We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Go”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't Go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

My husband and I had booked 6 nights at Pelican Bay and decided to leave after 2 nights and stay across the street at the Grand Lacayan and we're so glad we did! The reviews I read on Tripadvisor did not match my experience at all. Our hotel room was dirty, with filthy bathroom floor and mold growing on the shower curtain. The tv was outdated and did not get a clear picture. The slider lock was broken, and when we told the front desk they never showed up to fix it. The chairs on the patio were old, worn, and ready to fall apart. I did not feel comfortable staying any longer, even though we prepaid for 6 nights.
We spent the extra money to relocate to the Grand Lacayan Hotel Resort and we are so glad we did!
The hotel was beautiful and right on the beach. The rooms were spacious and they even upgraded us to an ocean view! We enjoyed walking from our room to the gorgeous beach or relaxing by one of its many pools. I have always used Tripadvisor in researching my vacations, but this time they were totally wrong. Please take my advice and don't stay at Pelican Bay when you can stay across the street for almost the same price!

Room Tip: If you must stay here, book a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mgrieves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    360
    101
    49
    34
See reviews for
154
368
43
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff. South Wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is my fourth holiday in Grand Bahama and every time I have stayed at Pelican Bay.
Rooms are spacious, clean and in good order. The staff are fantastic. Friendly and always ready to help in emergencies. Overall I rate it the best hotel on the island.

Room Tip: Waterside rooms have great views of the canals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funbunny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanBayHotel, Operations Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear funbunny1,

We are happy that you had a wonderful experience with us again and we look forward to seeing you next time!

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review, it is truly appreciated.

All the best,

Della Bridgewater
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We checked in here after terrible treatment across the road at the Grand Lucayan. We still had two nights to stay there but I couldn't take another minute.
So, we were pleasantly surprised by the staff at Pelican Bay. They were great and understood our situation. Evidently, many leave the Grand Lucayan especially when the A/C breaks.
The staff worked with us and even up-graded us to a suite which was spacious, clean and decorated nicely in an islands theme.
It was very relaxing there and we needed it after the other hotel ruined that part of our vacation.
The atmosphere is relaxed, beautiful and we enjoyed the pools. The restaurant/ bar is great. I liked their food and it was at a reasonable price. Probably he nicest one we ate at and the service was fast, not like many other places.
I recommend this to all. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanBayHotel, Operations Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Douglas P,

We are happy that we were able to save your vacation from being ruined. We strive to ensure happiness guaranteed for all of our guests as we truly appreciate the journey you not only make to our destination but to our hotels. Although I am not an employee of Grand Lucayan I apologize on their behalf for the inconvenience they caused, especially having to relocate.

We thank you for your feedback and we thank you for staying with us. Should you decide to return to Grand Bahama in the future don't hesistate to book with us.

All the best,


Della Bridgewater
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel is better than the famous radisson if you love quiet but the rooms are not luxurious. They are big but clean. Front desk staff is friendly but not above and beyond friedly. It's a good value

Room Tip: Almost all the rooms are pool view, but the rooms facing the bar has a little pond view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Magnetlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanBayHotel, Operations Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Magnetlife,

It is unfortunate that we did not meet your expectations; however good or bad we appreciate your review. We take all reviews very serious and use it as tool to continue to work on improvements.

All the best

Della Bridgewater
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My trip was organised staying at Pelican Bay. When I arrived it was breathtaking. I ws treated with the a friendly staff. On entering the suite I was taken back, because of the spacious room and the comfortable bed. Suite 137 was just perfect. What was so amazing the muffin and fruit everymornig. What I like the bedroom was that I did not even know it was morning, with darken curtains. This is my hotel every time I visit Freeport. By the way, Freeport was fun.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bahamas1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanBayHotel, Operations Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Bahamas1960,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Sounds like you thoroughly had a wonderful experience in our stateroom.

We are really thankful for your review and we appreciate the time you took to give us feedback.

All the best,


Della Bridgewater
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Pelican Bay is a nice hotel with very service minded front desk staff. But please always avoid hotels who charge a fortune extra for internet access. Pelican Bay charges 12 dollars pr day pr device. So if you are a couple with 2 phones, an IPad and a laptop your looking at an extra charge on your room of 25%. Always book hotels with free internet !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terje S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

My stay was awesome! I was greeted by Kearah Laing who attentive to my needs and concerns. She went above and beyond in customer service and customer satisfaction. My suite was amazing! Very clean and came was everything we needed. Salario Cooper was very helpful and i really enjoyed his humorous personality. Even though i was told by the cruise line that there was nothing to do on the property, there is the Sabor bar and restaurant located on the property. The staff was very friendly. The bartender Harvey made and named a drink after me "Nisha's sneak up". It was awesome! A must try!! I love this hotel and i will be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanishia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
3.5 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,959 reviews
3.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
2.1 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Bay at Lucaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Property: Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Address: Sea Horse Road at Port Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Bay at Lucaya 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Grand Bahama Island's most hospitable hotel, the Pelican Bay is a joyful mix of colorful Bahamian architecture and the finest guest service in the Caribbean. Unique waterside rooms and waterside state rooms enfold you in comfort, while offering special guest touches. Renowned standards of hospitality and attention to guest happiness assure you of a memorable stay in the Bahamas.Part of the Pelican Bay experience is located within steps of your room. In addition to our waterfront Sabor Restaurant and Bar, more than 30 restaurants, bars, shops, live entertainment, the Dolphin Experience, scuba diving, snorkeling, and deep-sea fishing trips are a short stroll away.Immediately across the street are two miles of white sand beach, a full service spa, four "Grand Slam" surface tennis courts and a casino. All this is the happy Pelican Bay experience, one you will remember with fondness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Pelican Bay at Lucaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Hotel Freeport
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Freeport
Pelican Bay Lucaya
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing