We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A resort to be avoided” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Resort and Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island Resort and Golf Club
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A resort to be avoided”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We booked for 2 weeks and only stayed for 2 days. This is the first timeshare resort in 14 years where we have had to complain. The ground floor room had grills on the window, for security, so it was dark and hard to see out. Not that it mattered as there was nothing to see. The room had been cleaned in a rush. There was evidence of the previous occupant's use 1) on both the toilets 2) on cutlery that had been put away into a drawer that was so dirty we had to take out and wash everything 3) place mats that had food attached to them. If this was not enough a hole in the wall for the TV aerial was letting in insects to make a home in the corner of the lounge. It is in the middle of nowhere but you can get taken to the beach or the supermarket by minibus. The only good points are the elderly owners who stay there are very friendly and Michael who organises the social events off site is very knowledgeable and friendly. The rest of our holiday nearer the coast was bliss.

Room Tip: Not on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank rmbourne30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had rented a 2 bedroom suite in this resort.
The units are older and furnishings a bit dated but our bed, king-size, was very comfy and the kitchen was big and had everything you could want in good quality.
The staff there is very helpful and go out of their way to help.
The pool area is nice with a heated pool even on cooler days, nice barbecue corner with 3 barbeques and shaded tables.
We liked the shuttle to the vey nice beach for a swim in the ocean but enjoyed the nice and quiet pool at the resort.
The only thing I did not like was the very noisy air conditioning, even if you did not use yours, the neighbours was as loud.

For good food go to Sire' s just a few streets away, Bahamian food, good portions, good price, nicer to sit outside, simple.

Room Tip: If you want to sit outside, pick a ground floor unit with nice seating around the pool area. Otherw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SandBen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howland, Maine
Level Contributor
652 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

another great stay ,they go the extra mile to make sure your happy. the units are clean and very large. get the best rate by calling them at 2423529270 . the pool is heated and they have a free bus to the beach . they sub the tours out you can get better tours from smilling pat tours at 2425332946

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thedipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howland, Maine
Level Contributor
652 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

stayed 5 weeks.the heated pool was great.large two beed room conds each room has walk in closet.staff is great do all they can do to help.not on beach but shuttel you to it.old but very well maintained.best buy in yhe grand bahamas.come and tyr it you'll love it.they even have a van to market once a week.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thedipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We booked a two bedroom, 2 bathroom unit at the Island Resort and Golf Club, and if you are reading this review, you have probably already realized that you can get a week here for the same price as a night or two at a conventional hotel. Too good to be true? Nope, but keep in mind that you do get what you pay for.

First of all, the building is quite old. It is a low rise (3 level) building, I'm guessing at least 30 years old and I'm not sure that any renovations to the units have been preformed since the initial construction. There are clear signs of wear and tear everywhere but generally speaking, the property is clean and very functional. You walk in to the unit and there is a decent size, fully equipped kitchen on one side. On the other side is the first bedroom featuring 2 single beds, ensuite and walk-in closet. The rest of the unit contains a spacious joint dining/living area (with new flat panel tv!) with the master suite off that room. This bedroom features a king sized bed, smaller tv, ensuite and walk-in closet.

The property is perhaps a 10 minute drive from the airport. I will provide more information on taxis and car rentals at the conclusion of this review. My biggest criticism of the property was its location. There is nothing around...the International Bazaar that tends to be mentioned in other reviews was quite a disappointment. Most restaurants/shops were closed at any given time. With the exception of the free shuttle to the Island Seas resort, you will have to pay for taxis or shuttles everywhere else and these costs can escalate very easily. The only "happening" place on the island appears to be Port Lucaya, which is approximately a 10 minute drive away.

I will also complain slightly about the sleep quality. If you are a light sleeper, note that the single beds were hard (the King wasn't)and the blinds on the windows did not filter out light. You could hear all sorts of noises from birds and other local creatures (not sure if they were insects or frogs). FYI, expect to see those little lizards running around everywhere. Nowhere to be found though was a golf course..lol.

Overall though, I think the property offered good value for money. Besides the rental fee, you have to leave a $50 deposit if you exceed the electricity allowance. We had a total of 5 people in the unit and ran the air conditioner regularly and we barely exceeded the allowed usage, so this should not be a concern. There are 4 washers and dryers free of charge and a grocery store nearby - walking to it is quite feasible, walking back with bags of groceries, not so much. The staff at the Island Resort were excellent. Stacey and Nettie at the front office are extremely courteous as was Trevor, the shuttle bus driver. The security guards (at night) were really nice guys too.

As for the fore-mentioned taxis, I recommend using Freeport Taxi (352-6666). We were fortunate to have encountered 2 good drivers named Russell (taxi # 32) and Smith (taxi # 228). Avoid Kenny (a female) in taxi # 20, who was very dishonest. A taxi from the airport to the Island Resort should cost $14 based on 2 people. Expect to pay $3 extra for each additional person. A taxi from the resort to Port Lucaya costs approximately $15 one-way for 5 people. Renting a car would be ideal if you are staying at the Island Resort but keep in mind that the rental companies did not offer/sell liability insurance. So in the event of an accident that is deemed your fault, you would be responsible for all of the other person's damages.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank JGF75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howland, Maine
Level Contributor
652 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

one of the only heated pool in freeport.the staf was great . the place is old but well keeped.if you wont glitz go to nasua .agrea way to vaction and relax

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thedipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Rented a week at this resort to extend our Bahamas stay to 2-weeks and got a very good price, but after our stay it was obvious as to why our costs were so low. Very low quality resort with near to the basest of amenities.

The real drawback was what seemed to be the rather exorbitant charge for Electric Usage beyond a predetermined threshold. When we checked our electric utilization after Day-3 and found it to already be near the limit, we had to implement very aggressive electric limiting (unscrewed 75% of light bulbs; forewent A/C, dishwasher, TV, and stove/oven; cooked ALL meals on resort propane grills; unplugged microwave, clock radios, and cable box; opened windows and even limited use of ceiling fans). After implementing these very aggressive measures our remaining 4-day utilization was approximately only 12% of what we had used during the first 3-days, and we were only slightly above the weekly allotment. Too hot, and WAY too bothersome!!!!!!!!!!!

I had heretofore never heard of paying for commodity services at a resort, but now understand that this is also common on other islands (Bermuda, Virgins, etc). We will never again stay at any "resort" that imputes this ridiculous levy.

With no restaurant, shop, gym, orientation, nor visible security thankfully this was our first week in Freeport where we could do our excursions and find our bearings with absolutely no regrets of missing any activities at this resort.

The desk staff was very pleasant and accommodating, but there simply is not much at this resort, nor in it's surrounding areas. Our understanding is that after the devastation from the last hurricane that the cityside of Freeport lost investment dollars and much of it was not rebuilt. Clear to see, even with the naked eye. While we would certainly visit Freeport again, we much prefer the coastal resorts.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank papichulito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
3.5 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
4.1 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.7 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
6.8 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
2.5 mi away
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Resort and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Resort and Golf Club

Property: Island Resort and Golf Club
Address: Rum Cay Drive, Freeport 00000, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Resort and Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Island Resort and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Resort And Golf Club Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing