We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the best place to go!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“This is the best place to go!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2004

uJust got back from 4 days 4/29-5/3/04. The Pelican staff was above and beyond what I expected. When we were dropped of at the hotel I had left all our documents,tickets,personnal,ect.. in the taxi. OK now our vacation was ruinned, I thought. Leroy,the bellman, not only got us booked into our room, but the following day got all our paperwork back, and it was his day off!! Customer service 101!I can't say enough about this property. We have been to Sheratons, Hiltons,ect.. Pelican Bay is better. Away from the crowds at the Westin but, across the street. Yeah the food isn't cheap, that's what the market place is for right next door. Everything from $5-$50 meals. whatever you want to eat. I had the breakfast at the hotel a few mornings, but for a heartier meal went to Zorbas next door, $4.95. Eggs,bacon,sausage,pancakes you know american breakfast. The Sheraton and Westin Restaurants are good but $10-15 for a burger? Most dinner plates $30-40. Go to the market place. More selection and cheaper. All the excursions are at the market place. Fishing, Boose cruise, boat rentals, you name it. If you are leaving through PVD, RI. to Freeport, be prepared. We went through Grand Bahama Vacations, they are not prepared. We waited 2hrs to check in at PVD. Maybe everyone shows up at once, I dont know. Leaving the freeport airport was worse 3 1/2 hrs. They should get this figured out. Going through US customs and security was nothing compared to this. It's not the airport, it's a GBV problem. People taking regular usair, delta, could walk right through. Next time we will spend the $100. extra to do that and the taxi ride is only 10$. The wait was that bad. By the way after getting through and readdy to go home the flight was delayed 1 hr in freeport. GBV uses charter flights for the price so service suffers. And they dont care. Other than that go to the Pelican, relax, soak up some sun and enjoy it, its worth it there.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    356
    100
    48
    33
See reviews for
153
366
42
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2004

I recently took a trip to Grand Bahama Island, with my husband and 3 kids (9,11,14). We had a wonderful time. I booked our hotel on the Pelican Bay website, the cost per night was $165 USD. When we arrived at the hotel, the staff had upgraded us to a suite at no additional charge. The room was huge and very tastefully decorated. The staff was always very friendly. Our room overlooked one of the 3 pools and had a balcony with seating for three. I had been to Nassau quite a few times, and I must say it was not as enjoyable as Grand Bahama Island. The Sheraton Our Lucaya is right across the street from the Pelican Bay, and for $5 per person you can get a wrist band from the front desk that will allow you to use the facilities at the Sheraton. They have 3 or 4 pools, one with a very nice waterslide for the kids.
We stayed on the island for 1 week during April 2004, and we had a blast. There was nightly entertainment offered at Count Basie Square, for kids and adults alike. The only negative comment that I can make about our trip, was the exorbitant prices for food. We spent $75 easily on every meal excluding breakfast, which was offered complimentary at the hotel each morning. The food selection was also very poor, I got so tired of eating conch fritters.
Overall I would definitely recommend going to Grand Bahama Island. It is a great destination for families. They have all sorts of activities that will keep you busy day and night.( snorkeling,diving,fishing,swimming,golf, casino, shopping, boating, and of course just lounging on the beach.)

Helpful?
5 Thank EverySecondCounts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2004

My girlfriend and I just returned from Pelican Bay last week and had a wonderful time while we were there. The resort itself is very nice and clean and is in a great location between Our Lucaya Resort and the Market Place. There was always pleny to do and we didn't find ourselves staying in the room much. The staff at Pelican Bay wasn't overly friendly but did get us anything we requested. Some staff members were more helpful than others but it's like that anywhere you go. That's just a fact. The best meal that we had was at the Ferry House which is right next to Pelican Bay Resort. The menu is pricey, but the food was excellent.
Overall, we felt that Pelican Bay was a very nice place to stay and wouldn't mined going back again someday. If you need suggestions on things to do while in GBI or any questions pertaining Pelican Bay or the area it is in, please send me an e-mail.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank C0ffeeman1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2004

We just returned home from a 4 night stay at the Pelican Bay. Very quaint, beautiful, quiet retreat located close to everything. They were kind enough to upgrade us to a suite(very nice). Most everyone at Pelican Bay was kind and friendly from the owner's son-in-law to Leroy the bellman. Clean towels and sheets daily. Turn down service with mints at night and pastries delivered to your door box in the morning. The suite was equipped with an expresso machine and a large variety of coffee from which to choose. Breakfast was standard and set on a floating bar in the marina. We stayed in the Lucaya area the entire trip, and from Pelican everything was a very short walk. We loved The Yellowtail grill and bar by the pool. I had a conch fix daily. Pay the $5 fee to receive a wrist band to have full access to the beach, chairs, pools ect. at Westin. The ferry to Taino Beach is very timely and would recommend Taino beach if it is the busy season. Dining in the area was average and the prices were not as bad as we thought they would be. We liked Zorba's (greek), Pisces (italian). Fatman's nephew was ok. There are some restaurants that are very pricey but we decided to stay away from them. Don't expect great service, but it is adequate. Most places add 15% gratuity. I would definately recommend Pelican Bay.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2004

This was my first visit to the Bahamas and I just wanted to give the Pelican bay Hotel a good review we had a nice clean room and the patio led right to the pool and whirlpool and outside bar. Very nice. The boardwalk ended at this hotel so you are in walking distance of the marketplace the square and not to far from the lucaya beach. Staff is friendly and I would tell anyone who asks stay at the pelican bay hotel. We were there April 19th thru the 21st.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.6 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,943 reviews
3.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
2.0 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Bay at Lucaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Property: Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Address: Sea Horse Road at Port Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Bay at Lucaya 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Grand Bahama Island's most hospitable hotel, the Pelican Bay is a joyful mix of colorful Bahamian architecture and the finest guest service in the Caribbean. Unique waterside rooms and waterside state rooms enfold you in comfort, while offering special guest touches. Renowned standards of hospitality and attention to guest happiness assure you of a memorable stay in the Bahamas.Part of the Pelican Bay experience is located within steps of your room. In addition to our waterfront Sabor Restaurant and Bar, more than 30 restaurants, bars, shops, live entertainment, the Dolphin Experience, scuba diving, snorkeling, and deep-sea fishing trips are a short stroll away.Immediately across the street are two miles of white sand beach, a full service spa, four "Grand Slam" surface tennis courts and a casino. All this is the happy Pelican Bay experience, one you will remember with fondness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Pelican Bay at Lucaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Hotel Freeport
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Freeport
Pelican Bay Lucaya
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing