We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent snorkeling; great value - highlight excursion on cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradise Cove Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent snorkeling; great value - highlight excursion on cruise”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We booked the excursion from the Paradise Cove website for our Freeport day off the NCL Sky and this was the highlight excursion of our vacation (including Atlantis). Easy to book and good communication from the owner. We were met by Maurice at 9am from the port - not only is he knowledgeable about the island, but also very funny and caring (he had to send a family of 3 to their other bus and stopped before leaving to be sure they got there). Paradise Cove is one prime piece of real estate about a 30 minute drive from the port - beautiful private beach with a gorgeous reef for snorkeling. Deadman's Reef is large - be sure to swim out to it (though with floatation device this is not that hard) - for $5 you can get a boat out there. We snorkeled for about 1.5 hours and saw sting and manta rays, several sea turtles (so close you could touch them), dolphin, a barracuda, needlefish, parrotfish, and many, many more tropical fish. Chairs are $3. They have a snack stand and bar - great grouper fingers and conch fritters and cheap drinks (beware a very stron Bahama Mama for $3.50). They take credit cards. The total for the excursion including the round trip transportation and rental of snorkeling gear and fins is $35 per adult ($20 for child) and well worth the money. The beach is gorgeous. Very relaxing day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendaeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    74
    19
    11
    9
See reviews for
140
93
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

My husband and I first drove to snorkel at Paradise Cove from our resort during our honeymoon in 1997. We've been to Grand Bahama a number of times since, both without and with our 3 kids, most recently while on a Carnival Cruise in late March, and have made a tradition of snorkeling at PC. The owners are a delightful family and we've enjoyed ourselves there so much that, rather than staying in Port Lucaya or going to Atlantis as we typicially do, for our vacation this summer we've booked one of the two Paradise Cove villas for a week in June. Because we've spent so much time on Grand Bahama and know our way around the island, we rent a car and drive ourselves around. I highly recommend exploring Grand Bahama on your own as there is a lot more to the island that the resorts and we've had some great adventures (such as finding a ship used in Pirates of the Caribbean) and have met some very friendly and interesting Bahamians. Because we are spend so much time in the Bahamas, we consider ourselves natives and, when vacationing, unconsciously lapse into the local patois and use start using Bahamian words, rather than American words, for things/tings.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colacard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

The best snorkeling I have ever experienced and it is only $30 dollars with the 10% off coupon from the "Things to do" Freeport book! Walk out to snorkeling of 6 to 30 feet and see everything from barracuda, sharks, sea turtles and brightly colored fish and coral everywhere! The staff at the paradise cove resort were very friendly and do their very best to educate and inform snorkelers about the ocean life and habitat that they are fortunate enough to visit so that the visitors and the ocean eco system are protected. They also have two little properties with 2 bedrooms/ 2 baths right on the beach that are available to rent for those who may want to visit the reef on a daily basis during a vacation. Keep in mind the resort is fairly remote so you would need a car.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingNovelty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Don't miss Paradise Cove in Freeport! Not only is it a great value, but the family that owns it is so helpful and customer oriented! They picked us up at the ship and Maurice gave us a very informative tour as we traveled about 20-30 minutes to Paradise Cove. Upon arrival, they give a trip talk to show you exactly how to responsibly view the reefs and fish. The snorkeling is fantastic...and after snorkeling, come back for the best grouper fingers you'll find anywhere. There are also 2 beachfront cottages that can be rented. This is a FABULOUS excursion! I would return to Freeport just to visit Paradise Cove and Deadman's Reef again!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

What a perfect day at the beach and a welcome get-away from the cruise-crowds! To get to Paradise Cove, you'll need to taxi exactly the opposite direction where the rest of the crowds are headed. It's about a 25-30 minute drive West through more of the 'real' Bahamas. When we arrived, check out the photos, we were greeted with a sparsely populated, beautiful beach. The snorkeling was amazing and easy to access; the prices were extremely reasonable. My wife and I spent $53 total there (all equipment rental, lunch and drinks) and $32 to get there and back in a cab. My favorite part was the modest nature of the place (NOT high end) and the sincerity of the family run business. Barry, Inger and others were so genuine and great to talk to. Really, I almost hesitate to recommend this place as it was such a nice quiet paradise, I'd hate for it to get too crowded! Thanks for the great day!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Nate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

A great day stop over on our cruise. We were picked up just outside four ship and made a 20-30 minute drive out to the resort. The driver gave us an informal tour and answered questions. During the ride you see the real Freeport, not a commercialized area. Upon arrival we checked in and paid for our snorkeling day, beach chairs, and towels. After a brief, but necessary, meeting about safety around the reef, we were off to snorkel. The hosts are very serious about preserving the reef which is a great lesson for kids. The beach is beautiful and very private. We saw turtles, lobsters, eel, barracuda, and many other specimens. If you are able to snorkel to the ocean side of the reef you will encounter a wider variety of sea life. Conch fritters, cracked conch, and grouper fingers were excellent as were the many types of Bahamian beer to try. Lunch for 5 was about $40.00. There were two return trips to the port to allow for cruisers to depart. We were back at our ship in plenty of time to shower and enjoy dinner aboard.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

When we landed on Freeport, with our cruise, we found out our day excursion was cancelled because of high winds. So, a bunch of islanders told us we should go to Paradise Cove. We took a $8.00 taxi (each way) to get there with another couple that we persuaded to go so we could get the group taxi rate. (If not, it's hella expensive.)

We got there and stood in line for 15-20 minutes. Finally they took our names and then we were "let go" to start our beach day. We brought our own snorkeling equipment, so we thought it was fine to just go out. As we started walking out, these two dudes started yelling at us. We apparently didn't listen to the snorkeling intro that is mandatory. (How the hell were we suppose to know?)

Then we walked out there and the water was FREEZING! It was mud for at least 50-75ft. Finally we jumped in and started snorkeling. You had to swim over another 50ft of sea grass to finally get to the area with fish. It was a hella choppy day so we were out there for an hour, but didn't see much because of the winds. We saw a couple of varieties of fish, some sand dollars, and some dead coral. It wasn't that great of snorkeling on the day I went out.

It took us FOREVER to swim back because of the wind - it was crazy. After we got back, we ordered some food that took 45 minutes to get. The alcohol was cheap. It was fine; enjoyed the sun, played some volleyball and had a good time.

As we were getting in the taxi to leave, the "owner" of the beach came back and started yelling at me in the taxi and the rest of our crew. He was yelling at us because we didn't pay the $3.00 for the beach. He was accusing us for trying to get it for free and finally I yelled at him back and said, "Look dude, I'll pay your 3 damn dollars, but why don't you yell at your employee for not asking me for the $3.00s because I would have paid it." He finally shut up, and I paid my 3 dollars.

I was never happier to get off that beach. What a TOTAL joke.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Spencer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
15.0 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
14.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
227 reviews
14.7 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Freeport
2,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
14.6 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
963 reviews
15.0 mi away
Taino Beach Resort & Clubs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Cove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Cove Beach Resort

Property: Paradise Cove Beach Resort
Address: Deadman's Reef | PO Box F-42771, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Cove Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your Paradise Cove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Cove Beach Hotel Freeport
Paradise Cove Beach Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing