We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveler rating
263
97
24
15
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
263
97
24
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea turtles deadman's reef red bar cruise ship conch fritters low tide snorkel gear long swim artificial reef reef balls safety briefing nurse sharks colorful fish carnival pride dead man's reef great snorkeling shallow water
Filter
Updating list...
332 - 337 of 408 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2010

We visited Paradise Cove during our Cruise in December. Barry's father picked us up from the cruise port and he gave a wonderful narration about the island of Freeport. It was unusually quite windy that day at Freeport and so it wasn't the typical Bahamian weather. Nevertheless, Barry made wet suits available for us and Ken guided me to the reef for snorkelling. Due to the windy weather, the ocean was a bit choppy and so the snorkelling was not the best. However, this place is so beautiful that you will fall in love with it. They treat you very well and make sure that you are very comfortable during your stay there. I would like to visit Paraside Cove again when it is really sunny.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bearbully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Go snorkeling here. Mr. Barry Smith and his friends treated my wife an me unbelievably nice. They went out of their way to see we had a nice vacation in the Bahamas. They have a safe, clean, beautiful area with nice tropical drinks and fresh seafood. Mr. Smith and his friends answered our questions and welcomed us warmly. He even boated out to check on us as we snorkled. You have a beautiful view above and below water. Forget about Lucaya when you can escape to this remote area. You must have the fresh seafood. They have really reasonable prices on the drinks and the food, plus you get to spend time with extra friendly hosts. I plan to return as often as possible. Mr. Smith and his group make me want to go back to the Bahamas and snorkel at Paradise Cove over and over. He will treat you right and take care of you. You cannot beat a visit with him. Read all the reviews on snorkeling. When you can swim and want to spend a few hours gazing at tropical fish and coral, you cannot beat this affordable option. Call Hue for a taxi #49, 242 646-2843. He will educate you on the island's history and take you anywhere you want to go. Have a blast, like I did.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cakesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

Actually, we did not stay here in Nov. 2010 - but just found this site and wanted to comment - We have visited Paradise Cove numerous times over the past 15 years. Each time we visit Grand Bahama Island, we make it a point to go snorkeling here. We like the warm, casual and friendly atmosphere - the fantastic beach and reef, the stupendous array of marine life that you can see .... we just LOVE EVERYTHING about being there! These folks really know how to make you feel welcome ... we would welcome them into our home any time and hope that we could show them the same hospitality that they have shown us each time we've visited.

The Almond Family - Western N.C.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank x9523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We (4 girlfriends) visited Paradise Cove as cruise ship passengers. I arranged for pickup online and paid no money up front ($35 for transportaiton round trip and snorkel equip including a floatation belt) We were picked up promptly and taken directly to PC (approx 20 -25 minute ride) We were literally 4 of about 10 people there. It was fabulous! So quiet and it happened to be low tide which made the snorkeling so easy. We snorkeled for about 2 hours straight and saw all sorts of coral and fans, parrot fish, 2 sea turtles, sea biscuits, 3 stng rays, a barracuda and other assorted fish. The water is nice and shallow until you get to the other side of the rocks (where the snorkeling is best) and even then it's probably only 15 - 20 ft. It is a little ways out but very easy to reach. The only downside at all was that we had to avoid a few jellyfish. Barry (the owner) and his staff watched over us literally the whole time. Barry even came out while we were getting ready to snorkel and took our picture for us and cleaned off my mask. There are chairs to rent if you want and a small snack bar. We didn't eat but had some awesome drinks including one of the best strawberry daquiri's I've ever had. We might have lucked up with the low tides and no crows but we had a blast!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank smgshelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

we traveled to this beach after eading some reviews.
first of all it cost $8.00 p.p.. to get here each way, for a family of (7) $108.00.

once you arrive you have to pay to use their beach- $3.00 p.p. and it does not include anything just the sand and water.
the whole beach for the first 100 yards is a mud patch so be preaparred to wear soes, once you walk out towards the reef it is about 3-5 feet deep, a few fish here and there.
alot of sand dollars, but the visability is < perfect and to get to the real reef you need to go out way to far.

owners were not that friendly

***VERY EXPENSIVE to rent gear, or anything for that matter

save your money- dont go there are nicer free beaches on the island.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
3  Thank ffvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews