We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat the coconut pancakes”
Review of After Deck

After Deck
Ranked #84 of 122 Restaurants in Freeport
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bahamian, American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The After DeckBar & GrillPort Lucaya. The Best Food In Grand Bahama! When in Grand Bahama, enjoy it's casual dining experience. Their menu features a mix of Bahamian, European and American dishes, prepared by world famous chefs, with mouthwatering seafood dishes, such as Stuffed Grouper, Coconut Cracked Conch and Whole Snapper. Group Info: With a seating capacity for eighty people The After Deck Bar & Grill is well equipped to handle all of your group's culinary needs. Open from 7am until 11pm daily. Located in the heart of the Port Lucaya marketplace, across from the Our Lucaya Resort and the Isle of Capri Casino.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Eat the coconut pancakes”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Ate there several times. The fried conch was good, but breakfast is the best. The eggs Benedict was spectacular, as we're the coconut pancakes.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank WarEagleCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    67
    50
    36
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worst experience in the Bahamas”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

A quick review of our experience: rude waitstaff and 3 out of 4 of the meals we received were not what we had ordered. The waitress brushed us off, threw a piece of cheese over one of the wrong dishes (an omelet) and gave it back with the comment that she had fixed it. Do not go.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jlove0230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, MI
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disinterested servers, high prices, so-so food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This wasn't our intended destination for a late lunch/early dinner, but our first choice, Pisces, didn't open until 5 and we didn't feel like waiting to eat... wish we had.

The hostess/server were eager to welcome and seat us, but after we were "captive" the service disintegrated. First uh-oh was that the dish my wife wanted (eggplant) turned out to be unavailable. Not a huge deal, usually, but my wife is a vegetarian and the menu had few options for her. Additionally, it took 10 minutes before the server let us know about the problem. She ended up with appetizers that weren't all that great.

My Salmon BLT was... ok, but no better than that... Skin still on the salmon, super-crisp bacon, little in the line of mayo... the fries were good though... and so was the beer.

Should have just paid for our drinks and left. Not recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
213 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Mediocre breakfast”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We just returned from having breakfast here and it was hit and miss. The location is convenient and in the middle of Port Lucayan square. We had the coconut french toast (a favorite since coming to the island) and eggs benedict and a side of potatoes. The french toast was a hit with lots of coconut and it was cooked well. Unfortunately, the eggs benedict and the potatoes was a bomb. The plate did not look appetizing and the english muffins were too soft and soggy, a sign that they were not toasted. The potatoes were not crispy as we had ordered them and full of oil. The meal also gave my wife an upset stomach.

The service was good and seems to be that way at most places we went to in the Bahamas. I would have to say that Cafe Breeze is our favorite place for breakfast and regret not going there again today.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing cornbread!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We went here for a staff dinner and I think we all agreed it was the best meal we had out there! They brought out some complimentary corn bread before the meal and we loved it so much we asked for some more. Meal was beautiful, everyone agreed, reasonable price, great atmosphere!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BNETravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed After Deck also viewed

Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to After Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing