
35
83
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

am not sure how this place gets such high reviews, my experience was much different. Staff was friendly, but that all the nice things I can say, for the money this was the worse place on the island I have stayed The age of the hotel does not bother me, however the age of the mattress did. The mattress in my room was the type from a fold out sofa so it was very uncomfortable. The carpet in the room was worn out and dirty. Our room had not been updated for at least 20 years or more. If this room was priced $50.00 or less I would not have such issues, but at the rate they are renting for spend 10 to 20 more elsewhere and get a MUCH nicer experience. On a positive note the dive group that works out of this location was really great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scdm100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellChannelInn, Public Relations Manager at Bell Channel Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear scdm 100,
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Reviews are very important to us as they help us to grow and improve.

I am sorry you were not satisfied with your room. I wish we had been informed of this when you were here, so we could have had the chance to correct it by giving you another room.

Since your stay with us a year ago, we have made several improvements and I do hope that you will give us another chance to show you that Bell Channel Inn is a great place to stay for guests who are on a budget, want a nice, clean and spacious room in a quiet area, that's within walking distance to the beach and market place.

Sincerely,
S. Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

My girlfriend and I visited the Bell Channel Inn on May 2, 2014 to May 4, 2014. Since we got there we were greeted with smiles, great attitude, fast check-in, complementary drinks (as a surprise because we didn't knew about that and it was not included in our stay) and transportation services. We also got to use their executive safe to keep our important belongings without any charge what so ever plus I had an issue with my card (American Express), I couldn't use it in most places, even in the casino to get cash from an ATM. The owner was more than kind to provide me cash and charge it to my card so I could have cash to spend outside. They're one of a very few places that accept AMEX in that area, no else! However, the experience we had at this hotel was phenomenal. The food and drinks at their restaurant are super great! Meet Clo at the bar! she makes the best Bahama Mamas I ever had! And if you go to Lucaya Beach, Jus behind the Police Station, there's a path that takes you to the beach and ask for Coconut Daddy (A.K.A. King-Kong) TRUST ME! YOU'LL HAVE THE BEST GULLY WASH INSIDE THE COCONUT MADE FROM SCRATCH. He's a very humble guy that will make your day! I won't tell more to not spoil the experience you'll have if you go there. Thank you management of Bell Channel Inn for your hospitality we'll definitely come back!!! Love, love, love!!!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a nice view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mibsam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My partner and I were here for a week in April and were pleasantly surprised. From the outside, it didn't look like much, but the room was spacious, clean and had a wonderful view of the channel. The staff were wonderful and there was this delicious orange infused water up front. The only thing I'd suggest is for them to get a water taxi going because the market's literally right across the way via the water. Unfortunately, we were stuck taking taxis or walking. Other than that, great place!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at the Bell Channel Inn for a week in March. It is quiet, peaceful, charming and convenient. The rooms were clean and good sized. The restaurant upstairs has fantastic food, drinks and service. The hotel staff was incredible and went above and beyond to make our stay special. We loved every second and we definitely hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mallis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellChannelInn, Public Relations Manager at Bell Channel Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Mallis2014,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and it is reviews like yours that motivate us to do even more for our guests!

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Bell Channel Inn on your next visit to Freeport!

Best regards,
S. Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

This is an adorable little place. Snuggled away off of Midshipman Ave. Lizbeth, the owner, is married to Presleigh, our dive master/ dive boat captain, also at the marina that the Bell sits on. We loved the diving with Presleigh, and his nephew Jerry, the food in the restaurant, the pool, the friendly maids; well, you get the idea. We slept at a friends timeshare but if solo on a return, this will b the place.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank wahinisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My 4 rating takes in the convenient and well-run restaurant, prompt attention to requests, relaxed and friendly folks. Danish owner has been here 20 years. Well-kept if not spiffy new. It's a 20 minutes walk to amenities of Port Lucaya, Lucaya Beach, the Casino with USD ATM. Right next door is REdbeard's tavern run by Canadian. Good conch fritters and guava duff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuakerRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellChannelInn, Public Relations Manager at Bell Channel Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear QuakerRose,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your visit to Freeport! We are so happy that you had a great stay! Thank you so much for your detailed review! Also, thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of our hotel. Our staff go above and beyond to ensure that our hotel is well kept. I love that you took the time to try our local dishes. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.6 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.3 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
0.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
3.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
3.5 mi away
Sunrise Resort & Marina
Sunrise Resort & Marina
#7 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Channel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Channel Inn

Property: Bell Channel Inn
Address: Kings Road, P.O. Box F-43817 | Lucaya, Freeport 43817, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bell Channel Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bell Channel Inn is a family operated hotel, run by 3 generations. It has once again achieved the prestigious " Certificate of Excellence" awarded by Trip Advisor for its 4 star rating reviews.Bell Channel Inn is a small hotel with 32 spacious rooms, equipped with air-condition, dining room area, cable T.V., free wireless internet access, telephone, refrigerator, hairdryer, alarm clock, daily housekeeping, private balcony with a view over the water and Port Lucaya or a direct exit to the pool deck and your choice of king size or double beds. Should you need: coffee maker, kettle, shampoo, iron & ironing board or a roll away, laundry service or maybe a cab or a shuttle to the beach, then just call the front desk and they will be happy to assist you.Friendly and knowledgeable staff are available at the front desk 24 hours-a-day and the tour desk assistant, Genie, will give you a welcome drink and an orientation after you check-in regarding how to get around and which tours are being offered and she might even be able to find a discount or two on selected tours! The lobby has been newly updated and fitted with a comfortable sofa and a TV so you can catch up on all the news or get a chat with the ladies in the lobby while you wait for a taxi. You will also find a safe at the reception for your valuables. Bell Channel Inn also has its own restaurant & bar/lounge known as "Upstairs" where guests can enjoy drinks in the "No Stress Zone" after a long day in the sun. Upstairs is located on the top floor and has a beautiful view over the water, it is open from 7:30am -11pm, with Happy Hour from 5p.m.-7p.m. There is LIVE entertainment on Friday nights. Upstairs is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and has a good selection of both Bahamian and American dishes - they are especially famous for the fresh seafood! Don't forget to pack your swimwear as this hotel features an outdoor pool and a free shuttle to and from the beach. Free wireless Internet access is also provided so you can check your in-box whenever you like! Other amenities include non-smoking rooms, air conditioning in public areas, currency exchange, beach/pool umbrellas and free parking.Located on the waterfront, Bell Channel Inn is a hotel in the area of Lucaya, Freeport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Bell Channel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Channel Hotel Freeport
Bell Channel Hotel Bahamas
Hotel Bell Channel
Bahamas Bell Channel Hotel
Bell Channel Inn Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing