We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kayaking Tour”

Grand Bahama Nature Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grand Bahama Nature Tours, based in Freeport, Bahamas, has been one of the leading Eco-tour operators on Grand Bahama Island for the past twenty years. We operate kayaking, snorkeling, biking, hiking, jeep and bird watching tours. All tours involve light to moderate activity and are fully guided by friendly, highly trained, professional personnel. Most of our guides are natives of the Bahamas and the Freeport area and take pleasure in acquainting visitors with the flora, fauna, history and culture of the islands. Included in our tours: Free door-to door transportation in air-conditioned mini-vans from all Freeport and Lucaya hotels. All tours include lunch and refreshments. *See Pickup Schedule Below All equipment included. All admissions to parks and attractions included. For groups: Day excursions to Abaco are also available Children's discounts available on some tours - please call. Our tours are extremely well priced, with most tours being $89.00.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Kayaking Tour”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We recently went on the Kayaking Tour with Bradley, and it was a great experience.

We had never gone kayaking before, and admittedly, it was really challenging for us. Bradley was super patient and eventually we were able to relax! Everyone else in our group got the hang of it pretty quickly, though, and some had kayaking experience.

When we were picked up at our hotel, I didn't realize we'd get an extensive history on the island, from politics to ecology. It was a great introduction and really added to the rest of our vacation, since we had a better understanding of the place we were visiting.

The caves were pretty cool, but the end of the tour, featuring Gold Rock Beach, was the real highlight. My husband and I both agree this is probably the most beautiful beach we've seen, given our experiences on various Caribbean islands. Deserted in every direction and lots of clear water and gentle waves.

Lunch was pretty simple, but it hit the spot.

The guide and company was professional and experienced, and I'd absolutely recommend it to anyone visiting the island. There's really not a lot of attractions besides the beach, and a tour is a great way to get out and around, and learn a little about the area. Grand Bahama Nature Tours is the way to go!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaisyTwinklestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    42
    17
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Misleading Tour Description”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have done jeep tours on other islands (Cozumel was the best) so I was really looking forward to the one on Grand Bahama Island. Unfortunately, I was somewhat disappointed. First off, let me start by saying that the guide (I don't remember his name) was awesome! He knew his history about the island and was very informative. They picked us up from our hotel and drove us to the awaiting jeeps. The jeeps come in both automatics and standards. We noticed at the second stop that our jeep was leaking some sort of fluid so they drove back and got us another one.

We booked our tour though Best on Bahamas and found that the description of the tour was quite misleading. First off, we never traveled off road through the pine forest. In fact, we didn't travel off road at all. We also never went to the Lucayan National Park which was very disappointing to me. A friend of mine and her son arrived a few days after us and we purposely didn't take her to the Lucayan National Park or Gold Rock Beach because we were under the impression that we would go there on the jeep tour. Unfortunately, we left the following morning so they weren't able to make another trip back there. The tour consisted of three stops at different beaches,two of which were brief and not enough time to swim, a drive down Millionaires Row and over Casuarina Bridge, and lunch at Garden of the Groves. Nothing too impressive, especially since we had rented a car for our trip and saw most of everything already. While I would go back to Freeport, I wouldn't pay the hefty price for the jeep tour. Kudos to the awesome tour guide though!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
Level Contributor
282 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Western heritage tour with Dwain”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We booked this tour from a Carnival ship. Our guide, Dwain, was interesting from the start as he told us about the present way of life and the history of Grand Bahama. We stopped at a lighthouse, by the side of the road with a pile of conch shells, by a "boiling hole," and at a cave. The actual sites were mildly interesting, but the involved narration (i.e. storytelling) from the guide can make all the difference. After these four stops, we went to a beach where we snorkeled Deadman's Reef (it was ok) and had lunch. It was a windy day, and swimming back to the beach was a little tough, but that's the weather for you. For lunch we were given the choice of cheeseburger, hamburger, hot dog, veggie burger, or conch fritters and a soft drink. The lunches were pretty skimpy-- the cheeseburger, which our son ordered was just that, no more. There were 6 or 7 conch fritters, and they were wonderful, but not very filling. All in all, this was an educational day that was made very entertaining by Dwain.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank floridalibn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale Az
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ricardo was the best”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

just to be upfront and honest, i have never kayaked before. Ricardo made it easy and informative. He has the best personality for the job he does. we kayaked the mangrove forest, he took pictures for us. (they turned out great, btw) we lunched on the beach and spent time walking on the beautiful beach. I never felt rushed. He made sure that we all had a great time, thank you Ricardo.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford College, NC
2 reviews
“One of the highlights of our cruise!!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have to say this tour was worth every penny. Ricardo our guide was great, and very informative about the life and the nature in the Bahama Islands. The kayaking through the mangroves was beautiful, the beach we had lunch at was absolutely beautiful, and we had plenty of time to spend there. The racoons were so cute and friendly, we actually fed them by hand. I would recommend this to everyone.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Bahama Nature Tours also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Grand Bahama Nature Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing