We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent snorkel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradise Cove Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milton, Delaware, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent snorkel”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Had a great time here. Snorkeling was great. Saw many fish, turtle, sting ray, and many other underwater life. Bus to and from cruise port was fun. Nathan was very funny and a great tour guide. Planning another cruise next yeat and will be going back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    75
    19
    12
    9
See reviews for
142
94
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Viera, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Highly recommend this trip. We were picked up at the boat dock right off of the cruise ship. It was about a 30 minute ride in a mini-van to the beach. We were able to purchase snorkel equipment, beach chair and towels for a small fee. The beach is beautiful.....perfect place for a family. We swam out to the reef to see all of the tropical fish....others saw three sea turtles on the day we were there. Get the conch fritters....or you can get a hamburger .....all very reasonable! Sunny skies and perfectly clear water.......just a little slice of heaven!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Court House, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Love this place !!!! Best Place in the Bahamas to get in some great snorkling and beach fun ! Great food and wonderful friendly staff ! Saw an Octopus and a huge spotted Ray !!! Many colorful fish ! Can't wait to return !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dgolf1up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairborn, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was my first trip to the Bahamas and one of the things we had planned on doing while there was to snorkel. We took a trip out into the ocean and had a great time. Then the next day we found "Paradise Cove", needless to say we spent every morning there for the rest of our trip. The staff and owners are so pleasant and accommodating, they really make you feel comfortable. They explain the reef to you and supply (for a fee) all the equipment you need, we brought our own snorkel, fins and goggles, the total cost to snorkel was $3.00. This was so worth the money. The reef was approximately 550+ yards from shore and swimming, snorkeling out to it was fun. Lots of fish, conch, stingray and the most amazing was the sea turtles. Once you go out and around the reef you see all kinds of fish and different types of coral. Its the one thing that really made our trip. I will post some of our pictures on their face book page, especially the fork tailed lizard. They are all over the place and we thought we found a new species until the owners son said no he's just an anomaly and hangs out like the rest in hopes of finding scraps.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The beach is on the western side of the island so the water is very calm and waste level deep to about 100 yards out where the sea grass starts. Swim from there to the reef, about 50 yards and snorkeling is a full day event... When we went there was only one other couple, European, so as they say " when in Roam", nudity is allowed... The locals are very friendly, and helpful... Fee's for access $3/person, for the chairs $5/person and if you want to boat out to the reef $5/person, but the walk and swim out are easy... Didn't have anything from the bar or diner as we stopped by the local grocery on the way, but the cooking smelled great...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pace, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our second trip to Paradise Cove and we will definitely return for a third!! We traveled to Freeport recently via a cruise and took a taxi to Paradise Cove upon arriving. You can book this excursion thru the cruise line, but it's much cheaper to do on your own. From the cruise terminal it's about a 20 minute taxi ride ($16-20/ea round trip) and there is an entry fee (under $5) when you arrive. You can rent snorkel equipment or bring your own. The water is BEAUTIFUL and you can snorkel out to "Deadman's reef". It looks a bit further from shore than I was comfortable with at first glance, but once you're in the water, you don't even realize the distance. Each time we've come, we've seen numerous fish, sea turtles, star fish, octopus, rays and gorgeous coral. If you do feel like the reef is too far, you can still see loads of things between the shore line and the reef on the shallow side, but I do recommend swimming out! The snorkeling alone makes this destination a win to me, but the beach is lovely too. You can rent chairs and umbrellas from Paradise Cove, or use your own. They have kayaks and paddle boards for rent as well. They do have a small restaurant on site as well with a bar & some good lunch specials. Highly Recommend

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LimitedNoleage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mars, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Going to Paradise Cove was the best part of our cruise. The beach and snorkeling was so amazing. Is was so peaceful and beautiful at the beach and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We will go back if we are in Freeport again. It was without a doubt the best part of our vacation, we just wish we could have had more time there. The snorkeling was amazing, we saw a sea turtle and huge sting ray and many many beautiful fish. Highly recommend this place

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
15.0 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
14.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
238 reviews
14.7 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
2,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
14.6 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
985 reviews
11.4 mi away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Cove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Cove Beach Resort

Property: Paradise Cove Beach Resort
Address: Deadman's Reef | PO Box F-42771, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Cove Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Paradise Cove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Cove Beach Hotel Freeport
Paradise Cove Beach Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing