We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Do It!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of WIlly Broadleaf

WIlly Broadleaf
Ranked #32 of 120 Restaurants in Freeport
Cuisines: American, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cambridge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Don't Do It!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Decided to stay on the resort one night and chose Willy Broadleafs pasta buffet. What a mistake that was! Do not expect any of your food to be hot as everything was either cold or luke warm. The pasta was raw and buns hard. When asked how the meal was I told the waitress that we were quite disappointed as the food was mediocre at best. She acted as if she was going to get someone but nobody came. I was so upset the we spent nearly 40 dollars here for a few bites of the worst food we encountered on the island. Eat at the marketplace and you will be happy you did.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank purplelollipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    69
    62
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A 'Must Go' on Fridays for Bahamian Buffet Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

Got recommendations from the locals about their Firday evening buffet, and were not disappointed with either selection nor food quality. Now, I must say that having a definite affinity toward Caribbean Cuisine would CERTAINLY taint one's opinion towards the food offerings. While surveying the various buffet tables they were basically stocked with very regional foods (Oxtail Stew, Baked Ham, Peas & Rice, Johnny Cake, Red Pea Soup, Seafood Medley consisting of red snapper, conch, squid, and shrimp) the distinct thought arose that the only non-predominantly Bahamian foods were salad, and a couple of desserts. Suffice it to say that there is a strong likelihood that many tourists might not be as pleased with the buffet offerings, but please be reminded that it is called "Bahamian Buffet" for a very good reason.

Overheard was another tourist couple that for dietary/medical reasons could not find anything they could enjoy, but the chef seemed sympathetic and accommodated by grilling snapper for them. Pretty impressive.

Thoroughly enjoyed, and thanked the recommender repeatedly for the tip.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank papichulito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food, beautiful atmosphere, and good prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

We were very skeptical about eating here after reading some of the reviews, but were tempted by the local familes eating there and having a great time (it was High School graduation). The Friday buffet featured Bahama favorites including very fresh snapper, peas and rice, and great deserts. It included salads, very good deserts, and fresh made ice tea and lemonade for $18.99 per person including tip. What a great evening!

We also had breakfast here twice, which included made to order omlettes, fresh fruit, pancakes/waffles, potatoes/grits, ham/bacon/sausage, Starbucks coffee, teas, milk, and OJ for $12 per person, including tip. The breakfasts were better than you would expect at a Hilton, Westin, or Ritz Carlton. What a great start to an awesome day!

We also ate on Saturday, which was International Night. The selections included Italian, roast beef, and chicken. The food was good, but paled next to the fresh snapper we had there the night before. The cheesecake (also included in the buffet) was very, very good though. The price was about $22 per person, including tip.

Bottom line: the place is beautiful, and you will not find a better place to eat breakfast or dinner on a Friday night in the Bahamas.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve61Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Its freaking terrible...........”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

Tasteless food. Watered down Maple Syrup, same for the orange juice. Tired waitresses that rather would be somewhere else. Flat out stale and borderline disgusting, but this comes from a foodie, and not your average Joe Blow, who might think all this is delicious. The decor is quite nice, it hosts a few hundred people. Glad they had mints to make the terrible taste disappear as soon as we left the joint.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Oscarandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
231 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Cool decor but not so great service or value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

We chose to eat at Willy Broadleaf because 1) Tripadvisor.com mentioned it as a great breakfast buffet 2) It was near the water of Our Lucaya and Radisson resorts 3) It had a cool name.

The best thing about Willy Broadleaf was the atmosphere/decor inside. The whole place is decorated like an African safari and some tables are surrounded by tenting. VERY COOL! The food was okay but definitely not worth money. No buffet this time of year I guess and there were MANY people that were looking for the buffet who were disappointed.

The menu for Sunday morning was:
Each breakfast is served with one glass of orange juice and a pot of tea or coffee. 15% gratuity included (I've attached the photo so you can see for yourself but its a short menu)
Continental Breakfast $12
Eggs your way $15
Buttermilk Griddle Cakes $13 (*this is what my friend had and she said they were good but the pancakes were tiny)
Coconut French Toast $14 (*this is what I had, they were good but not $14 worth of good, both were served with two strips of bacon, two sausages and a tiny piece of watermelon)
Manor House Omelet $13
Steak and Eggs $22

I would not recommend or go again. The decor was really cool so if you are staying nearby and wanted to stop in and check it out, that would be the most I would recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phykos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WIlly Broadleaf also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to WIlly Broadleaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing