We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Absolutely Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Cove Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paradise Cove Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We went here to do some snorkeling and have lunch. It is an absolutely beautiful place. There are no crowds which makes it even better. Snorkeling was amazing. The water is so clear and the beach is beautiful. Along the reef we saw stingrays, sea turtles, tons of fish, coral, etc. It is also very reasonably priced. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanetta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    57
    15
    9
    7
See reviews for
116
86
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This place is what the Bahamas is all about! This is a private beach where your not overcrowded and you feel like you have it to yourself. I snorkeled and admit it was a good distance to the deeper water but on the way to the big reef in case you don't make it I did get the pleasure to enjoy some fish though not as many but once there lots of reef fish,stingrays and bonefish. They have everything here that you need for a great day at the beach kayaks, snorkle gear, beach chairs, umbrellas, restrooms, lockers, food, drinks and a little gift shop. The ride to paradise cove really lets you see where the Bahamians live and work the biggest settlement area is called 8 Mile Rock. The food is good the drinks cold and the views to die for I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josh29902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I visited Paradise Cove in April during our cruise on the Norwegian Sky. After reading so many great reviews, I booked a day excursion directly through their website with Barry, who was really helpful and emailed me answers to all of my questions. Everything was effortless and wonderful! Mr. Nathan was waiting for us as soon as we disembarked our ship, and he drove us directly to the resort where we spent a relaxing, fun-filled day. They offer several shuttles to and from the ships. I'd recommend taking the early shuttle to the resort because there aren't that many people there early in the day. We stayed until the last shuttle back at 4 or 4:30, I think. We snorkeled for hours and saw tons of tropical fish and an eel. Deadman's Reef was full of wildlife and beautiful! Keep in mind, however, that the water can be a bit rocky. I got a little seasick after awhile and had to take a break. Paradise Cove has everything you need for a great day of snorkeling and relaxing - bathrooms, delicious food and drinks, lockers, outdoor showers, plenty of shade, beach chairs, fun activities, a little shop with souvenirs and t-shirts, etc. I would highly recommend this as a day trip if you are going on a cruise! You've got to try to conch fritters!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We visited Paradise Cove/Dead Man's Reef while in Freeport during a cruise and were quite excited to snorkel.

I might have had unrealistic expectations of the snorkeling quality because of the great reviews. I suppose it just wasn't a great day, because we didn't really see anything spectacular during the three hours we were in the water. I wouldn't let our mediocre experience derail your plans though, since we seem to be in the minority.

The food was pretty reasonably priced, and the hot dogs and conch fritters were quite tasty.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Paradise Cove/Deadman's Reef is a great place to snorkel as long as you know what to expect. This beach is really a snorkel only beach. It's extremely rocky meaning there are more rocks on this beach than a little bit. There is not a good area to walk out into the water as it is ALL rocks. The only way to enjoy this beach is to snorkel because it is too shallow to swim and too rocky. If its low tide you will have to walk over these slippery rocks to get out to any water to be able to swim. Once you get over the rocks, though, the swimming is great, but like I said I would snorkel because there is just way to much sea life going on not to. Plus, I like to see sharks, rays and barracuda coming rather than swimming along and not seeing what's around you. It's quite a swim out to the reef before you can even begin to snorkel, but they offer a $5 boat ride to the reef which I recommend. The first time we went we didn't notice the sign for the boat ride until after we tried to swim out to the reef. While swimming out I noticed many jellyfish, which are beautiful to see, but also a little scary. About halfway through the swim I begin to itch severly on my neck and it immediately began to turn red. I had to swim back to the beach and the employees said I had been stung by a jellyfish and they gave me vinegar with a cotton swab to put on it. I ended up being ok with an itchy neck for a week, but the employees said that it was jellyfish season (July/Aug). So be careful and aware. The employees here are great considering service on the island generally sucks. Also worth mentioning is that after having lived on this island for over a year, I would not ever rent snorkel gear from anyplace. Bring your own gear or at least the mouthpiece because, believe me, they are NOT cleaning the gear between users. If you've ever been here then you know the culture of laziness that exists here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stacyd642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We booked our trip separate from carnival. Saving 50% off their price. Was very pleased! Mr. Nathan picked us up at the port and drove us giving a great history tour. Elvis and the other guides were awesome and helpful. The sites were breathtaking! The reef is beautiful. My first time to snorkel was a great experience! I have and will continue to recommend this family friendly outing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italy
Level Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

For our holidays last December we've booked one of the two Paradise Cove villas for 5 days .The villa is lovely and clean. You have 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, 1 livingroom with TV, 1 kitchenette with all you need for meal preparation and 1 beautiful veranda where you can admire spectacular sunsets. There’s not Internet connection. The beach is secluded, peaceful and beautiful and the owner gives you 2 beach chairs for free. The family that owns it is so helpful and customer oriented. They even give you a quick info session that tells you where you can go while snorkeling. They even have equipment for snorkeling and kayaks to rent. Everything you need for a fun day at the beach. The Red Bar has good food and fairly priced. Conch fritters, cracked conch and grouper fingers were excellent as were the many types of Bahamian beer to try. The bar closes at sunset when the tour groups of cruises leave. In December this happens at 5 p.m. so you can't dine at Red Bar. If you want to dine every evening the restaurant then the drive to Lucaya, where are most restaurants, It’s a bit of a drive from town.
Because we've spent so much time on Grand Bahama, we rent a car and drive ourselves around. I highly recommend exploring Grand Bahama on your own as there is a lot more to the island that the resorts. The best beaches are Taino Beach, Fortuna Beach and her beautiful bar and Gold Rock Beach. Overall, great experience and I highly recommend this beautiful paradise!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GORILLAS63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
14.9 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
14.7 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 16 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 stars 2,738 reviews
14.5 mi away
Memories Grand Bahama Beach and Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
11.5 mi away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
4.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
14.6 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 16 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 stars 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Cove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Cove Beach Resort

Property: Paradise Cove Beach Resort
Address: Deadman's Reef | PO Box F-42771, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Cove Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Paradise Cove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Cove Beach Hotel Freeport
Paradise Cove Beach Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing