We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Straw market - Freeport”

The Bahamas' Arts and Straw Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$44.99*
and up
Freeport Half-Day Tour
More Info
$42.99*
and up
Freeport Bazaar and Brewery Tour
Ranked #25 of 61 things to do in Freeport
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Local craftsman sell their jewelry and their wood and straw handicrafts at this market.
Golden, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Straw market - Freeport”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Nice to check out once, but with the tough economic times the vendors can be very pushy and made us avoid the straw market whenever we were in Lucaya.

As other have mentioned the items are pretty much the same from booth to booth and everyone will tell you that they hand make the baskets, not sure about the baskets being made locally as we were in the market very late and watched the vendors restocking their baskets from "made in China" boxes, and I doubt that any other "Local" items are made there such as the endless supplies of bracelets and "synthetic" sharks teeth neclaces.

Worth a walk through and a bite to eat but after that the best activity is to ditch the tourist trap and head out of town to the West (Paradise Cove) or East ends of GB, Garden of the Groves or Lucayan National Park with the amazing Gold Rock Beach.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrWilly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    27
    25
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyed”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Got to do some souvenir shopping at some great prices. Disappointed that we didn't have more time. Loved the people and shop owners...they were ready to sell and sometime more than helpful.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WHFCSX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Straw Market at Freeport Bahamas”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our second stop via a Carnival Cruise (which we enjoyed very much). Straw Market was your typical market where you can get T-Shirts, Necklace and Wooden hand made structure (we bought a mask). There are about 50 or more different little shops but really once you see one you have seem them all since they tend to have the same thing. You can try to hagle but they are pretty good at what they do and sometimes we were unable to get a reduced price. They will try to draw you in to look but not pushy. Local women all very friendly. We bought a few things but when we got back to the Cruise port we found some of the items we bought a little cheaper. We took a taxi to the Straw Market that cost $5.00 US one way but it was cheaper to get the round trip fare they offer of $10 since they claim it was chaper to get the round trip fare vs the one ride fare. We opted to buy the roundtrip transportation. It was a 20 minue from the port to get to the Strawmarket. Nice ride but it was mostly industrial and some residence and commerical scene. Overall nice ride and Straw Market something to do to kill time while the ship as port.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Nannalus84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A shopping treat.”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The market is awesome. Filled with locals selling their wares it is an absolute treat. We went everyday to shop and walk thru and enjoy the friendly banter with the locals. Cant wait to do it again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lot of the same stuff”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

OK to go to just a lot of the same thing. Be careful which taxi you take. We were on the cruise line and Curry X Press grabbed you as soon as you walked up putting you in a line for a taxi. Do not use them . They want you to pay for both ways. They give you a card for pick up and assure you priority over large group. Wrong....... you have to stand in long lines with people with or without cards. Look for the taxis across the street from Curry X Press. They are the same cost but much nicer people. Curry X Press is rude and a scam.

Helpful?
2 Thank sc c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bahamas' Arts and Straw Market also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to The Bahamas' Arts and Straw Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing