We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Bahamian food, but a bit pricey”
Review of After Deck

After Deck
Ranked #85 of 122 Restaurants in Freeport
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bahamian, American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The After DeckBar & GrillPort Lucaya. The Best Food In Grand Bahama! When in Grand Bahama, enjoy it's casual dining experience. Their menu features a mix of Bahamian, European and American dishes, prepared by world famous chefs, with mouthwatering seafood dishes, such as Stuffed Grouper, Coconut Cracked Conch and Whole Snapper. Group Info: With a seating capacity for eighty people The After Deck Bar & Grill is well equipped to handle all of your group's culinary needs. Open from 7am until 11pm daily. Located in the heart of the Port Lucaya marketplace, across from the Our Lucaya Resort and the Isle of Capri Casino.
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
726 reviews
603 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Good Bahamian food, but a bit pricey”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We got the fish & chips and the jerk chicken sandwich. The portion size for the fish was good, but the chicken sandwich was small, and the service size for the fries was also small. The food tasted really good, but considering the serving size was very pricey. And this was for the "lunch special", which didn't even include a drink. (Be sure to ask the price of the specials in advance - you're probably better off ordering from the regular menu.) Also, there were no towels or hand dryer in the bathroom.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larryd6578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    67
    50
    36
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
228 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Tasty conch & rum punch!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My sister and I stopped by the After Deck during our impromptu conch & beer pub crawl. The conch platter was a bit more (~$15) than we would have liked to spend, but we had a hankering for conch! The conch did not disappoint. It was crunch and tasty and went perfectly with our petite-sized rum punch. The rum punch was 2 for $5, but I would have paid a little more for a proper sized cup full, because it was delicious.

Although we found the food and beverage quality to be good, I'm giving the After Deck "3 stars" because of nonchalant service (not unusual in the Caribbean) and what we thought was pricing above its expected price-point.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Walk on by and don't waste your time on bad food and terrible service!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This restaurant touts itself as the "only cruise ship backed restaurant in Port Lucayan Marketplace." I'm not sure how they earned that title because it is highly undeserving. The service was rushed and surly at best. Our server was so interested in moving tables that she was seating people and talking to tourists walking by WHILE we were trying to place our order. My husband and I both ordered the Grouper fingers or at least we were told it was grouper but what we received was a thin filet of fish which was rubbery and tasted like dirt-- most likely tilapia-- a much less expensive flaky, often bottom feeding, flaky white fish. Many restaurants have been caught passing off Asian catfish, tilapia or other cheaper species of whitefish as grouper. Fake grouper is a big food-misrepresentation problem in the restaurant industry especially to unsuspecting tourists. The after deck is one such restaurant.

Also, we were unaware that the gratuity is automatically added to the bill based on your food order but noticed it as I was scanning the bill for errors. I'm sure glad we didn't tip twice for this horrible food experience and will make sure to check out other restaurants in the area when we head back to the Bahamas later this year.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EaglesNest319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly and Good Food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I ate at the After Deck on the first night of our vacation. It has a great outside deck to eat and enjoy all the people in market place. The menue is full of local cuisine. We love the Conch fritters. The wait staff is very very friendly and attentive. It a nice place to get reasonably priced local food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Terrible In Every Aspect !!!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

If there was a show for "Worst Places To Eat", After Deck would definitely be number one on the list. Scrambled eggs had egg shells, pancakes came with unmixed batter inside, incorrect orders were brought out, along with entrees and sides that were never ordered which increased the total amount for food and drinks, therefore increased the percentage of the automatically added gratuity. Very expensive especially when comparing to other restaurants where we ordered more food, ordered cocktails and was still cheaper and than "After Deck". Everything was bland, waitress seemed authoritative and placed everything on the table for us to pass out, I guess we should of charged them for "Our" services.

We live and we learn

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rgggggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed After Deck also viewed

Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to After Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing